The Old Dog Demonstrates: How to Mail Valuables Without Having Them Stolen!

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

Over the past few years I have mailed three fairly valuable packages, one to England and two to Canada. All three were sent registered and all three were stolen! Yikes! Just yesterday I mailed 2 0ne ounce silver coins to @papa-pepper and naturally I'm a little bit concerned about them arriving safely. Would you like to see how I packaged them so that they could be sent as a registered letter rather than a parcel and hopefully in a way that they won't be attractive to thieves? Let's have a look then!

Why am I Mailing Two Silver Coins to @papa-pepper?

Good question! Last week @papa-pepper private messaged me informing me that he was sending me a newly minted one ounce Steemit Silver Round! He then posted about it which you can see here. Why is he gifting me a Silver Round? Just because he wanted to! You see @papa-pepper knows that there is "more happiness in giving than in receiving" and he's a really happy guy! He's also a super community builder and he regularly send things to other Steemers! No wonder he's a Steemit Super Star!

You know what though? Papa-Pepper also knows that "if you practice giving you shall receive" and it's because of this that yesterday I found myself preparing a package for him! Just because I also enjoy giving and it has been a lot of fun!


These are the two coins that I'm sending to @papa-pepper! If they get there I'm sure that he'll like them! Let's hope that it's not a BIG if!

Here's How I Did it Step by Step!

  • In order to protect them and stop them from moving around I cut holes into two layers of cardboard
  • I then kept trimming and weighing the package because in order for it to qualify as a letter it had to be under 100 grams and less than 2 cm thick! That took a lot of experimenting. If the package was was over 100 grams it would have had to have been shipped as a parcel and it would have cost me about $20.00 more! I think that a parcel is also more attractive to postal thieves! What a world!
  • I then covered the top and bottom of the sandwiched  coins with paper and glued it into place.
  • After all of that I placed the finished sandwich in a small light weight bubble pack envelope and it was off to the post office.


In total I paid about $11.00 and for this I got a receipt with a QR code with which I can track the route and progress of the parcel!


After tracing the coins I used a box cutter to cut holes through two layers of triple corrugated cardboard!



I then had to keep trimming away cardboard and weighing the package as it had to be under 100 grams!


In the end, ounce I had kept trimming and had covered the top and bottom with paper which I glued into place I was at 88 grams!


After I had added the envelope with the address label I came in at 97 grams! Wow, that was fun! Now it was off to the post office!


Nowadays when you pay the extra for a registered letter (in this case about $8.00) you get a tracking code!


Let's See Where The Coins Are About 18 Hours After Mailing Them!


Using the app that I downloaded onto the phone I can now see that the coins went from the mall where I mailed them in Ticino, (the most southerly point of Switzerland) to Zurich and they have now left Zurich. Hopefully they are being put on a plane right now and ready for their trans Atlantic voyage!

I'm Going to Have a Lot of Fun Tracing The Coins' Journey to @papa-pepper!

What do You Think?

  • Did I do a decent job packaging and disguising the coins?
  • Will they arrive safely into @papa-pepper's hands?
  • Have you had parcels stolen in the past?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about "How to Mail Valuables Without Having Them Stolen!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Great job packaging in deed and an excellent article too, even if it is a technical one in some regards. It kept its original @kus-knee heart!

Thanks for sharing, I sure hope the whole sharing is going to be smooth on either end of the equation.

Keep on Steeming, smiling, taking good care and thriving on! Namaste :)

Wow! You spent a huge effort for sending these two little silver birds! I think they will arrive undamaged.
Bye the way: Annother possibility would have been to send him some SBD. They would arrive after a few seconds. With this amount of money papa-pepper was able to buy exactly the same coins in his local coin shop.
Annother way: Find a coin shop which accepts bitcoin near to papa-pepper's home. Buy the coins there and order the shipment to papa-pepper.

I also love silver coins.

You are right about sending the the SBD's! Much easier for me but not as much fun. I paid about $21.00 each for those coins and now to buy the same two one will cost me about $32.00 and the other about $38.00!

I know that you like silver coins because the first time we met you had a few with you! I've been collecting them since I was a kid!

Interesting, I would have just made cardboard sandwiches secured with rubber band.

I used to ship a lot of things but normally not internationally, and I've had much better success than you have, luckily. I think you will be good with the measures you put in place as you shouldn't be able to tell what the package contains when handling it and I think that is the main thing. I've also spent a lot of time on the DNM reddit so I know how the vendors do stealth as well.
Can't wait to see @papa-pepper ''s opening video, I'm sure he will enjoy those beauties!

Reminder @sixersfeds - you are a WINNER in my contest, please find me on chat :)

They will sure arrive safe ! Not only by perfect packin but choosing the QUALITY POSTNG by a Swiss company !
And what a nice guesture, @papa-pepper will be more then happy with those coins !

They will sure arrive safe ! Not only by perfect packin but choosing the QUALITY POSTNG by a Swiss company !
And what a nice guesture, @papa-pepper will be more then happy with those coins !

hi dear @kus-knee, you realy done a great job and told us that how to mail valuables without having them stolen. you shared us whole process of sending the gift to great @papa-pepper, in this way its sure that @papa-pepper received it safely. any way nice and interesting post. keep it up.../

The package look really good!
The coins are really nice and i hope that arrives ti him!
Fortunately never!✌

You have perfectly packed the coins. I had an opportunity. I wrote a swimsuit to my daughter, the parcel did not reach the deadline and the Internet store returned the money. Within a month I received the parcel. It turns out that the swimsuit was given to me for free. our mail is to blame.

Very good analysis
Thanks for post share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16