Shadow Photo Contest - Duo Shadows

in #shadowphoto6 years ago (edited)

This photo is for the #shadowphoto contest by @melinda010100 with the guest judge for this week being @erikah

The theme for this week is Duo Shadows. You should check out This Post for the details.

Star Crossed Lovers

Olympus em5ii, 1/100th sec, f/16, ISO 250, 24mm

lpenu74kz3.jpg

I used my 24mm Nikon lens on the Olympus which means I have to focus manually. I don't mind this, I actually like it a lot because it forces me to slow down and think. Shooting at f/16 helped to make a nice tight starburst off the reflection.

The Olympus camera provides focus peaking which is visible through the viewfinder as a sort of cloud or halo of red flickering around the bits which are in focus. This can help to get focus but there is another trick I found which works much better...

Confession: What's with all those cartoons you're always posting?

I'll show you why I keep doing it. First, here's the 'cartoon' version, below:

yams0gx5b6.jpg

This is what I'm seeing through the viewfinder when I shoot in this mode. Now here's a closeup... this is how I can get perfect focus with the manual lens.

jyjtjjajy1.jpg

See all those little black dots on the back of the guitar headstock? Those little specks indicate the finest level of detail available in what I keep calling the "cartoon" mode. When I rotate the focus ring the tiniest amount, those dots will appear or disappear. That's the point I selected to focus on, and the "Key Line" Olympus art filter (the proper name) shows me when I nail it. This is WAY more precise than focus peaking.

Now since I'm shooting in both JPG and RAW, what I get is the cartoon jpg along with the RAW file which I can save and process as a normal photo - the first photo in this post.

As to why I keep posting the silly cartoons, it's because I'm a goof and I like them! :) Thanks for taking a look. You can click on any of these images to view them closer.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I love it! Great photos and great Duo Shadows, too! Thanks for entering! And thanks for the cartoon explanation! I have seen you mention that before on some of your photos, and I had no idea what you were talking about!😳

Thanks Melinda! I don't like to post a single photo and run... I always gotta babble on about something or other... :)

I love how the real sun likes the make little suns all over the place, for photographers to capture. Cool shot.

Thank you! You know what I wanted to do... I wanted to go to the shadow and photoshop in "dark stars" or shadow stars at the correct points. Couldn't quite figure that out... :)

That sounds nice. Music and astronomy appreciation :)

howdy there keithboone! oh those are some great shots and techniques, thanks for sharing those with us!

Thank very much, I appreciate it!

Wonderful shots Keith, great job and thanks for participating!

Thanks very much, Erika :)

My pleasure 😉

What a cool rock&roll duo shadow Keith ! ^_^

Gals you like it, thank you, Barbara!

You always give the best explanation! Thanks for that! The cartoon analogy works great for me. Keep it simple. :)

As for the shadow... very cool! Double shadow, double sunburst. You got it going on, dude!

Taking it home with me!

Tip!

Thanks so much for the tip and resteem and everything Denise. I'm glad you like it. I really wanted to photoshop a dark starburst and add it to the shadow... Like the real starburst was casting a shadow. I'm working on it haha! :)

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84