Vegetable Pollen under the Microscope 🔬

in #science6 years ago (edited)

When I think of pollen, I think of allergies and hay fever. I also now think about the pollen basket the honey bee carries on its hind leg (as we had previously explored). I hate the smell of pollen that settles at dusk. It is extremely potent. A couple of times I had gone outside for less than a minute and ended up with swollen eyelids that last over 24 hours.

~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~

Veg pollen.JPG

Here I have a pre-prepared slide of ‘Vegetable Pollen’, hence the title of this post. I would like to state which vegetable but that is what was labelled on the slide. Silly I know. Anyways, let us check it out under the microscope.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-03-22-55-55.gif

Oh my I didn’t expect to see this. They look just like polka dots, kind of big looking too. It looks too perfect of a smooth circle to be real. Let us have a closer look.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-03-22-57-56.gif

Looking closer we can see it is not smooth. If you look carefully it appears fuzzy looking around the edges.

~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~

I have another pollen slide that is similar. The slide is labelled as ‘Pollen of brassica campestris var oleifera’. It is a plant that is found in China and was eaten during time of famine.

China: stems and leaves eaten. The plant is also the source of colza oil, which is used in cooking. Source

It is small yellow flowering plant with what looks like only four petals per flower. It is pretty looking, I wonder what the stem/leaves taste like.


~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-03-23-01-57.gif

Looking at this, instantly we can see how much smaller the pollen is compared to the previous sample. Here is a picture of them side by side under total magnification of 40x.

40x pollen.JPG

Quickly checking the pollen, they look very similar to the vegetable pollen sample. But just a much smaller version. Now when I think of pollen, I will not only think of allergies and hay fever, but polka dots!!!

~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~🌻~~~~

Note: Unless cited, all other images and gifs belong to @supersoju
References:
Brassica campestris var. oleifera

Sort:  

Noooo!

I know that feeling all too well :(

it’s difficult as it can happen at any time when outdoors.

The worst feeling ever! Watching this gif makes me want to sneeze too lol

This is actually very nice looking! I'm surprised. First I thought maybe it's a set of different vegetables and that's what makes it so colorful but then th brassica pollen is just like the other one! Interesting

It is pretty looking, this is the first time I've seen pollen under the microscope. I was very surprised too.

Wow, who knew there were such pretty colours!

They are pretty colours but only because they were stained for better viewing. But I wonder how it ended up with different colours if it is the same pollen....

Ahh allergies, I feel your pain. I too am allergic to pollen, add it to the list. But it does look pretty under the microscope.

hehehehe we have a lot of similarities 😉

I love looking at electron microscope pictures of pollen, that makes them look the way we allergic types feel. My worst is Jasmine. I just had to get rid of the massive bush of jasmine outside my bedroom window. This season was easier. Until the pine trees started releasing pollen :(

Oh, I don't think I've ever seen/come across a jasmine flower before. Or maybe I just didn't know it was. Eek, I have a pine pollen sample too. I'll be checking that out soon.

Jasmine is a creeper and one of the very first plants to flower in spring. Smells great but really gets my eyes itching. Picture from wikipedia

557px-Common_Jasmine.jpg

By i_am_jim - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=48516945

Oh, is that what jasmine looks like?! That looks like something we use to have outside along the fence!!! I remember it use to smell very strong during spring. EEK all this time!! lol

I feel like sneezing after reading this and I don’t even get hay fever!! I tried to type hay fever in writing this reply but my crappy typing kept being corrected as ‘Harpy Fever’. I might get those. Lol

hahahaha You're lucky you don't get hay fever.
lol harpy fever!!

I see colors!!! 😂

I wonder why everything looks the same to the untrained eye. I saw a post about plankton but it didn't have any color and I only saw/looked at the round ones instead of the planktons... I only know the Spongebob plankton. 😂

I think maybe you can use steemstem tag in the future too...

hehehe lol but it is fun to check things out close up, even if you don't know what to look out for. That's what makes it exciting.

Thanks @artgirl

I will be using steemstem tag only when I write a more detailed post that would be worthy of using the steemstem tag. This is more of a short fun microscopy post, I don't think using the steemstem tag would be suitable. Thanks for suggesting though 😊

Oh I see. Ok thanks too.

wowww!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-04T08:48:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 221.70/200.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61