LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post140

She lay there with me and as time passed I felt her drift into a deep sleep. I decided I could not put it off and calling to Sam I went to the void.






Previous Post 139


1053

*Solomon, I see Ordinx is not here*

*He is on his World. We can call him.*

*Not yet. We need to talk first. I went to the other void and saw the Sparklers there. Their population seems to be about three times as large as yours.*

*We noticed that. We will compare histories with them to find out where theirs differed from ours.*

*I can tell you part of it. They were more successful at denuding the universe of life. There is not one of the species of Ordinx. As the void I was able to take a limited look into the past movements of the Sparklers. They managed to get every single World of his people.*

*We guessed as much and are in agony. You fear telling Ordinx?*

*His people are old, not in years, but in attitude. The old lose their resilience. I do fear telling him, unless we have an answer that will give them hope.*

*Robert, we see your energy is damaged. Has this weighed that heavily on you?*

*You are observant. No, I was forced to act in a savage manner to a child. That child was the Cherine of her world. She is only half the age of my Cherine. I had to do it for her own good, but it lays like a stone around my neck, dragging me down into a depression.*

He mimicked the sound of a laugh. *It is as well I came to your world or else I would not have understood you. You also fear the result of what you did?*

I explained in detail, knowing he would understand most of what I said. He was silent for a while.

*Now that I know you and can understand how this damages you, I grieve for you. You have become a Sparkler Robert. You intend to do only good, but now your conscience has assumed a guilt you do not deserve.*

*I fear she may not understand and may grow to hate and fear me.*

*But she will love this other Robert and her people will grow. I do not know the way of thinking of your people well enough, but if you did what you had to do, all that remains is for you to hope she is as your Cherine, for if she is, she will grow to understand.*

*I thank you Solomon, I come with news that must be troubling you and yet you take the time to feel my pain. I was right, the Sparklers are a good people to have as friends. If I cannot return for a time, please do not wait for me. Whichever of my girls can help, call for them.

With Ordinx you must find a way to release his people and heal their damage. Those that you try this on, so as to learn, you may send them to the world of Meli, I am certain they will be welcomed and cared for by the old ones. I must leave you now to return and struggle with my body again.*


“Sam, you heard. Make your arrangements with them. Whoever can help must do so. Perhaps the mothering instinct of Dommi would help. Do not tell Ordinx the news, let it be Solomon. Will you manage my love?”

“I will father. Please promise me one thing.”

“And that is?”

“Do not withdraw to remain alone. Tina says you must gather the youngest and let them play with you and by you. You need their love, not your thoughts of darkness. She speaks correctly father.”


1054

“I will do as she says, at least most of the time. Thank you.”


Hours later Dommi quietly came into the dark room, sensing I had woken.

“Alki has brought you his chicken soup.” She giggled. “Shall I bring it, or will you join us.”

“I’d rather not. Dommi, there is a saying, the more everything changes the more everything stays the same. I continue to be a problem for you and Cherine, as I have been since we loved.”

“Very true, though not for only the two of us. Now you have a large family to worry for you. If we are to live for hundreds of years I suppose you will stay the same in this regard for all of them. We will be there for you all that time my love.”

I laughed with delight at her transparent ways. “Dommi mou, you will remain a Greek women to the end of your days. Nothing like having you dramatise things to make me feel foolish and self indulgent.”

“That means you will join us for supper? It will be casual, in the lounge.”

“How can I refuse you?”


“You will give that child nightmares for the rest of her life, you must fix it Robert.”

“How Marian. Understanding my motives will not help.”

“Maybe the girls can help. Dommi, you are the mother, what would you do?”

“I do not know. What Robert did to her would have terrified an adult. I think the only thing we can do is remove the memory from her.”

I insisted, “As long as she remains fixated on that Robert. She must love him, not me.”

Dommi said, “You must strengthen yourself so that we may return there soon.”

“I do not think it a good idea that I return there. Not just now.”

Cherine demanded, “You must. She must grow to like and trust you again.”

I admitted, “I am totally out of my depth. I will do as you say, so please think it through first and be certain.”

Dommi replied, “Cherine, I hate to do this, but I think we must go while Roberto is in this condition. He can stay on the farm to recover. You will have to stay with him. Little Cherine must see for herself the effect she has had on him.”

“Is Irene strong enough yet to come with? I’d like to have her and Aganthi.”

Cherine did not say a word, but I felt her send me her approval. Some time on a farm will do wonders for Aganthi. She has grown up in a city, seeing all the worst life has to offer. The countryside will do her a lot of good.


I stayed a couple more days to see that all is in order. With Dommi also coming, Marian and Alki moved over to our house, though they will sleep in the guest rooms. Knowing they will be with my girls helped give me peace of mind. Marian came to me just before we left and pulled me aside.

“I’ve been thinking, trying to remember what I used to be like. She will not trust you, even if you gave her baby girl back to her. She cannot understand anyone doing anything without there being a selfish motive. Show her that you have something to gain, altruism will just make her more suspicious of you.”

“Are you glad you changed Marian? I hate manipulating people, but we had to do it with you. Not that I expected you to change and become such a lovely person.”


1055

“If there is no goodness inside, no manipulation can create it. You only helped her remember what is really important to her and who she is.” Alki gave her a hug and she smiled at him affectionately.


I asked my ‘father’ as soon as we arrived, “How many days have passed since we left?”

“Nearly two weeks. Rob is over at Cherine. I hardly ever see him. She refuses to go to school as she insists he must stay by her all the time.”

“Do you see them at all?”

“Usually late afternoon till evening.”

“What is your impression dad, is she using him, does she see him as her protector only, or does she love him?”

“I think she is beginning to love him. She enjoys his company.”

“You better go then Dommi, it is time we end her fear.”


Dommi was gone the whole day, which I spent mostly just walking the countryside with Aganthi and Irene in our arms. We sat by the stream and Irene became a girl of seven again. Aganthi had brought clothes with and she dressed.

“It is weird seeing my face on you. At least you improved it a bit by adding some of your mother’s fine features.”

“Why aren’t there any raspberries?”

“That is in the world of Meli sweetheart. Do you like it here?”

“Yes, but mummy feels strange, she is not used to no houses around her.”

“That is why I brought her here. A few weeks in the country will do all of us some good. I suggest that during the day you stay this age so that you can run around and play. It will get boring just staying a baby the whole time.”

“I have an idea Robbie. I think you will not like it.”

“Tell me anyway.”

“Why don’t you become a baby. Let us look after you. It will be good for you.”

“Are you going to change my nappies and wash them?”

“Silly, you are not really a baby. If you do dirty them, I will.”

“I’ll think about it. You may be right.”

Aganthi was excited. “She is right Roberto. Become a baby and I will take you to little Cherine. If she sees you as a baby she will not fear you.”

“Too right - she just might decide to attack me. You do know that my protector refuses to help me with her.”

“It is silly. It doesn’t have to hurt her, but it can stop her from hurting you.”

“It sees the need in her to hurt me, so it feels that if it stops her it is hurting her. The protector may be powerful, but it is also a stupid baby itself in many ways.”

“Take a chance Roberto. Maybe we can sell her some flowers?”

“Shouldn’t we wait for Dommi to return?”

“No. Roberto, it is the same as playing puppy.”


1056

“Damn, but you girls keep on finding excuses to make me look ridiculous. We better go to the farm where you can put a nappy on me.”

She giggled, “We have this one from Irene.”



Next Post 141

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
6th January, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 6th January, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Congratulations @arthur.grafo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Μπερδεύτηκα λίγο... Οι Ordinx τι πρόβλημα έχουν και πρέπει να γιατρευτούν?
Γιατί λέει ότι Sparklers ότι είναι καλοι αφού όλοι αυτοί οι εξωγήινοι δεν είναι καλοί ?
Ότι λέει είναι για τον εναλλακτικό κόσμο πού βρίσκονται?
Τα raspberries τι είναι?
Χαχα θα τον κάνουμε μωρό για να πλησιάσουμε την μικρή Cherine?? Xaxaaaa

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43