Citizen science ~ Happywhale.com Become a honorary Marine Biologist!

in #science6 years ago

A lot of people that I meet from around the world tend to mention that they wanted to be a Marine Biologist at some point in their life. It is usually when they were in highshool or younger and that statement is typically joined with "I wanted to work with dolphins." Or something similar along those lines.


So what happened...??


Well, my thought is that people grew up, matured and got real jobs ~ Simply forgetting about their early passionate desire to work as a marine biologist. I for some reason just never grew up in many ways and actually didn't want to become a marine biologist. When I went to University my goal was to become a Naturopath - However, in my science degree I fell in love with the marine courses and it came very very easy to me. I just stuck with it and now BAM! I am quite happy with what I do for "a job".


Read my earlier posts to see what it is I do:
An Australian living as an International Expedition guide. Part 1. The journey so far. ~ https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@thomasjmitchell/an-australian-living-as-an-international-expedition-guide-part-1-the-journey-so-far
Life in Antarctica for 3 months as a Marine Bio/Guide. ~ https://steemit.com/life/@thomasjmitchell/life-in-antarctica-for-3-months-as-a-marine-bio-guide
My introduction ~ World Ocean adventures ~ https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@thomasjmitchell/my-introduction-world-ocean-adventures


IMG_2449.jpg

Click image for full size.


WELL!! It is not too late - you can be a honorary Marine Biologist today by joining a site called:

https://www.happywhale.com

It is free to join and it is where you can upload ID shots of whales from wherever you are around the world and it is entered in a massive data base.
**
Why is it important??

  1. It allows us to observe the health of the population of whales ~ not sure if you know but these animals were slaughtered in the millions last century and most populations still have not yet recovered.
  2. Funding is very limited in the marine science world and simply collecting data in remote areas, such as, Antarctica is incredibly expensive.
  3. We simply DO NOT know that much about these animals & we are only just scratching the surface of what we think we know about these animals
  4. You can 100% contribute to the science world ~ fulfilling your childhood dream of being a Marine Biologist
  5. Why not...

For more information and to sign up today head to:
https://www.happywhale.com


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

There is nothing beautiful than nature

who is this inside the water?

This post has received a 0.11% upvote from thanks to: @alitarar.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

You must be very happy in your life. Great that you attended the marine biology course, otherwise you wouldn't have known. :)

Nice post dear!!!!!!!!!

We must never forget where we came from and the child that one day we went but above all do what we like

Yes yes yes!!! I also want to be a marine biologist. I have a Biology degree and I'm planning on taking a master's degree in marine biology or microbiology. Why marine biology? Who doesn't love studying marine animals? And the sea? And you will appreciate more the beauty of life by simply doing your researches. Trust me. To everyone who is hesitating on taking a marine biology career path, take a deep breath. Marine biology is awesome.

good luck with your studies, mate! I wish you all the luck in the world. might see you on the water one day soon :)

Thanks. Have you written a lot of scientific articles? I think, I think, I've read one in college. Written by a Mitchell. Haahha

i never wanted to be a marine biologist but whales are some. terrible that we slaughtered them. did not know that it was millions. very interesting post!

Yeah @exploreand it is the truth, they were slaughtered in millions and that's really unwholesome.

They need us now!

best for all students that have and want to grow knowledge for science. being a teacher i follow u for these potionak and info related posts. @thomasjmitchell thanks mate, you made my day.

&#127912 l & phenomenal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66