Science writing break - music to rest your mind v. 3.0 - MGMT

in #science6 years ago (edited)

You cannot do science all the time! Today for my science break, I present you MGMT. So take a break geeks!

Rest your brain and listen to music. Ahhhh....

         Introduction 

Today, I will be presenting an amazing duo, MGMT a really cool band from“the states”. The band (Reference 1) is made up of Andrew VanWyngarden (lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass guitar, drums, percussion) and Ben Goldwasser (vocals, keyboards, guitar, percussion). Along the way we will listen to their music and give our mind a break from a life of science with a photo or two to keep things real.

Are we going to listen to their (i.e. MGMT's) new stuff?

Actually no. Sorry. MGMT plays a style of psychedelic pop. I prefer their "old" stuff and since I am writing this post, yes a real human and not AI or a bot, I want to keep it MGMT old school. From my previous posts you know that this style of music is great for taking a break (here's looking at you Tame Impala.

Hint (press play and listen whilst you read)...


“Oh girl, shock me...”
What decade is this from? The 1970's? Nah, the 2000's!


“Control yourself – take only what you need” - by far the most famous and played track.

Should we be only taking what we need?

Hmm. No. In this post we keep it old school because it is the most awesome and original stuff they made (to date).

Bonus Cover of the above track

Which is better? The original or the cover? Both are really cool.

Finally, last but not least, here is by far my favourite track by MGMT. "the youth"


"are you starting to change"

To me it is low fi, high colour, engaging and makes you think. Does the video make you think? Why does she slap him? Why are the youth starting to change? Or is everything just the same? To me it means many things, but the most important question is: "Are you starting to change?"

Much to think about, please tell me what you think below. As a bit of a break, here is a cool original photo of yaks I took in Central Asia:

Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 6.24.58 pm.png
Yaks are cool. These ones in a photo I took at about 3,500 m up in Central Asia are enjoying a warm summer day!

Conclusions

MGMT is an awesome band, it is a great band to take a break to. Put on your headphones and listen on!

Double bonus – cover of the the most famous track on this post.

Hope you enjoyed your break? If MGMT stop by where you live, please check them out and tell them @snowyknight sent you.
Ready for science again? Brain ready? Soul ready? Or shall we just keep listening to music? Music up and on and we all do better science together!

Here is a final thought:

MGMT, MGMT, MGMT, what's good for you, is good for me, music on, crank the tunes and weekend fun, brings up sad moods. I hope we can learn to make it together and change the world whilst doing it!

References:
Reference 1 - (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MGMT)[https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MGMT]

Words and mix copyright @snowyknight
If you enjoyed this please check out my blog. There I talk about bots, and music and science and poetry. Cheers!
For more real science please check out @steemstem and also @geopolis

Keep yaking!

Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 6.22.11 pm.png

Sort:  

Serious I'm not sure you can get away
from science! lol
Even in the marvelous magical music 🎶
It's everywhere! 🎵

Oh wow I love this new Yak photo!!!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you for the reminder @dustsweeper!
You are the best!! ❤

PS. hahaha. Glad you like the new yak photo!! Science is everywhere! Impossible to get away from us. Gravity, light, sound.

Sticking with the physics side of things, sounds is where it is at with MGMT...

Do you have a larger picture of these yaks?

Bigger size? :-)

Yes, but not with me, I'm away from my hard drive and only have the one I posted. Did you notice the eye on the leftmost yak?! HAHAHAHA! I will get it to you in the semi near future @shasta! Glad you liked it.

Curious what this little 100x100 photo of yours
would look like as your icon here, do you know
where to put it? :-)

yak100x100snowyknight47io.png

I did notice and the one with a rope over
half of its head! lol

Hahaha, yes but I've decided that although I could think of nothing better than that for an icon. I am going to go "post-modern" without any icon! hahaha...

Yes there was a rope on that one. Maybe she/he was trouble... But I am not really sure why...

Ah lol :-)

Perhaps a yaking escapee? haha

I was reading so I missed the slap, most likely got slapped because the person directing the video was an an angry person. But a nice sound, I would have thought more from the late 80's early 90's MTV era.

Glad to see you stopped by! Glad you like the sound too. Totally agree about the sound being from the 80's or 90's... have a great day!

Congratulations @snowyknight! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you very much for this badge and following me and my journeys though music, ideas, and the world.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66445.86
ETH 2588.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68