My Microscope: Ant Pupae

in #sciencepics7 years ago (edited)

I ant-napped a real cutie! And I shall call her "Squishy".

We have sugar ants & lot's of 'em. After disturbing one of their nests I noticed some ants busily hoisting the babies and moving them to safer ground. I put Squishy on a slide but didn't squash her by adding a top. I just hoped I'd be able to get reasonable focus...I think she is really adorable! Look at her lil' hairs :)

ant.JPG

I have a new(ish) camera and am about to go exploring for more My Microscope fodder; any suggestions as to what I should look at are most welcome!

Sort:  

ant's babies are really cute, never thought they would be like this.
thanks for sharing

Hey thanks for looking! :)

Just about any other local insects would likely be interesting, as well as plant life. I may have missed it in an earlier post, but what kind of microscope?

It's a compound microscope & thank you for the suggestions :) I haven't done a lot of plant life yet!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @carlgnash

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Plant life would be really interesting! I really like the idea of sand and other tiny things too. Wood grains might be interesting as well?

Ooh cool ideas! I'm excited to look at sand. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09