Showcase Sunday: Past Away - A Motion Comic Project

in #showcase-sunday5 years ago

It's time for another installment of "Showcase Sunday" an initiative by @nonameslefttouse to revisit some old work and potentially present it to fresh eyes.

TrainStation2_cropped.jpg

Past Away is a motion comic project that I created...umm several years ago, I forget now. It began with a successfully funded kickstarter, but eventually I ran out of money before the whole thing was completed. It was a good learning experience and I hope I can work on a similar project at some point. The technology has changed a lot since I first came up with this as it was meant to be viewed with Flash on the web. Little did I know at the time Flash was in for a reckoning. It was like I woke up one morning and Flash got cancelled faster than Alex Jones.

Anyway, I first posted these in a series of posts, but I'll now combine them into a huge mega post for your enjoyment. Enjoy!

megaPlexday.jpg

megaPlexnight.jpg

buildingThumbnails.jpg

FirstShotLongPan2_scaled.jpg

BigCityPanLookUp2.jpg

OOG_ForPosting.jpg

tumblr_mxlg7m40Wc1sb032no1_1280.jpg

The story was a combination of sci-fi and post apocalyptic zombie. I hadn't seen a story where there was a zombie breakout in the future. The world was similar to the world in the movie "Elysium" where you have a few mega wealthy people living on a space station and the rest of humanity is an over crowded mega cities.

SpaceStationConcept_2.jpg

We bought Bitcoin, so we all live here.

JasonInRain.gif

DeadGirl_Reveal.gif

sc_03_63_actual.jpg

The main character is Jason, a pizza delivery drone operator that ends up having to deliver a pizza the old fashioned way when his drone breaks down on Halloween. While he's out he runs into an old friend and has that awkward moment where he's embarrassed that he's delivering pizza.

JasonAtConsole.jpg

JasonLookAtPic.jpg

PartyHousePan_64.jpg

f_13_2.jpg

Jason_Bokeh.jpg

Then all hell breaks loose.

ThroughGlassFinal.jpg

BustThroughGlass_far.gif

Shot_01.gif

2ndZombieRun.gif

ZombieRun_CU.gif

Z_FlingSequence.gif

OOG.gif

tumblr_mtpq5k3dy71s4u62go1_1280.gif

tumblr_mtlt0hwQrM1s4u62go1_1280.gif

So in terms of art production this was a 100% solo project. Wait, actually a friend of mine did contribute a few sketches of concept art, so like 99.99% a solo project and all of the actual production art was all done by me. From concept to final compositing and animation. In hindsight, if I were going to do something like this again, I would NOT prefer to do it that way as the burnout is real. If you're looking at all this and thinking it's a tremendous amount of art, it's because it is. I only have one drawing hand and 24 hours in my day just like everyone else, so this was just months and months of chipping away at the same mountain of work, and I still didn't finish lol. Lesson learned.

Behind the scenes there was a ton of pre-production work. I had a vague idea of this world, of the characters and props, but all that stuff had to be totally fleshed out. The following is some of the art that I have to do before I make the art. The design phase.

Page_12.jpg

Page_14.jpg

Page_13.jpg

Page_15.jpg

Page_16.jpg

Page_17.jpg

Page_18.jpg

Page_19.jpg

Page_20.jpg

Page_01.jpg

Page_02.jpg

Page_03.jpg

Page_04.jpg

Page_05.jpg

Page_06.jpg

Page_07.jpg

Page_08.jpg

Page_09.jpg

Page_10.jpg

Page_21.jpg

Page_32.jpg

Page_33.jpg

Page_34.jpg

Page_36.jpg

Page_37.jpg

Page_38.jpg

Page_22.jpg

Page_23.jpg

Page_24.jpg

Page_25.jpg

Page_26.jpg

Page_27.jpg

Page_28.jpg

Page_29.jpg

Page_30.jpg

Page_31.jpg

Page_43.jpg

Page_42.jpg

Page_46.jpg

Page_48.jpg

Page_49.jpg

Page_52.jpg

That was a lot to consume. Hopefully there's something in there you like. These days I'm messing around in 3D more but hopefully one day when Steem moons I'll be able to dedicate more time to my first love and take another shot at telling a visual story. Have a good rest of your sunday people. See you in the next post.

Sort:  

Impressive. Congrats on hitting a top 10 all tags trending slot as well. You totally deserve that and probably know I'm smiling ear to ear when I see art posts hit top slots organically. Thanks for everything and good job!

Thanks man! Wow, I didn't even realize. I stopped clicking on trending ages ago. It's the first time since I've been here. #newsteem indeed.

You deserve a beer for all of that work!. I bought some beer tokens for instances like this but I don't know how to give them away. :)

! beer

Your creations are an absolute treasure trove as far as universe building is concerned. I can’t wait to find out more about the story!

This is really something great. I wonder how many months it took to sketch, shade and put every pieces together.
Bravoo!!

Thanks @lemeonna! It took many, I stopped counting after a while haha.

Amazing man!

That really is one hell of a lot of great comic/animation work. I would have thought a team of people would be needed.

Cool concept too. Future Zombie apocalypse Sci-Fi 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @raj808! Yea, I should have worked with more people, probably too much for one person.

Exactly, I was thinking maybe a whole crew.
This person is a genius...

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow, what a creative blast. So many ideas and detail work on the characters. Very cool comic style and really nice animation of the characters.

with this post you clearly proof, that you are an absolut creativity bursting workohol beast. :D

Impressive Artwork and Design

Haha, thanks @elgeko!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81