You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Science and Psychology of ADHD

in #science7 years ago

I am having ADHD since early childhood and I went through all the symptoms and consequences that come with it. School was horror to me and made me prolongue my stay there for entire 15 years until I finally finished high school. Over the next decade I had reoccurring nightmares about still going to school.

I never got any treatment, in fact there was non when I was still a child. As an adult I am super impulsive and have no problem with burning all bridges and turn 90° and just leave forever. To me this is a great thing and I am happy to be the person I am today. My daughter already develops the same symptoms and I am glad she does. I will never take that away from her! But I also learned from my pain and I will never put her in a regular school.

Sort:  

School was exactly the same for me. I dropped out as soon as I could because a rigid, structured institution like a school can be hell on a child or teenager with ADHD.

I never received treatment as a child either. I'm sure medications where available, and therapy has always been a thing, but my mother never consulted with doctors about it. Me being fidgety and hyper was just a thing. As I grew up, it started affecting every aspect of my life, from switching jobs and girlfriends constantly to risky decisions that could have left me changed forever... I can definitely relate to the ability to burn bridges and leave ideas or people in the past...

My four year old son certainly exhibits signs, though I haven't gotten him diagnosed. I already plan to homeschool, but if his symptoms worsen, I wouldn't think of putting him a "regular" school system...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71