Tonights Total Lunar Eclipse

in #science7 years ago (edited)

I've just come in from watching the total lunar eclipse and thought I'd share my attempt at photographing the event. I hope everyone had clear skies to enjoy the spectacle as our earths shadow passed across the moon. Here in Tasmania it was clear but there was some thin high cloud so the photos may be a little grainier than I had hoped. You'll notice in the last two shots the beautiful red colouration.

All of the photos were taken with a Canon 7D and Canon EF 400mm f/5.6 lens.

Right Click / View Image to see a slightly larger version
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Eclipse 2018-=2-01 n1.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n2.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n3.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n4.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n5.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n6.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n7.jpg

Eclipse 2018-2-01 n8.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Small Longhorn Beetle Close Up

A Caterpillar With a Rather Macabre Hat

Seagulls Perform Circus Act

Wolf Spider With Her Multitude of Babies
Sort:  

Wow amazing photo buddy, good job

Thanks. Glad you liked them.

Wonderful photos! You had nice clear skies too! It clouded over here in Osaka just as the moon fully entered the umbra.

Thanks. Glad you got to see most of it.

Fantstic photos thanks for showing them. We actualy had a perfectly clear sky here on the west coast of Tasmania. Considering how much rain and clouds we have most of the time. Made for great viewing.

I didn't realise how often we had cloudy nights in Tasmania until I bought a telescope. I eventually gave up and sold it :-)

Nice work, do you think the 400mm lens is worth the money? The images are pretty clear, looks worth it for moon photos for sure.

I've had mine for about 10 years and I'm very happy with it. I mostly use it for birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45