New Year's Resolutions: Why They Often Fail & How To Make Them Stick


It's been one week now since 2017 has started.

How many of you have set some new year's resolutions? Did you stick to them until now?

Almost every other person sets some new year's resolutions.
It's just so tempting - lose weight, quit smoking, drink more water, save more money, be more kind - wouldn't that be amazing? As the clock strikes 12 at December 31st, suddenly you become a new person, right?

Well... almost every other person sets some new year's resolutions, but only 8% actually succeed and stick with them.

I personally believe that you don't need a new year to make a resolution, to work on yourself and to become a better person! All you need for that is a goal that is strong enough to motivate you long-term.


Why is it so hard to stick to new year's resolutions?!

1.) Setting too many resolutions.

The most common mistake ist most probably to set too many resolutions. Like mentioned above, it seems to be so tempting to change everything negative about yourself - that would be a dream come true, right?!
It doesn't work that way!
The more resolutions we set, the more likely it is that we abandon all of them.
You can't become the perfect human being over night.
It would be much better to focus on one or two main goals, and to keep reminding yourself of them everyday.

2.) Resolutions that are too vague

"Being more healthy" must be one of the most popular new year's resolutions ever.
But if your goal is simply to "be more healthy", you have way too many options to breach it.
Be very specific - for example, telling yourself to go for a run 3 times a week for 30 minutes or to stay away from sugary drinks. This way, you are setting clear boundaries for yourself.

3.) Resolutions that are simply too difficult

Quit smoking, lose 10 pounds, become an optimist, and all of that in one night? When setting resolutions / goals, you should actually think about how realistic they are.
What helps is to divide your goal, for example losing 10 pounds, into many smaller goals.
This way you don't only have a clear structure and an overview how far you've come, but you also feel positive after completing every step.



... And what if you fail?

If you "fail", if you slip a few times and breach your resolution - don't be hard on yourself.
Multiple psychology studies have shown that self-compassion is a key factor in staying motivated long-term and after making a mistake.
Being hard on yourself and punishing yourself will only lower your motivation and overall well-being.
Instead, you should re-affirm yourself that you tried, that no one is perfect, and that mistakes happen.
As long as you are mindful about it, recognize the mistake and its impact, and analyze the situation to learn how you can avoid it next time, there's nothing to worry about.


You don't need a New Year to start a new goal and work on yourself! But still, let's start 2017 with focus and motivation and make it a good one. You can do it!


Images: 1, 2, 3, 4






- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 

© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

My resolution 2017 is simply to DRINK MORE WATER! The benefits are endless and I really want to try sticking with it. I downloaded all the apps, bought a huge bottle that I fill up twice during the day... I've been doing quite well so far!

Let's hope you're one of the successful 8% ! Good luck, you can do it!

Water is light. Just keep in mind moving is also important if not more. This is a comment more suited to myself but it's still a true statement.

This Steemit business is really keeping me busy :D and on my ass , past the midnight.

How is you resolution going after the first week?

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $38.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I decided long ago that resolutions aren't worth it. Now I just try to improve on a daily basis.

Yes, I agree. My personal opinion is also that you don't need a new year to set a goal or start working on yourself. EVERYDAY can be your fresh start.

I heard a guy who told me he made a new year resolution he never broke one.
It was to never make new year resolution again.

Ha, that's probably one of the easiest ones to keep! ;)

And it's the story I keep telling people when they asked what's my new year resolution so that they won't ask anymore. :-)

I don't always make New Year's resolutions. But this year I've decided to eliminate wheat, sugar and perhaps dairy from my diet. I actually succeeded in getting off of all of them many years ago for a few weeks, when my naturopath had me get off of them. I remember feeling better than ever! So- I'm trying to keep that feeling in mind as I work towards it. I am giving up wheat first (which has been a little tough, but so far I'm doing fairly well), and then I plan to give up sugar the day after Valentine's Day. Not sure how I'm going to handle the dairy thing yet. We'll see. :) Good luck everyone - on sticking to your goals in the new year!

ha , going back to the healthy alternatives and far from the prepackaged colored foods i suppose :D

I for one am very disappointed in the fact that in most stores there are thousands of items and 3types of fruit and 4 types of vegetables and this is where I live , where people at least still cook. It's a shame when there is such a huge variety of plants , that could be benefitial and aren't even mentioned , or known to most people.
Our eating habits are so low in quantity and variety that it's no wonder people are sick and we have pharmacies with vitamins and supplements.

That's very true, and the most nutritious and fresh products are often very overpriced. Nowadays, it's way more expensive to eat a balanced diet with fresh ingredients compared to frozen or junk food, sadly!

That sounds like a plan! Thanks for sharing!
It might be difficult to get used to at first, but I'm sure you can do it, and the extra health benefits will motivate you.

Stimmt genau und deckt sich mit dem, was ich hier schreibe.

That's right, coinciding with what I write here.

______/)_____
@germansailor

My new years resolution was to remember what they were the last year and get those done. At least one :D , so far I'm not getting it :D

Hahaha, hey you can still do it! at least one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81