Season Challenge #2: All Hallow’s Eve

in #seasonchallenge6 years ago (edited)

@roxy-cat and @erikah launched a new challenge called #seasonchallenge.

Season Challenge is meant to give you the opportunity to share your thoughts and art towards the seasons. Until 1st of December we can praise the beautiful Autumn especially with the approaching Halloween.

Halloween is one of my favourite holiday and I have been excited about it since I was a child.

It’s a time to tell scary stories and light candles to ward off any unfriendly spirits who might cross the threshold on All Hallow’s Eve.

According to Celtic folklore the veil between the worlds (visible and invisible) opens Halloween. There may be an unexpected visit from a deceased friend or something from the other world out to frighten and prank.

it was a common practice for the ancients to leave a trail of lit candles leading to their doorway and in the window. This was to guide deceased relatives and friends who might pierce the veil and stop by for a visit this hallowed evening.

I edited this photo of the fire in the wood stove to show images related to Halloween.


image

Halloween Memories



Growing up, I lived on a farm half a mile outside a small village, where everyone knew everyone and all their business. Most residents were related or connected in some way.

The surrounding areas were peppered with small farms and families lived in close proximity to each other. Sadly it’s not like that today. Hardly anyone of my bloodline lives in that village nowadays. When I go back, it’s mainly graveyards of my ancestors I visit.

Getting back to Halloween night...

When a youngster or preteen, I would dress in something scary. Maybe just a sheet with holes cut for eyes or an old hat with sunglasses and scarf. It was certainly not anything like store-bought costumes you see on kids these days.

I remember going to the houses in the village with another young friend knocking on the doors and being handed a treat. Times were hard but folks were generous with what they had. There would be candies and home cooked goodies, such as fudge or cookies.

One kind lady handed out homemade popcorn balls, dipped in a sweet coating. It was always a beeline to her house before they were all gone.

My friend and I carried a bar of soap and rubbed the bar over one or two windows of any house that did not open the door to our cries of,

”Trick or Treat.”

I never thought of the window rub custom as a rude thing to do but it really was not nice. My mother would have been horrified to know how devilish we were dressed in disguise

I imagine the hard soap markings could be easily washed off but the weather is cooler by October 31 and not the best time to wash windows.

Another odd thing I remember from Halloween evening was a frightening looking old man who sat on the front porch of his shabby little house with a shotgun across his knees. His dog chained by the driveway.

Perley, who beared an older, striking resemblance to Freddie Kreuger of ‘The Nightmare On Elm Street,’ made sure everyone saw the gun and would be afraid to come onto his property. Out of respect for the gun, we kept a wide berth from his house on Halloween.

All n’all my Halloween ventures were all in fun except for the dear folks who had to wash their windows after a soaping.


💀 👻<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< 👹 👺 💀 👻 👽>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>👺 💀



A Halloween display made out of round hay bales I saw on my way to Charlottetown.


image


Another halloween display at a roadside pumpkin stand.


image


Season Challenge Info


Click symbols to redirect







Picture1.png



image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp. Greatly appreciated!

Good luck in the challenge !

Today's Halloween have less and less " Scary " costumes every year. Nice finds with the displays !

Thanks Rent and Happy Halloween. 👻 😊

Thank you for this beautiful post, my dear. The soap trick made me smile. And the old guy with his gun...wow, he really took it to the limits. 🙂
The good old times when celebrations were all about joy and not buying stuff are gone now unfortunately. I wish the kids learn from our experiences and memories. 🙂

Welcome my dear Roxy. I did read your excellent scary story on the man you thought had died. I saw it when was pass the 7 days so I didn’t comment. 😊

That's ok, my dear. I'm sharing these stories to delight my friends, upvotes are just a bonus. 🙂
I'm happy you liked it. I will never forget that day...never been so scared. 😂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you very much for participating! We really appreciate it! Keep up the good work and steem on 🙂

Welcome @erikah. Great idea for a challenge. 😊 🍂 👻 🎃

Indeed it is! My dear friend @roxy-cat is a genius! 😊

Come on, Erika. You know that this is team work. Remember? Dream team? 🙂

Kudos to both of you @erikah and #roxy-cat - great teamwork -this is wonderful challenge. 😊 💕

Well, it was at first but kind of feels like I have left you alone with this. Of course I have a bunch of excuses and explanations but still!!! 😐🤨

Don't worry about it. We are all busy and I know how hard is to divide your attention between multiple tasks. Who knows? I might be unable to deal with it in the future and I will need your assistance. 🙂

I'm doing a collaboration with another steemian and it takes up a part of my time. The hard work is done now, the post should come out these days.
You know you can count on me (almost) any time. I'll always be there for you 🙂
Just have to get myself together, organize my time better.

No worries, take your time. So far I manage by myself.
A new project? Looking forward to it. 🙂
Thank you for your support and friendship. 😘

Such a great story and photos Jo!! You were a little naughty with the soaping but that is harmless enough. The night before Halloween here was/is called "moving night". When I was young we participated in that but also harmless/non-destructive stuff like moving lawn chairs and such..lol! U & R 😊

Thanks so much, Dee. I feel a little guilty about the soaping now but it was not as bad as some boys who would knock over anyone’s outhouse. 😃

You're very welcome!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43