Life in Antarctica for 3 months as a Marine Bio/Guide.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! As some of you who have already seen some of my posts, you might have worked out that I recently returned from a working contract in Antarctica. I was lucky enough to work in an incredible team of passionate travellers whom become close friends rather than just remaining colleagues. This post I decided to inform you what a typical day working in Antarctica is like. Basically, you don't get much sleep - usually anywhere from 4-6 hours a night.

IMG_2212.jpg
a typical view of the surrounding landscape that is the Western Antarctic Peninsula

Our day begins early - mine in particular was around 530-545am, where I would make way to the bridge and begin scouting the area with binoculars - scanning for wildlife and checking weather conditions. If I discover anything of amazing interest, such as a pod of Fin whales only 3 nautical miles away. Then I inform the Expedition leader, whom decides to capitalize on the situation or continue on the daily scheduled plan.

IMG_1900.jpg
A pod of about 6 Fin Whales in the Bransfield Strait

Then its GO time! We get dressed in our warm, zodiac gear, which comprises of wearing thermals, thick down jackets, insulated pants, thick socks, gloves, hats, glasses & waterproof outer layers. ALSO, sunscreen - lots of sunscreen! Then we are dropped into small zodiacs and prepare to transport guests to a landing site, which they can explore for a short period and also take them on zodiac cruises around the immediate area in search of more wildlife and beautiful views.

IMG_2904.jpg
a humpback whale I found and got to interact with on one of those such small zodiac cruises

Then everyone is back on board, the guests have lunch and talk about what they experienced during the morning excursion. Personally, I grab something really quick and head back to the bridge to scan the area again. Whilst lunch is on the vessel will pull anchor and transit to another location for the afternoon excursion. Hence, while we transit I am back scouting for more potential wildlife encounters.

The afternoon excursion is somewhat a bit of a repeat of the morning excursion but different location, different historical and geological features and of course different animals too.

IMG_4936.jpg
a minke whale curiously checking out my zodiac one afternoon

Then back on board after another adventure filled afternoon excursion. At this time myself and the other scientists provide everyone with a brief presentation that cover some of the things we saw today. We typically have about 5-7 minutes each to talk about something relevant that occurred during the days excursions.

IMG_5058.jpg
a cute Crabeater seal taking a nap on an ice floe

Then dinner time & drinks, which is always fun to sit with guests and learn about their journey. The ship pulls anchor and transits sometimes long distances to reach our morning destination for another day of excursions. Throughout that time I am usually up in the bridge searching once again for animal encounters. Sometimes it definitely pays off with Orca encounters from time to time. Amazing for me, as I am usually the only person who is up still and I get this moment with these magnificent animals all to myself.

IMG_2243.jpg
A pod of Orca I spotted at almost midnight one evening in the Gerlache Strait

Then its attempting to go to sleep sometime not much later than midnight to get a few hours sleep before my 530-545am alarm goes off to begin another day of adventure!! The adventure was incredible and exhausting on so many levels. The most exciting news, however, was that I am actually heading back down in a few weeks to work another contract until the end of the summer season down there.

SO get ready, Steemians for more images and grand adventures that I will be having down Antarctica!!!

For more pictures and stories check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Sounds like a dream job! Hopefully someday I will have a chance to go to Antarctica and explore its beauty!

This is amazing. I would love to visit Antarctica one day (before it melts at least!). And I love your photos!

thank you!! I can't recommend it enough - There are no words, not even an image that truly captures that place. I tried to capture it but still never does it justice

Can’t imagine. It’s a hell of a different world out there!

I worked down there for ten years. It is an incredible place!

Tom, thanks for another great post!
I'm big fun of your posts but one thing bothers me - your images are not clickable. Your posts will be soo nicer if we'll be able to open in bigger size your majestic photographs!

Hi mate, I wasn't aware that was possible. I will look into it and post another one shortly with a nice photo - hopefully, you will be able to click it to open as a bigger size. Thanks for the support!!

It is actually very simple to implement! When you add a photo to post, it looks something like this:

![ADS_2212.jpg](image address)

All you need to get clickable image is to change the format as following:
[![ADS_2212.jpg](image address)](image address)

You add square brackets around original format and then copy/paste image address in circle brackets after the enclosing square bracket.
Voila!

that is awesome!! thank you - I will update my posts with this clickable feature on them now

Beautiful photos, interesting post. I never thought you'd need sunscreen in Antarctica, I guess its because of all the reflections.

What an incredible adventure ❤️Amazing for you to see and capture these shots, so special! The minke whale shot with him breaking the surface is so cool!

Thank you!! he was an awesome animal to hang out with too :)

Wow. Great. Photos are amazing. So clear.
We enjoyed in every single word.
Definitely following you.

Hi froom Croatia :-)

Great close encounters, I envy how you got a close shot of a minke whale. Which lens? :)

I use a 100-400mm with a canon 7D

Thanks for sharing your daily experience! Is this a tourist cruise, or a scientific expedition? Any shots of the ship you were on?

That's amazing! Sounds like the perfect job, perfect excursion, and if I may, the perfect life. I'm saving up and studying up to go on one of these excursions some day, either as a tourist or as a scientist. Please keep your posts coming, they're extremely insightful!

How's the life style there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99