Let´s talk about sex!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #sex7 years ago

'Sex between two people is a beautiful thing; between five it´s fantastic.' Woody Allen 

How many of you have blushed reading that statement? 

Talking about sex is a delicate issue there is no doubt about that. But it seems that education, culture and social environment have a significant influence on how open we are during these 'sex-talks'. 

Let´s break the taboo and talk about it!  


Talking about sex 

It seems that talking about sex in public means breaking a taboo. Regardless, I´ve noticed slight differences in the degree of people´s chattiness depending on their cultural environment, education and experiences. 

During the past 5 years I was living in 3 different countries. It may sound funny, but the closer got to the equator the more communicative the people became. Hot weather, hot imagination ? :)  

Are southeners more open to sex-talking? 

The birds and the bees 

I am German. The fifteen first years of my life I was grown up in a small German village with around 2,000 residents, close to the forest, enjoying a well sheltered, happy and carless childhood. I´ve been educated to become an open-minded but wise person, my parents were always there for whatever we (me plus two little brothers) needed or asked about. 

I don´t remember exactly the date, but I think I was 8 years old when my mom told me about the birds and the bees for the first time. We had a book about 'the human body' and the second half of it was dedicated to the chapter 'how people make love'. From my today´s point of view I must admit that I would educate my own children exactly like my parents did. Both our mom and dad had this special talent to let everything sound absolutely normal and comprehensible for us. Yes, I think we had a dreamlike childhood. 

From the very beginning sex was something normal to me. Regardless, we didn´t really talk about it.

You did what? A personal story 


I was 16 years old when my family and I moved from Germany to Spain (Canary Islands). Quickly I came to know that there were a lot of differences between both destinations - and these were not only due to the climatic distinctions. 

Spanish people are much more open than German people, for instance.
It all starts with their language. 

In Germany we are very correct. Sometimes we are even more correct than a right angle. Do you know how Spanish people call German people? 'Cabeza cuadrada' = quadratic head. The German Steemians may forgive me, but: that hits the nail on the head - the quadratic head! Haha  

While my Spanish vocabulary is full of expressions like 'coño' (pussy), 'joder' (fuck) or polla (dick), in German we never use these words in a regular conversation. 

In the beginning of my life as a 'canaria' (girl from Canary Islands), I got really in trouble with this world. I had now idea I could call my best friend a 'hijo de la gran puta' (son of a bitch) and we were still going to be best friends. That language was much more expressive and direct than the one I had learned before. 

My boyfriend was a local and so his friends were. Curiously enough each time the whole group was coming together, the girls separated from the boys right away. This was very new to me. In Germany there was no subdividing by gender, we hang around mixed up. Anyway, the girls sticked together as if we were part of 'Sex and the City', excluding any male from their secret conversations. And these chats were VERY close to the original ones from the TV series! Maybe they were even better :)


I would have loved joining the boys´ group, who were talking about politics, sports - the really interesting things. But I had no choice. I had to be part of the girlies´ clique, who preferred talking about make-up, shoes and hair dying (oh my Godness, what did I do wrong in life...). Make-up, shoes, hair dying - and sex! 

I very well remember my first chat with the girls. One of them started describing the sex experience she had lived with her boyfriend the night before, not missing ANY details. I was perfectly informed about the WHEN, the WHERE - and the HOW! 

Holy crap! I thought by myself. I was uneasily moving on my chair, not knowing where to look and how to hide my sensation of shame. I prayed not being asked about MY last experience. Yes, it was awesome but I had actually no interest in sharing it like that with them! Plus: I had no idea how to describe all these things we were doing, I had never talked about all that, I had only done it :-D

A few years and a lot of girlie chats later I am noticing a change in my sex-talking behavior (and talent :)).  

The open environment defined by a communicative culture where everything is expressed and said just the way it is, made a more open, talkative and relaxed person of me. The supposed taboos which existed while I was living in Germany, have mostly disappeared. 

Talking about sex improves your sex life 

'Sex is the gateway to life.' Frank Harris

Honestly, thanks to the numerous chats I have had about sex during the past years I have generally become more open to it. Sharing experiences or simply laughing about unique stories with your friends helps you deal with sex in a more natural way. Knowledge is power! 

I totally understand that a lot of people are not aloud or willing to share these experiences with others due to their religion or other principles. That´s another story. 

To those of us who are privileged to talk openly about whatever comes up to our mind, I highly recommend: TALK ABOUT IT


Talking about sex is a delicate issue. Depending on the educational, cultural or religious influences that determine a person´s life, we are more open to such conversations or not. Language is key when it comes to express our feelings, emotions and also sexual experiences. Some languages (and attached cultures) are more expressive, direct and shameless than others, and - as often in life - it´s not what you say but how. According to my personal experiences, talking about sex makes us more open to our own sex life in general. In the end sex is a wonderful invention and talking about it can be a LOT of fun, too...:) 

Marly - 



Picture sources:
Title image (girls): http://www.girlscene.nl/
Brunette girls: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/
Blonde and brunette: http://s5.favim.com/
Sex and the City: http://media.salon.com/
Animated GIF: http://cdn2.teen.com/
Woody Allen quote 1: http://quotepixel.com/
Girls back: http://www.lappthebrand.com/
Woody Allen quote 2: http://alligator-sunglasses.com/
Marilyn Monroe quote: https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/

IMG_671410d34.jpg

Sort:  

"In the end sex is a wonderful invention"
Do you think Thomas Edison would have got around to it, after inventing the first commercial light bulb. But that darn Adam got in there first.
My Mum used to say, "It wasn't the Apple that started the trouble, it was the Pear on the ground."

I'm still trying to figure out who has the patent for it.

No patent is needed here - it´s open source! :-D

Hahaha, I am actually not sure who invented it. But I bet he is amoung the 1% who are richer than half of the world´s population! At least rich in experiences...:-D

Your mom´s saying is brilliant.
Thanks for stopping by and commenting, I enjoyed the read!
Marly -

Great article for which a lot more talking and chatting needs to occur. I can only agree with you that, especially in the English culture I am living right now, underlining the northern aspect of where I live, the climate is equally cold in relation to the topic of sexuality while the activities surrounding it are unfortunately rather unhealthy for a great deal of people. The situation is, if not direly very sad at least an unhealthy state as far as I am concerned.

Such article and daring discussion can only help the matter and you are helping by sharing openly and, as you would say naturally. It is very healthy, needed and appreciated in my books. Thanks you so very much for your natural daring dialogue. We need it! If I were to quote a doctor from Doctors Without Borders (Médecins Sans Frontière), "sex is life". Keeping it away from you is keeping and draining your life energy away from you, the great majority of the time.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thank you very much for taking your time and commenting! There is a lot of wisdom in your words and I´ve enjoyed reading them. Sex is life, that´s so true:)
Namaste!

Thanks for the kind words, I'm very glad they were appreciated as well. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $28.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 31 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I love this! It is definitely different from culture to culture what people are willing to discuss. I come from a Christian background, and sex was never the taboo in our house like it was in other households. Thanks for a great read @surfermarly!

Thank YOU for your kind feedback, @lydon.sipe! It´s much appreciated.
Then we were grown in similar circumstances...:)

Nice...I learned about the birds & bees when I was 10 (she was 12 and BOY, she knew PLENTY)! Talking about sex is fine, as long as it doesn't involve pigeons or farm animals...you know stuff like that!

LOL - I totally agree on that animal issue!!! :-DD

Powerful stuff!

I agree with you that talking about it very helpful. How can we learn and improve if we do not talk about it.

Thanks my friend!!! Our yesterday´s chat inspired me to write this article :-)

Play it loud:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67