Steemmonsters' 'All-Or-Nothing'- Policy - There Has To Be A Middle Way

in #share2steem6 years ago (edited)


It took me a lot of Steemmonster battles, but finally the legendary Lord Arianthus card is part of my collection...

All Or Nothing

Still, this doesn't change the fact that I'm not a big fan of the 'all-or-nothing' policy of the @steemmonsters management.

By taking away the free booster packs, and replacing them with these reward cards they are closing the doors for all those people that can't afford to buy their way up. "Sell the reward cards and use the money you get from it to complete or level up your deck", they say.

Unfortunately the prizes of the reward cards are so low already that it will take them ages to complete/level up an entire deck.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

Finding A Middle Way

I understand they have a business go run, and that if they are giving away so many booster packs for free, nobody is buying them anymore.

Nothing in life is just black or white, there are plenty shades of grey in between.

There's gotta be way to create a stable economic system without taking away all the chances of the little guys.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

An Idea

How about rewarding people who complete 7 Daily Quests in a row with a free booster pack? It would be an incentive for them to play and put in an effort every day, while it means a lot less booster packs go out the door for free.

It's just an idea to make stepping into the game - and staying there - a little more interesting for small and new players. It would at least give them a chance to grow their decks, and SteemMonsters wouldn't go broke.

But that's just my two cents.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

How About You?

I'd really like to hear if you have any ideas or suggestions that could satisfy both the players and the SteemMonsters management??

(Please try to avoid to fill this comments section with only critical comments. I'd rather see it become a way to brainstorm together, and gather some constructive ideas.)

A Steem-Bounty has been set on this post to reward all positive input.



#share2steem #steemmonsters #steemitbloggers #game #community #steem-bounty #steemit #steemian #steemians #steemmonster #steeming #steemin #steemitproject #steemersgroup #steemitblog #steemers #steemitdotcom #blockchain #steembloggers #steem #steemgame #steemquestin



simplymikeonsteemit




signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Screenshots were taken from the SteemMonsters Website. All other images were created with The Logo Creator 7


More Posts You Might Like


Learn all the basics of the Steem Blockchain with SteemSavvy

steemsavvy468x60.gif



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



JOIN THE DISCORD


Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

@simplymike has set 5.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Loading...

I have to agree... it is pretty rough only getting a single card a day after so many battles... I have no idea how they will settle on a middle ground, but I'm sure that they are aware of it, and if not, then the decline in players will give a subtle reminder!

That said, it is a new game... and they are finding their feet I guess....

It's indeed all new to them too. And, like Dave said, at least they are acknowledging where they went wrong and try to make changes all the time.
I assume they do know - I haven't been in the Mavericks' house for a while, so I'm not 100% sure - and they will make changes again after this season has ended. They will have to, if they want their players to stay.

I admire the fact that you keep putting in the effort to struggle yourself through that DQ to get one card. I don't think I would or could do it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Daily missions award: reward cards
End-of-season prize: booster packs, depending on your ranking

Although i think what steemmonster has in mind, and that still doesn't tell us, is that the reward cards will rotate each season and then they will only be available in the new booster packs. this would make the reward cards go up in price when they are no longer available in the daily missions.

I truly hope so because I got tons of reward cards :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a really good idea!! I believe you are on to something. They should reward those who complete 7 in a row with 1 and the. 24 days in a row 3 and then a whole month in a row 5...or some type of scaled rewards!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it would be much more fair to reward people for their effort instead of for how much money they can spend...

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't feel its an all or nothing system. I rather like this new system. Its a little top heavy and I wouldn't mind if they adjusted that

A free booster for seven days of play is something I can get behind but I would rather a Newbie tournament be put in place that awards boosters to new accounts only. If possible I would like to see no accounts older then 30 days be allowed to participate.

The rewards card are going down in value but everyone should have expected that. Things that are giving out for free don't hold short term value. Which is another reason the new system is better. The old system was hurting the value of Booster packs. They are valued at $2 but during the past season could be bought for $1 privately. Which devalues previously bought packs that everyone had purchased and discourages everyone from purchasing them.

I think the founders did an excellent job with the changes and they are always reconsidering and adjusting things so who knows what next season might bring. All things considered Reward cards are holding value very good thus far. They are more valuable then most of their Beta counter parts and in some cases their Alpha counter parts.

I earned about $5 worth of cards today in a my 5 free card rewards. Not too shabby at all.

I do understand that everything is new to them too, and I think it's great that they are constantly reconsidering and adjusting.

About your idea of organizing a newbie tournament: what happens to accounts once they are 30 days old? They get stuck in the same way people are now, unless I'm missing part of the point.

The old system was not sustainable, I completely agree on that. But I don't think this system is either.

Soon, when the season has ended, there will be a next step in the SM adventure, and I hope they will keep trying things out to keep it attractive enough for everyone

Posted using Partiko Android

About your idea of organizing a newbie tournament: what happens to accounts once they are 30 days old? They get stuck in the same way people are now, unless I'm missing part of the point.

I wouldn't call it stuck. They will have to do as everyone else. Earn reward cards and trade up or purchase. My suggestion is based on another card game that has a gambling aspect to it ... Poker. Many successful poker sites use a similar Idea. The poker sites that all handed out free rewards hand over fist have mostly gone busto over the years. The smart ones adapted ideas like the above. Oh how I miss the good ol days of poker ... free rewards and cash everywhere.

The 30 day limit is to keep whales and seasoned players out. Newbies get a chance to learn the game and experiment with decks vs. other newbies while earning free rewards and leveling their decks / selling what they won. It would be a great little booster to help get them started in the game.I also suggest making the booster prize pool small enough that it isn't attractive to whales because if it is they will simply pay for a new account every 30 days.

I totally agree. I like getting the rewards cards, but I can't see them ever becoming a part of my playing decks. I don't want to sell them because I see them as collectors cards. Some of them could some day become the most valuable cards in the game. But the beta cards are cards I play with. I like your suggestion. Another way to do this is to give out a booster pack whenever a player levels up to the next level within the game. It doesn't even have to be each specific level (eg Gold I, Gold II, Gold III, etc.). It can be just be from Silver to Gold, to Diamond, etc.

I agree that that could be a good alternative. I think it is important too keep some kind of incentive in place that allows people who don't have money to buy cards to grow their account, even if it is very slow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Another option is to allow rewards cards to be traded in for booster packs. They could keep giving out the rewards cards like they do then offer to let players redeem 7 or 8 rewards cards for a booster pack. Then those rewards cards can be shuffled back into the rewards pool for future players while those who have already received rewards cards can trade them in for something of value. This way they dilute the booster pack pool too much too fast. They could even put a limit on players trading in the rewards cards. For instance, they could limit the trading to no more than 1 booster pack per day per account.

Smart thinking. It will help the reward cards keep their value a bit, while players would get a booster pack and be able to grow their deck.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the bounty. You're awesome and cool.

Hmm that's not bad idea at all. The reward packs are kinda silly thing, Im immediately selling all the cards as their price will be ssuuuuuuuperlow after the end of the season when everyone gets their seasonal rewards. So yeah.."play your way up" probably won't work. I think they should play against a friend ASAP..that would increase the natural will of people to play...currently I feel most of people play cuz od the daily quest.

True. But for lower level decks, the time you have to put in to win a DQ becomes too much for the small reward you're getting.

I stopped playing my level 1 alpha deck, because at one point you get matched with higher level decks and you can hardly win a game anymore. (And my deck is a complete deck. It's even worse when you only have a starter pack)

No one mentioned it before, and I actually had forgotten all about it, but the 'Play against a friend' feature might indeed be something that will keep people onboard...

Posted using Partiko Android

I definitely agree. The reward cards are ok, but a booster pack was nicer. End of season rewards could be split between packs and reward cards. I really like the idea of a booster pack for completing a "streak" of daily challenges. This would be a good balance between loyal every day players and the need to reduce the number of free packs given out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Players who can not afford to buy cards need to stay motivated. They need to know that they can build their deck in one way or the other or at least that there will be (profitable) tournaments for low level decks....

Posted using Partiko Android

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to simplymike! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

I also miss a middle ground for this. I agree that they should not just give away booster packs like it is pieces of candy to everyone every day, but I'm not a big fan of the current system either. My main problem with it is that there are so few cards, so it's impossible to create decks and play the game without buying and selling cards. If they had added say 50 reward cards, then the story would be entirely different, because now you could potentially grin to become competitive with only rewards.

True! At first I thought they were pretty useless, those new cards, but today I tested 2 of them at level 3 and I must admit I was impressed by their abilities.

Personally I think it is indeed a problem that people now have to pay to be able to play...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59452.44
ETH 2541.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54