Late Night Thoughts #2 | How I Shaped My Relationship with Anxiety & Depression

in #selflove6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 11.57.44.png
Painting by Dahlia Hammar

Throughout the years, the process of writing has shaped my journey of self expression. I wrote words to comfort, I wrote words to heal, yet I have never tackled the pain I felt in the first place.

I never talked about anxiety or depression, because I had internalised the stigma that surrounds mental health.

There are between 42.5 to 46 million adults in the U.S. that have some type of mental illness. One in four adults experience mental illness in a given time of their life, yet the lack of knowledge, education and acceptance is huge.

In the past decades I suffered on and off from anxiety and depression, and I chose myself to live in the denial.
I didn’t want to be sick, I didn’t want to acknowledge that I needed help because of the wrong beliefs that shaped my thoughts.
Yet, I missed out on so many things because I didn’t know how to deal with myself.

I missed out on opportunities to learn and grow, because I thought I would never be good enough to worth trying.

I missed out in opportunities to bond with people because I convinced myself I didn’t know how to love them.
But most of all, I missed opportunities to be truly happy, because I was addicted to the state of pain I was in.

And when you realise that pain is your comfort zone, you know that you want to move away from that place as soon as possible.

My block with acknowledging my pain came from two misleading beliefs.
The fist was that, If I'd share my pain, other's perception of me would be shaped in a negative way and people would treat me differently.
The second came from the thought that, If I'd seek for help, I would be given meds; and because I saw what it did to people around me, I promised myself I’d never take that path to heal myself.

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 12.06.06.png
Artwork by Pedro Tapa: https://www.instagram.com/pedrotapa/?hl=en

I remember a time when I was lying in bed, holding my head, trying to shut down the flow of thoughts that was craving emptiness within me.

I took a deep breath in, I exhaled and I started to count. “One, two, three…” I whispered all the way to ten, and then I started again. The repeating pattern gave my mind something to focus on, while the breathing would soften the grasp holding my heart so tightly.
I tried for days, weeks, months to deal with something I didn't understand.
But all the way I kept following a voice inside me telling me that everything would be fine, that I just had to keep going.
Until today, I bless having been able to pick up on that divine voice, for most of the time we don't get to hear its whispering through the loudness of our own thoughts.

At the time, I was scared of being alone; I would always keep my mind busy, I would avoid silence just not to hear the noise inside my head.

Until I realised that the only path to healing was to fell in love with myself. I had to be the starting point.

One day I took the courage to look at the darkness inside me, and I stretched my imagination to picture the most beautiful garden, telling myself "This is the place you will never want to run away from".
I figured out that I could change that picture and create within me a place of light.
I planted grains of love and kindness, and I stopped thinking that I was in a battle with anyone or anything.
I told myself "I am here to treat you with love and self care", and I made friends with all the darkness inside.
When I let it speak, the pain voiced out its duty to remind me that there was much more to life that I could see; changing the way I felt about anxiety and depression dropped a huge weight from my heart; I felt like I had finally opened my eyes to all the things I could do to craft pain into happiness.

Now, although I cut the story short, I can reassure you that it took time and patience to get to this state of awareness, and that nothing happened in a snap of fingers.

Pain doesn't fade from a day to another, yet you learn how to deal with it, how to mould it to keep only what serves you. You learn to acknowledge and honour it, and then to let it go.

My biggest motivation to work on my pain has been the desire to help others, and the truth is, that you can’t really help anyone until you help yourself.
If you want to love others, learn to love yourself. If you want to give to others, learn to create within you what you are willing to give away.

Wherever you are in the journey, don't forget to water your garden, for that's where all the beauty you can create in your life blossoms.

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 12.34.22.png
Artwork by Pride Nyasha: https://www.instagram.com/Pride_Nyasha

Sort:  

This was so beautiful Kim thankyou so much for sharing . I gave you my 100% upvote and I’m going to send you a tip from booster :) glad to now call you a friend . Thankyou for your love ❤️

Thanks @stevenalexander! :) Looking forward for your upcoming posts too <3

Wow. Thank you for sharing! It's hard to hear your own divine voice to tell you to keep pushing and moving forward when you have so much negativity in your ear. Keep you ear close to your heart :)

You got a 6.98% upvote from @upyou courtesy of @tigeriseye!

wow @kimlucy! really loved the article, dear. Glad for your achievement :)

Congratulations @kimlucy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really beautiful and inspiring post, thanks Kim!

Such an important topic to talk about! So many of us are suffering from anxiety and hiding it behind bright smiles. I don't think it does any good avoiding to talk about it..

Congratulations @kimlucy! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kimlucy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69