You May Think You Have Nothing to Hide … But You Are Still Breaking Laws. Tips for Protecting Yourself Online.

in #security7 years ago (edited)

17457349_10154239042546906_3911276009340102699_n.jpg

Attorney Harvey Silverglate says that the average American commits 3 felonies every day … without even knowing it.

This meme was shared by @Lukewearechange on Facebook and I will send him a portion of the awards for this post.

Be careful with your devices. Cover up that camera unless you are using it. I use my microphone frequently throughout the day so will probably leave that alone but if you are having a very private conversation than maybe leave your devices in another room.

I am not a paranoid person by any means but I am a cautious one. Why give the authorities or criminals access to your home without permission?

If You Have Windows Make Sure You Turn Off the Keylogger Feature.

It is Settings-Privacy-General

Then turn off, "Send Microsoft info about how I write to help us improve typing and writing in the future."

2017-03-22 09_26_31-Settings.png

Turn Off Your Microphone for Apps You Don't Use.

It is Settings-Privacy-Microphone

2017-03-22 09_30_00-Create a Post — Steemit.png

Edward Snowden on VICE.

Have a Great Day Fellow Steemians!

Sort:  

Damn he's right! Today I downloaded a pirated movie, rode a bike on the sidewalk and burned down an orphanage

I like the humour/humor.

very nice post @hilarski
i like, thanks for sharing

Healthy words of wisdom on this one @hilarski and I LOVE the meme underlining the idea as well! Thanks for sharing the information and pointing out how to block the mic and key logging as well. Namaste :)

Unbelivable but I know this since years how easy we can be watched. One of my main causes that I do not use a smartphone. All things which are so called "smart" are tools for spying on us :-) Thanks for the reminder.

Thanks for this post. Very important to make people aware.
I have nothing to hide but I don't like the idea that others can see and hear me everywhere I go. I downloaded a few apps on my Android smartphone to block my camera (camera block) and mute my microphone (microphone guard). I'm not sure if they really work like they are supposed too, but at least they give me the feeling of a bit more privacy.
Tweeted: https://twitter.com/NWOforum/status/844592889103634432

I bet everything is bypassable if still connected.

NWOforum NWO Forum tweeted @ 22 Mar 2017 - 16:53 UTC

A few tips for Protecting Yourself Online.

steemit.com/security/@hila… / https://t.co/76Mh0kopJZ

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I'm sure this is very real... and I'll have to deal with it next time I buy new equipment... as it is, my computers and attachments are so OLD that even my getting on Skype is almost like preparing for a Space Shuttle launch... my system can't even run have the "modern" apps, and I have a 2008 flip phone!

Oh My, you will be in for a surprise. There are so many settings that have to be turned off on all devices today. We actually bought a new older model tv because of the issues with Smart TV.

People STILL use Windows, OMG! Great post.
OSX is a little more secure (I think/hope), but it's been hacked too. We must all remember nothing is safe online, nothing.

Great advice, @hilarski!
Hey, in the next week or so I will be setting up social media pages in an attempt to get a small business idea going. Are you on Steemit.chat? I may need some advice soon. :)

Sure, I check in there occasionally. If you go back to my first few months of post I made 9 posts about how to dominate on social media. Please read those first it will make it much easier for the both of us.

I will definitely do that! Thanks, man.

If you use Windows, I have one additional piece of advise for you: https://steemit.com/debian/@hagbardceline/installing-debian-gnu-linux-for-absolute-beginners ;-) scnr

Microsloth Winders is not an OS.

Why? Because all of these settings are just a suggestion to winders.
The API has ways to go around these settings and to change these settings without any human interaction. That's built into winders. Thanks Microsloth.

Other things that are built into the API is specific messages for NSA. They were accidentally shown at one of microsloth's large conferences.

It is not paranoia when they are watching you, and are using that information against you in dozens of ways.

Oh man, now you are making me paranoid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48