I've done a DNA test and I'm sharing it for the first time on Steemit

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Sharing the DNA

I've done a DNA test at AncestryDNA and I'm going to share my DNA with you to see if you can find anything interesting. Feel free to ask questions about anything that may be related to my genes. I'm aware that it may influence my insurance prices and that I will be easy to find if I commit any crime, but I accept the risks. It is also not the complete sequence of my DNA because that is very expensive option as of today. Hopefuly in a few years everybody will be able to afford full genome sequencing. The total cost, including shipping, was €114.00. Was it worth it? See for yourself.

dna-163710_960_720.jpg

Ancestry

I'm going to show you what the AncestryDNA offers out of the box when you purchase DNA test with them. I've received information about my ethnicity and the history of migration of my ethnic group, unfortunately it's very basic as you can see below. I was born in Poland, so do most of my ancestors, so my ancestry is probably accurate. More interesting information is that the website has found 69 cousins of 4th degree with nine of them having high certainty of affinity. It is possible to contact them and even see their family trees - the later option requires paid subscription, that's not nice.
Ancestry.png
You can also download my full ancestry report here - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1b5m67ci2sCLtcrMr_6AZQwQCFUA612y9/view?usp=sharing

South Park

South Park featured a gig about ancestry DNA testing, check it out ;-)

Promethease

I have uploaded my DNA to a service called Promethease. It is a kind of DNA browser which displays entries from SNPedia matching your DNA. One of the first entries show information that I'm having 17x increased myopathy risk when taking statins, which is very important information. Unfortunately most of the entries tell me only about increased or decreased risk of certain disease. I'm sharing my Promethease report with you and I'm hoping that you can find more important information.
promethease.png

Raw DNA file

Finally I'm going to let you download my DNA in a .txt file which you can use in many services such as Promethease, DNA.land or perhaps in some specialized software if you are a researcher. I'm very curious to see what you will do with it. I hope you enjoyed this and will appreciate my contribution.

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.49 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @yumoto353. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I got mine done on 23andme:

Here is the text file. Feel free to clone me or do whatever you would like with it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oxDVGldB827ba-8QzyWD6QEZ_O9zEACV/view?usp=sharing

Great post, love the southpark drop in the middle bit there! We used 23andme for our DNA testing. I hopefully will have my results soon. After uploading my hubbys raw data to https://GeneticGenie.com we found he has a CBS Gene mutation. It's led to us trying a low thiol diet, and it seems to be helping him some with his myriad of symptoms. I find all of this to be extremely fascinating and I will be posting more on it as well as time goes on.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations @yumoto353! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yumoto353 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post received a 1% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @yumoto353! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .
STEEM Price : 3.121 $

This post has received a 2.21 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @yumoto353

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 1.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @yumoto353.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51