Pine & Pea Pollen under the Microscope 🔬

in #science6 years ago (edited)

pea & pine pollen.JPG

Following my previous vegetable pollen post, today we will be looking at pea and pine pollen. Honestly, I didn’t expect them to look so different to the vegetable pollen. In fact there are many more different looking types of pollen than I expected. It really is truly amazing how something so tiny look the same with the naked eye, yet so different under the microscope.

~~~~🌺~~~~🌺~~~~🌺~~~~


Image Credit: Pixabay, by ruslanababenko, by CC0 1.0
The pea flower is a pretty little thing don’t you think? When I searched up ‘pea pollen’, there doesn’t seem to be much information on it. In fact, Google thinks I misspelt it and keeps offering me ‘bee pollen’. Oh that reminds me, I purchased snow pea seeds quite some time ago which I have yet to use. It states on the package to be sowed by August this year. I better get planting soon.

~~~~🌺~~~~🌺~~~~🌺~~~~

Let us check out the pea pollen under the microscope. At first glance the shape reminded me of pills. But when you look closer you can see little bumps along the middle of the pill shaped pollen. It seems pretty bizarre.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-06-16-24-35.gif

Having a closer look and adjusting the iris diaphragm, it appears there are three little bumps per pollen along the middle cross section. Ah dammit, just saw I stuffed up the gif once again lol I was too focused on capturing the details on the pollen.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-06-16-28-12.gif

Time to check out the pine pollen.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-06-16-28-58.gif

This looks very similar to the vegetable pollen we had previously looked at. Except for the two slightly more transparent bubble looking things on each end. At first I thought maybe the pollen was germinating? However this was not true, those bubble like features are actually air sacks to help them travel further. Talk about an advance pollen.

Vesiculate Pollens: Pollens with air sacks to increase bouyancy. The sacks are typically two per grain at the bottom of the grain, but may also be doughnut shaped under the grain.

Vesiculate pollens are found in the Abies (Fir), Picea (Spruce), Pinus (Pine), Podocarpus (Podocarpus), and Tsuga (Hemlock). Source

Here is a closer look of the pollen.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-06-16-31-05.gif

~~~~🌺~~~~🌺~~~~🌺~~~~

Unless cited, all other imagines & gifs belong to @supersoju
References:
Pollen File

Sort:  

I wanted soja under the microscope after her shave.
I demand a close up of her grumpy face.

The pollen is my favorite

Wow, the air sacks on the pine pollen are amazing, nature is clever.

Damn, that pine pollen has airbags! I am seriously considering getting the pine tree cut down before it kills me one spring

hahahaha

Pine pollen was one of the first things I ever saw under my microscope and it holds a special place in my heart. Exactly correct about the air bags.

It's also often (but not always) the case that air dispersed pollen tends to have jagged features than pollen dispersed by insects and such. This also means it's often a less common allergen.

hehehe mine was onion cells and cheek cells lol pine pollen would have been more interesting as a first microscopic view.

It's also often (but not always) the case that air dispersed pollen tends to have jagged features than pollen dispersed by insects and such. This also means it's often a less common allergen.

Interesting information, thanks for sharing.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-06T08:37:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 228.20/200.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.33 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Source
Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61