Share My World: Tuscany

in #sibilingtrip4 years ago (edited)

What a dream come true to be able to go to the beautiful countryside of Tuscany.

These pictures of my sister exemplify how we both felt.

The hills were alive......



It was so green an beautiful


This is one of my favorite pictures of the three of us together.

by Scott Jarvie

It is always fun to get good sibling shots and a few individual shots of us taking pictures.


Chapel of the Madonna di Vitaleta

It is said that this small chapel was built on the spot where the Virgin Mary appeared to a shepherdess. In 1533, a statue of the Virgin Mary by Andrea della Robbia was installed in the church. This cute little church is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is one of the most photographed locations in all of Tuscany. 1

..... with the sound of music.

One of my favorite memories of the trip is when we started playing the 80's British synthpop music we had complied for the trip as we were driving through the beautiful Tuscan countryside!

Great bands like:

Erasure
Tears for Fears
New Order
Duran Duran
Thompson Twins
Depeche Mode
Pet Shop Boys

This is my happy-sing-along-to-Erasure face!



I had been to Italy a couple times before this trip and had not been able to go to the countryside and I am so glad that we rented a car and made it a priority to drive through Italy and specifically to Sienna and experience the amazing countryside of Tuscany.

Sources:
1 Chapel of the Madonna di Vitaleta

Share My World Series

2018
All the 2018 post are here My Year Journey on Steem

2019
Share My World: Sweet Sacred Experience
Share My World: Red Rock Scenic Byway
Share My World: Grand Canyon in the Snow
Share My World: Grief and General Conference Weekend
Share My World: Grief and Grieving
Share My World: Nebo Loop drive
All Kenya Posts are here Share My World: Memories around the fire
Share My World: 3 years
Share My World: Sibling trip
Share My World: Venice, Italy: Part 1
Share My World: Venice, Italy: Part 2
Share My World: 4 words for Florence, Italy

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! That's a lot of greenery. Not much around here at the moment. That's a pretty little church, too, hidden out there in the countryside.

When my sister and I were there, we had a bus driver over-shoot Monteriggioni (village) and drop us off in the middle of the countryside. I think he did it on purpose, but it was fun to walk the seven KM back to the village and see all the poppies blooming :-)

Thank you. That is a long walk. Good you have beautiful flowers and your sister.

Oh my goodness! I love Tuscany, although I never been there! Your photos are magnificent. I love the 80's New Wave too, lol.

Thanks so much @lenasveganliving. It was like a dream. I am so glad you liked the 80's music too.

My pleasure Sweetie, I can imagine 😍

Love the country and oh so green! I love the photos of you all together, they show you all having so much fun which is SO nice to see. I could NEVER imagine doing anything like this with my brother!

Yes, I feel really blessed that we are close and good friends.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sjarvie5
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=share-my-world-tuscany


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @sjarvie5! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #661.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82