The Science and Psychology of ADHD

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

adhd.jpg

Many people believe ADHD isn't real, or at least don't believe it's as detrimental as it actually can be. Many of those who do believe in ADHD, believe that it's something that only affects children, and that they will simply "grow out of it". These statements couldn't be further from the truth. Today, I'll explain the science behind this brain disorder, and shed some light on a few of the misnomers about ADHD. This one hits home hard with me, as I have suffered from this condition since early childhood. It was never managed by my parents, and has led to some serious complications in my adult life.

brainwave.png

What is ADHD?

ADHD is a brain disorder that affects the intake of dopamine in the brain. This leads to inattention, forgetfulness, emotional dysregulation, and impulsivity that is often associated with the disorder. Doctors and scientists still aren't sure of the root causes of ADHD, but it is widely known that heredity plays a large role. This video will help me explain many of the neurological causes behind the symptoms.


Source: ADDitude Magazine

Studies as far back as 1990 have discovered significantly lower levels of brain activity in people diagnosed with ADHD. Looking at the image of two brain scans below, you can easily tell the neurological differences between the subjects.

add-adhd-brain-scan-mind-child-chemical-imbalance.jpg

brainwave.png

ADHD in Children

ADHD is usually diagnosed in children around the age of 7, though it can show up as early as age 3. Inattention and hyperactivity are the most common symptoms at such a young age, though disorganization and lack of emotional control can be problems as well.

The disorder is more common in males for some reason, and some studies suggest that it affects around 1 in 20 children. The increase in diagnosis of ADHD in recent years is a somewhat debated subject. Some believe doctors are over diagnosing the disorder to push pharmaceuticals. On the other side of the fence, the one I personally stand on, is that the understanding of ADHD has advanced to the point that we now know many of the warning signs better, and early treatment can significantly reduce the long term effects of ADHD.

About 2/3 of cases carry on into adolescence and adulthood, where it's effects can have further reaching consequences for one's professional and social life.

brainwave.png

ADHD in Adults

In adulthood, the hyperactivity aspect usually lessens, but a whole different set of problems can arise. Impulsivity and inattention can worsen, leading to problems with work and relationships.

While ADHD does not cause other mental disorders, it is common for adults with the disorder to exhibit other psychological conditions like mood, anxiety, and personality disorders. Substance abuse is also common in adults with untreated ADHD.

brainwave.png

ADHD isn't all bad, though...

While this disorder can wreak havoc on one's life, it can also be a blessing in disguise. Those with ADHD are typically known to be creative and forward thinking, because of the way our minds jump around from idea to idea. The Youtube channel AsapScience created a cool video about how ADHD might be an evolutionary advantage... isn't that an idea?

One of my new favorite YouTubers, How to ADHD, explains why having ADHD can be really cool, and while the whole disorder tends to leave us bored, we are nothing close to borING..

brainwave.png

This article, much like many before it, has taken me over 7 hours to write. This is mostly due to the fact that I've been distracted 150 times by the sound of a car outside, or that damn squirrel that keeps staring at me from the power line across the street... If you enjoyed this post, consider upvoting and/or resteeming it. I try very hard to deliver quality, original content, and often my posts fly under the radar. I'm still a growing minnow (actually just a redfish), and I could use all the help I can get! Now that I've gotten that out of the way, you have yourself a wonderful day!

Feel free to use the "brainwave" page divider I made for this post. I only ask that you give me credit the first time, then it's yours to keep! If you're interested in getting some custom page dividers or graphics for your blog, check out my recent SteemGigs:

Custom Page Dividers & Custom Blog Graphics

Ready to learn more? Read the 4th edition of my Super Cool Science S#!t series, all about Centaurs in Space

brainwave.png

Sources:

Sort:  

Thank you. It is terrible to read all this bad stuff about ADHD by people without any contact to adhd clients. I am a German psychiatrist and I have ADHD. It is important to get psychoeducation by people who know what they are writing or saying. Not by neurotypical people without any insight in the live of an adhd family

I completely agree. It's hard to take the word of someone who doesn't truly understand the condition first hand. It's incredibly misunderstood by many people who don't have it.

Yes - ADHD is my superpower. Like other superpowers I have special considerations, and I definitely have to organize my life in such a way to maximize the benefits of my superpower, and minimize the downsides, but we are who we are - and I will never be medicated again!

I am having ADHD since early childhood and I went through all the symptoms and consequences that come with it. School was horror to me and made me prolongue my stay there for entire 15 years until I finally finished high school. Over the next decade I had reoccurring nightmares about still going to school.

I never got any treatment, in fact there was non when I was still a child. As an adult I am super impulsive and have no problem with burning all bridges and turn 90° and just leave forever. To me this is a great thing and I am happy to be the person I am today. My daughter already develops the same symptoms and I am glad she does. I will never take that away from her! But I also learned from my pain and I will never put her in a regular school.

School was exactly the same for me. I dropped out as soon as I could because a rigid, structured institution like a school can be hell on a child or teenager with ADHD.

I never received treatment as a child either. I'm sure medications where available, and therapy has always been a thing, but my mother never consulted with doctors about it. Me being fidgety and hyper was just a thing. As I grew up, it started affecting every aspect of my life, from switching jobs and girlfriends constantly to risky decisions that could have left me changed forever... I can definitely relate to the ability to burn bridges and leave ideas or people in the past...

My four year old son certainly exhibits signs, though I haven't gotten him diagnosed. I already plan to homeschool, but if his symptoms worsen, I wouldn't think of putting him a "regular" school system...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70