My Tiny Temple (Introduction)

in #selfintroduction7 years ago

Welcome to my tiny digital Temple!

So glad to join you on Steemit! My name is Michel Kabba, I’m 31 years old and have been working as an in-home care provider for a charming, artistic, and inspiring elder here in my hometown of Sebastopol, CA.

I have a whole range of interests, but on Steemit I’d like to focus on just a few:

  • Art
  • Photography
  • Design
  • Travel

I am by no means a professional artist, or photographer, in fact I haven’t earned a dime doing what I love to do, but I’m determined to keep going. One day I hope to start my own design company. Designing what? I have no idea. It could be interior design, architectural design, website design, we’ll see. I just love the process of discovering and further uncovering a working order of shape and color… It’s the only work I can imagine my self still doing until my final day here on this lovely blue pearl. For now the work is still a little sloppy, but mostly self-taught, so refinement will come in time.

The theme of my artwork varies. I do figure drawing, sketches, and random, free-flowing, abstract drafting adventures. My favorite work to do are abstract geometric impressions, like Suntower below. I have been in love with architecture for at least a decade now, but couldn’t cut it as a student of architecture at my local community college.

I thought it was the buildings that I loved, but over the years it became apparent that I was drawn to the impressions and embedded themes in the design of the buildings. Circles, triangles, and squares coming together to form the body of a piece of art.

These basic geometric elements serve symbolic and utilitarian functions on there own (a square box for efficient packing and storing, a triangular roof for shedding water, and a circular wheel for easy motion). When they are patiently brought together, though, the impression more along the lines of a word or brief statement; a meme or personality of its own, independent of its creator. They are not “mine”, I simply draw them out of a sea of geometric potential. They follow their own rules, and the only way for me to reveal them is to honor those rules.

An abstract geometric impression:

“Suntower”

Suntower.jpg

I know it's crude, but it's my first one from three years ago. I have been attempting to clean it up and refine the technique since then.

Like my artwork, the theme of my photography varies. I like to shoot animals, especially birds, flowers, and architecture. What I hunt for, or hope to discover, are the same basic elements of my drawings: patterns, repetitions, color harmony, balance, and geometry. For this I must travel… to a nearby park or the other side of the world. It’s a thrilling and inspires me to do more drawing. I must and I will continue to travel, to feel the pulse of the world, and articulate it through drawing.

Photo samples

"Poppies and Brick"

IMG_4629 copy.jpg

"Waterfalling"

Red and green waterfall copy.jpg

"Ice Plant"

IMG_0958 copy.jpg

IMG_0956 copy.jpg

IMG_0954 copy.jpg

"Water meets Sand"

Water and Sand copy.jpg

Here's my toolkit, as of June 15th, 2017:

image2.JPG

Quick Bio:

My little sister and I were born in LA and lived there until I was five and she was three. We moved up here to Sebastopol after our parents split up and later divorced. Today we all continue to share a healthy relationship with one another. My mother is originally from Oregon, and her heritage goes all the way back to the first colonists who arrived on the east coast in the 17th C. (Mayflower, maybe? probably not… but still!). My father is from Sierra Leone, west Africa. However, his mother’s family name is ‘Savage’, and are descended from freed slaves who returned to Africa over a century ago. So, perhaps my mother’s great-great grandparents and those of my father knew each other!! ;)

IMG_3756.JPG

IMG_4838.JPG

I will happily share travel and photography tips, as well the drafting process from start to finish. For now, though, it’s nice to meet you all! I’m looking forward to finding other (Steemers? Steemians?) with similar interests. I hope you find my content valuable and I am always open to tips and new suggestions to improve my work.

-Kabbam

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/michel_kabba/

Sort:  

This 'was' a GreaT intro !! - ))
.. didn't 'bang' the wallet to hard, but HEY !! - ))

i will certainly be visiting AGAIN !! - ))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

Thank you for that! I have so much to share and it thrills me to have nice comments like these :)

LET the 'FEELING BE' .. the success YOU SEE(K) !! - ))
and, .. YOU can't GO wrong !! - ))
SO many helpful spirits HERE .. talk them UP !! - ))
.. and keep shaRing that INNER GENIUS !! - ))

ha ha ))))

DO YOU have a couple of 7 words poems in YOU ?? - ))
.. free SBD !! - ))
what is a secret ?
what is unknown ?

WE'll talk again soon ))
... BE well !! - ))

Thank you, my robotic friend.

Welcome to Steemit @kabbam :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

bienvenido a este mundo estamos para ayudarnos yo te doy mi voto y tu me das uno @deisy67

Muchas gracias por el apretón de manos digital!

Hello , i am new aswell. i wish you the best at growing on steam and having a great experience here .

Upvoted & followed

Kind regards,

Good luck to you, blackhat, and thank you for viewing my post!

Welcome! You create beautiful art and photos, I'm looking forward to seeing more. Followed!

Thank you!

Congratulations @kabbam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Glad to be here! My interest in trading is actually what brought me here :)

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet!!!

Support #faithinhumanity
Blog - https://steemit.com/landmine/@tinashe/when-life-becomes-living-hell-for-landmine-victim

STEEM UPVOTE LOGO.jpg

Thank you! I am excited to be here. It's a ground-breaking concept to be sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48