Shout-out Saturdays!! -- Issue #2 from The Weasel's Wife

in #shoutoutsaturdays6 years ago (edited)

NewSpringShootsOnTreeTrunk-032116.jpg
Image Source

It's #ShoutOutSaturdays ... Again!!

Ok. Well, that Crazy Man ... @crazybgadventure ... had an idea that went semi-viral last week. #shoutoutsaturdays !! What a marvelous thing. You're supposed to name the people you met on Steemit last week. People you've interacted with. People you found interesting.

It's to give people who deserve the attention ... attention. Rather than those fools (and their trash) who populate the Trending Page day-in / day-out for reasons nobody can find. Powa-to-da-People And so #shoutoutsaturdays became an actual thing!! Hallelujah!!

So, it's Saturday again ... and here I am, ready to do my part. Only when I do stuff, it's never exactly like it ought to be. Call me a rebel. I do things my way. And for me #shoutoutsaturdays may be different every time. I don' need no stinkin' rules. So find yourself a seat and let's get this train started.

break1.gif

PussyWillowBuds=--1-031818.jpg
Image Source

Previously on #ShoutOutSaturdays

Last week, I named three people I really enjoy knowing on Steemit. There's that wild-and-@crazybgadventure himself. The dude's a diamond. One of a kind. (There's some that give thanks for that, but they've got their own problems.) I hang around him to just see what happens next. This week, they hauled a dead guy down the street out in front of his home. I haven't got anything in my life to top that!! Go read about it on his blog.

And I mentioned @apanamamama -- who is MIA this week (and we miss her.) Her father-in-law is visiting Panama this week from Texas and for some reason she thinks playing hostess to him excuses her from her Steemit obligations. We're going to have to have "a little talk" when I finally see her again.

And then there was that crusty old horned toad @sultnpapper ... who fills his blog daily with his "candid observations" -- and usually has some axe to grind. But the man is entertaining ... and provokes reactions and thoughts -- in equal measure -- and since I'll take any of that (over the crap on the Trending Page), there's a well-worn path between here and his blog. You can follow it in the dark. No problem. Get out the door and start walking.

break1.gif

PansiesInTheSidewalk-031818.jpg
Image Source

Keeping my word

This week I promised to feature The Leos in my friendship circle. I thought just a lick-and-a-promise last time would hold them over. I was wrong. Bitch, whine, bellyache, guilt-monger. I got it all. It's ok. I've lived with this literally all my life. I know what they're like ... and I love (most of) them anyway.

So ... here we go. Leo. Front and center. I have four of them that I know of for sure. They are proud, noble, fabulous people. And as long as you keep assuring them that you know this ... you'll get along fine. You've gone this far, ok? Now read it all the way to the end. (I'm watching.)

break1.gif

Lioness Portrait Pose-081316.jpg
Image Source

A regal presence

@derosnec. Man, this lady's got talent. She's an artist. She's a musician. She's a film-maker. She's a writer. Pretty much anything she puts her hand to is made beautiful. She has shared the sketchbooks of her youth here on Steemit. She's put out vlogs on the process of making her videos and the creative theories of film-making such as I'd never heard in my life (and I'm pretty well-read on many subjects!!)

She's done short films with an Alfred Hitchcock twist. And she's done music videos that are as compelling and professional as any I've seen anywhere. The woman is a champ -- and with a huge boost in her creative life now underway, I can't wait to see where she goes next. Trot over quick and look at the things she does. If any of this holds any interest for you, you'll be glad you did.

break1.gif

LionessAndCub-001-031818.jpg
Image Source

A new lease on life

@arbitrarykitten. Some of you may already know her. She's been around and she gets around, too. (But did you know she was a Leo? How could you miss all the tell-tale signs?) She writes terrific posts on lots of topics I enjoy. Writing and how to improve it. Psychology and how to understand yourself. Life ... and what it's all about.

She recently went through a most sobering -- and near-tragic -- experience where she totaled her brand new (and I do mean brand new ) Jeep in a terrible, terrible wreck. She's lucky she survived ... and so are we. She's putting her life back together again. You don't walk away from something like this and carry on as the same person.

"What comes of it" will eventually find its way into her writing. As a writer, I know this. As a psychologist, I know this. As a friend, I'm with her in spirit and she walks in my thoughts every day. If you haven't met her yet, you owe yourself the pleasure. My gift to you ... and to her. Think of her kindly this week, ok? God bless.

break1.gif

Lioness-001-031818.jpg
Image Source

Eagle Spirit / Lion Spirit

@eaglespirit. Another writer with eclectic interests and talents. She writes fiction sometimes. She writes travel pieces. She takes marvelous photos to illustrate her own work. She writes psychological pieces ... and pieces on spirituality. She writes from her perspective as a sensitive and an empath. Much of what she has to say resonates with me. We speak the same language of feelings and spirit.

She's part Native American ... a descendent / member of First Nations ... and that, too, gives her a special place in my heart. (Living as I do in New Mexico, that special feeling, that perspective, those pieces of culture are everywhere. Walk out in the desert and you feel you are walking straight into their history. I don't know how else to describe it.)

She's recently been involved in mid-wife training. She definitely has her own way of doing most things ... and that, too, makes us kin. She's around in plenty of places on Steemit ... so you may have run into her already. If not, you're in for a special treat. Tell her you heard it from me. (I need the extra Brownie points.)

break1.gif

SleepingLion-001-031818.jpg
Image Source

Heart of a lion / soul of a ... weasel?
(As usual ... "having a little nap")

@catweasel. OMG!! The man is a maniac. And lately he's been a maniac with a keyboard. I don't know where he got all this inspiration, but it doesn't show signs of stopping. He's a "unique" and interesting writer ... when he puts his mind to it. (I know. What mind?)

The fact is, his writing was what attracted me to him ... years ago and half a world away. I know good writing when I see it ... and his caught my attention. Being who I am, I wrote and told him so ... sort of. Next thing I know he's sitting at my table and I'm feeding him for life. Let this be a warning to you. The man is a sucker for compliments. He's also quite a character. Enough that I continue to put up with him. (I also figure he raced down the page to find and read his section first. That's the kind of person he is. Just so you know.)

Being a Leo gives him an edge. For some reason, those guys have an inside track with me. Past life experience is all I can figure. I mean I think he's terrific. I don't know what all these other people see in him. If you go there and get hooked on his charm, maybe you can find out ... and tell me. Deal?

break1.gif

AppleBlossoms-001-041817.jpg
Image Source

That's all, folks!!

That's it. That's my lion-act in this three-ring circus. I'll have more to entertain you next time. I've got seven days to come up with something. Meanwhile, now that you've enjoyed the show it's time to pay the piper.

Go do your own #shoutoutsaturdays post. Do it your way. Make somebody happy. Let them know you're thinking of them ... that they brighten your day ... that your life is better because they're in it. It's a great way to give pay-back and a great way to pay forward. And I'll say it again ... it does wonders for your Karma.

Stay happy. Stay safe. Go a little bit crazy. In honor of @crazybgadventure ... the guy who started it all!!

break1.gif

About the art in our visual essays ...

Although sometimes the background pictures in our visual essays support the topic and text, they don't always. Sometimes the connection is clear. Sometimes it's symbolic and subtle. Sometimes, there's no connection at all.

The scenes depict landscapes and natural features, buildings and wildlife. They were chosen because they show something lovely or interesting ... or simply because the photo appealed to me.

Our spectacular and remarkable planet is changing at astonishing speed. Rarely are these changes for the better. Few people seem to know ... or care ... or have the will and power to do anything about this. It may not be long before the world humans have known and lived in for centuries is forever lost. We certainly won't be able to make repairs as fast as we destroyed it.

So a few years ago I began collecting pictures of the way things were ... and still are for now, a record of the beauty we have while it is still ours to love and honor.

The photos here are part of that collection, with sincere thanks to the artists who saw these moments ... and with their cameras ... preserved them. All of us at Enchanted Spirit are profoundly grateful to them for their generosity and skill ... and for the added grace, depth and dimension their art brings to ours.

Original images used under this Creative Commons license or this Creative Commons license and modified by added text.

break1.gif

enchanted_red.png

break1.gif

The STEEM Engine

break1.gif

thealliance_logo.png

break1.gif

Isle of Write

break1.gif

break1.gif

unknown.png

break1.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite #qurator

break1.gif

Sort:  

This is a good idea for community building, I dig it :-)

you're too kind, really <3 brushes back her lion's mane in a diva-like fashion...

Yay! But of course I had to give you a 100% upvote on all of this and it was FANTASTIC. I could not say anything less than Perfect when you mention the Leo's of your Life. xoxo

Eagle UpComm.jpg

You can change your name all you want, just keep up the good work. All real nice folks you have given a shout out to here in the this edition. I enjoy seeing their works right along with yours as well.

good post.......!
follow me and visit my blog.....!

Thats all you have after such a terrific post, you did not get the intitiative at all did you @rahmanta99, hence you will NEVER succeed on the platform, until you wise up and start god damn reading instead of posting crappy comments like......

good post.......!
follow me and visit my blog.....!

Congratulations @theweaselswife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 86 (3/27/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54