The Dark Side of the Blockchain - Chapter Eight - Ned

in #sciencefiction8 years ago

Link to Chapter One


The intersection was filled with trapped cars,

many of which had just crashed and there were frightened people everywhere. Some were running away in a panic and others were attempting to hide behind their vehicles. I jumped on top of a sedan and then jumped on to the next, because it was the only way to get across the street. When I finally made it to the other side, I saw a pair of mods running toward me in the distance.

I immediately opened fire and one ducked behind a car, while the other jumped into a door way for cover. Then I quickly got behind a gridlocked van just before bullets began zipping past. As I squatted down with my back up against the van to reload my gun, I noticed a woman sitting in the driver's seat of the car directly in front of me.


She was staring at her SCM

and I could feel her excitement when thinking “I'm on the news!” But then I felt her fear as she looked up and saw me, while hearing bullets hit the side of her car. “I can't get pinned down here!” I thought to myself. I immediate ran out from behind the van shooting at the moderator on the right that was cowering in the doorway.

Then I heard the banging sound of the other, so I ran directly toward him while repeatedly shooting until the right side of his head exploded. I pointed my gun back toward the one on the right and realized that he had fled into the building. I kept an eye on the doorway as I searched his partner for more ammunition to reload my gun.


I got back up and continued running down the sidewalk with my gun draw,

but then my aura began to fade. My eyes darted from left to right without finding a single target, so I veered to my right and jumped into a plate glass window. The sharp glass came shattering down all around me and I found myself all cut up in a small bridal shop.

As I got back up to my feet I could hear the women scream, so I said “It's OK, I'm a moderator! Go hide in the back, we've gotta maniac on the loose.” When I peered around the left corner, I saw that the cowardly moderator running toward the store with his gun drawn. I quickly shot twice and hit his left knee. As the mod fell he began shooting the sidewalk and into the cars behind him.


“Slide your gun and I will let you live”

I commanded. I could hear the pain in his voice as he screamed “I can't, I am hurt!” while dropping his gun and rolling away from it to grab his knee. At that moment I realized that he would have committed an infraction if he complied, so I screamed “Don't you fucking move!” while rushing toward him to get his gun.

Then I patted him on the back and said “Hang in there champ, you get to retire a little early.” After taking all his ammo I bolted down the sidewalk as fast as I could. I made it two blocks before I saw a moderator directing one car at a time at the tail end of the traffic jam onto the side street.


When he saw me immediately went for his gun,

so I began basting away at the traffic mod. But I hit an unlucky driver instead, that reversed in front of him to take the side street and the car drifted into a glass storefront window. The mod began firing back, so I duct behind the side of a car until he stopped. Then I took two steps to my right while taking aim at the mod as he reloaded, but I began hearing more gun shots coming from behind the four rows of trapped cars.

Car windows began exploding, while the brick wall to my right was being chipped away by invisible enemies and then it felt like someone punched me in my right shoulder. The impact caused my upper body to swing around so fast that it sent my gun flying out of my hand and into the wall.

I quickly ran over to get the gun, but when I went to grab it, I noticed that my right arm was no longer responding. So I picked it up with my left hand and ran back to the safety of the car. My shoulder felt a bit sore and I was having trouble lifting my arm and gripping my fingers, but as the bullet slowly cooled the pain became much worse.


I knew that getting pinned down was a death sentence

and I was a terrible shot with my left hand, so I slowly crept forward from car to car, to get closer. But then the traffic mod ran over to the sidewalk and had me in his sights. He was still too far for me shoot left handed, so I jumped behind the back of a car to avoid the barrage of bullets. Then I began to panic as I realized that I was trapped.

I knew that the mod was rushing down the sidewalk to my right and at any minute the other shooter could shoot me from my left. My head was frantically darting back and fourth as I wondered who would finally get me. But then I heard the terrible scream of an old racing motorcycle with a piston engine coming from behind.


The sound was terrifying

as it raced past on the sidewalk and I couldn't believe that that awful sound would be the last thing that I would ever hear. Then I heard the bike come to a stop just ahead and a machine gun rang out with all it's fury, but no bullets were landing anywhere near me.

I looked up and saw the traffic mod dead on the sidewalk and the motorcyclist was unloading on a frightened moderator that was taking bullets in the back. Then the motorcyclist pulled off her helmet revealing her long blond hair while screaming over the noisy bike “Ned, get over here!”


I couldn't believe what I was seeing

and in shock I ran over gripping my aching shoulder. She reached into her saddle bag and pulled out an ugly coat. She threw the coat at me while shouting “Put it on!” Forgetting that my right hand wouldn't raise I went to catch it, but the coat smacked me in the face.

As I struggled to put the coat on she continued “A few minutes ago someone caused a massive disruption, so the grid is completely down and the mods have lost all communication.” I began to wonder how many people were involved and I started to ask for her name, but I heard her think “Ned, don't ask me that!”


“Ned… If you want to live,

go one block to the left and then make right on Steemit Pkwy. Follow Steemit all the way down to 12th Street, take 12th back to Satoshi and you will find help at 11th Street. Don't worry about the moderators! Walk at a medium pace and they will not recognize you.” She commanded.

She put her helmet back on and yelled “Stop worrying! Everything is suppose to happen like this! I will see you soon.” Then she revved her engine and sped off. I followed her directions just as she said and I realized that she was right, I saw many moderators gearing up for war along the way, but none of them gave me a second glance.



Follow me for more Tales from The Dark Side of the Blockchain
Sort:  

Hello gonzo, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave.

More about Robin Hood Whale

Lovely Series - Keep on Steeming!

Thank You
I am reading your page now :)

Thank You
I would like to thank all the black cats for staying out of my path.

Followed you for the next tale...!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50