Message Beyond The Grave - Wrong Turn

in #shortstory6 years ago (edited)

scary-666620_1280.jpg
Source

He looks at me funny, like something is in my face.
"What's wrong?" I asked him.
"Nothing, I just miss you," he responded. "How are you?"
"I miss you too. It's been awhile but I think I'm starting to move ---"
"Don't please!"

He suddenly stood up infront of me and quickly placed his hands in my arms, shaking me firmly. His eyes looked pleading and angry at the same time. He was still wearing the polo shirt I bought for him that day with matching black pants. I noticed that the necklace in him is gone but the ring is still on his finger.

I looked back at him and smiled tearfully. I nodded and said, "Don't worry, love, of course I won't move on without justice for you."

With this, he relaxed a little and stand up straight. I actually am perplexed how did he touched me for a quick second. Maybe it was because of his strong emotions but I felt a pang of longing and sadness. I miss him so.

"The cops will capture him today... They already have a lead, I hope this will end everything."

"Good, I hope this will really be the end," he said.

Tears filled my eyes because I long for his warm touch. I looked up and suddenly I am alone. He disappaeared like a bubble. I wiped my tears and headed back to town. I went straight to detective's office and opened the door to find Detective Albert sitting on his desk with a cup in hand. I sat in front of his desk, exhausted and happy at the same time because this cat and mouse chase with Michael's murderer will soon end.

I have been working with Detective Albert for months now and when I first started with this chase, I was clueless. Actually, I was working with the police but then Detective Albert suddenly came up to me and said he'll take me in. Take care of Michael's case. After that first day of meeting with the detective, Michael suddenly appeared in my dream. He was summoning me to come visit him on his grave. After that, every afternoon or if I cannot come in the afternoon, every weekend, I come to the cemetery to visit him. It was weird at first but he kept on asking who was I working with to solve the case.

"I don't know why you keep on asking. I told you his name is Detective Albert Armstrong," I said.

"Nothing, it's just a hinch or something but something tells me that guy is fishy."

"C'mon Michael are you jealous?"

He didn't respond and I looked at him without blinking. I swear if ghost can blush, he's definitely blushing. I laughed my head off knowing this and just smiled at him and told him I love him.

Going back to reality, Detective Albert handed me a small white paper.

"What's this?"I asked him as I am opening the paper. There is an address inside that I am not familiar with.

"That's where we will capture Mark, Michael's murderer," detective said. "If you want you can come and see him, even ask him questions. That is if you want."

"Yes, I will come," I said. "I will just change and go to this place later. What time?"

"8PM."

"Okay."

With this, I head home and changed to a more conservative clothing with jeans, t-shirt, sneakers and jacket. I ate my dinner quickly and then took a cab and head to the address.

When I stepped out of the vehicle, I searched for the address but it looks like the place is abandoned. No one was around and this was the farthest place from civilization, I guess. Turning around another block I finally saw it. It looks like a warehouse. I was about to step inside when Michael suddenly appeared infront of me. He looked distressed.

"Michael wha--"

"Ann you have to run!"

"What?"

"I remember now why his name is familiar and I don't like him and why I feel like something's fishy about him."

"Wait Michael," I said feeling confused but then I suddenly felt cold and afraid.

"Detective Albert Armstrong is the older brother of Mark, my murderer," Michael said giving me chills.

Michael looked at my back and shouted at me, "Run Ann!"

I looked at my back and saw Detective Albert with two more men coming towards me. The kind face of the detective changed to the face of the brother of a murderer who can also kill anyone in just a snap. I run, run away from them. I am determined to escape and still give Michael the justice he deserves. I run with all my might and also hoped that they will never catch me.


This is written for inuke’s story writing challenge # 3: Message beyond the grave organized by @inuke.

Thank you for reading!

February 10, 2018

@emdesan

Sort:  

Upvoted

wow nice sis, thanks for sharing!

ang galing mo sis :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by emdesan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Galinh mo talagang magsulat sis.

wow nice suspense!

You were featured on the #35th edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

https://steemit.com/steemitfamilyph/@steemitfamilyph/daily-steemit-family-ph-featured-posts-35

Thank you for appreciating my work! Love you @steemitfamilyph! :)

Very nice cliffhanger. . haha, the suspense is exciting! is there another part? I'll definitely look forward to it if there is. Thanks for sharing!

I love the story!! So much. Good job. It's a cliffhanger and makes me want to look forward to the other part of the story.

Kelan yun next? galing talaga.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47