Flower Shadow

in #shadowphoto6 years ago (edited)

My submission for this week’s Shadow Photo Contest.

Theme is Flower Shadows-Round 20 hosted by @melinda010100

My shadow is of a single lowly misunderstood dandelion in my flower garden.


4E291721-B4E6-456F-8C78-C88DE116CB14.jpeg


Although the dandelion has gotten a bad rap by homeowners when they cover the lawn, the benefits to bees and butterflies are enormous.

Dandelions are a vital early spring source of nectar for a wild range of pollinators. I also see the rabbits eating them.

Every part of the dandelion can be consumed. It can be used as a vegetable. The greens are high in fibre and vitamins. The root can be dug up and used for tea. The flower can be picked to make a delicious wine.

The pesticide and insecticide poison put on lawns to kill the dandelions is dangerous to humans and animals.


B77E3E7F-9260-49BF-AC39-72464C3CA11B.png


Contest Info

Location: P.E.I., Canada

Photo by @redheadpei


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine


Please help in stopping the use of insecticides on lawns.

C4B00ECA-A94F-4316-810B-E3D9D5B3642C.jpeg

Sort:  

I enjoy my dandelions. Their season is quite short, really, so I can't see why anyone is bothered by them! Thanks for entering!

Yes, I like to see their happy little heads.. It’s true they only last as short time. Our lawn is covered but the neighbour up the road has none and makes sure by spraying. I’m glad there is a few acres of trees between us so I don’t breathe in the spray. 😊

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I wouldn't have thought of using a flower's shadow to do this. :) Pretty pretty flower!

Thanks @dawnsheree. I thought I’d throw in the importance of the dandelion while I got the chance. 😊

That'd be a great post! I'd love to get to read it. :) Tag me when you post it! ^^ Pretty please.

I love dandelions! I think they are just beautiful and I just bought a new tea with a part of dandelions in it, I forgot what part though.

Hi @magicalmoonlight. A tea can be made from the root. Dig up the root, which is quite long and twisted, separate it from the rest, clean it and chop it into pieces. Boil a quart of water and let the root boil a few min.in the water, remove pan from heat and let it steep at least 1/2 hr. before drinking. This is good for digestion.

Thank you! That is so awesome 😊

Thank you! That is so awesome 😊

I love dandelions. I could do without all the pollen in the air right now... not sure if the dandelions are making me sneeze or the trees. lol!

Ragweed causes a lot of sneezing this time of year. I hope it passes soon for you @katrina-ariel.
Dandelions are rarely the culprit. Their pollen causes limited allergies because the pollen is heavy and tends to fall straight down rarely reaching human noses. The white floating fluffy stuff from the head of the dandelion is the seed and does not cause allergies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67