Sensational Science Alert About A Disturbing CreaturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago

"The "unicorn of molluscs" is no myth" was the subtitle of this article I came across today. OMG, my first thought. Its an alien! Damn! Its some kind of  disturbing creature! What is that "Thing"and what benefit it is for the human race? Its a Giant Shipworm!

Its so grosse and it also stinks, I read! Quite an interesting find, our mother nature produced.

An international team of researchers were the first to investigate this never before studied species - a giant, black, mud dwelling, worm-like animal. - Source 

 Image Source 

"To me it was almost like finding a dinosaur," Distel says, "something that was pretty much only known by fossils. Amazing!" Distel told New Scientist. "I've been looking for them for 20 years. My friend and mentor Ruth Turner looked for her whole career."

Unicorn of mollusks’: scientists discover mysterious clam, edible and as big as a baseball bat, in Philippines lagoon

 Image Source 

For centuries, a slimy black tube-shaped creature the size of a  baseball bat has been eluding scientists. They'd examined its external  shell, but never laid eyes on the alien-like physique hidden inside -  until now, that is. Researchers have finally had a chance to study a living specimen of the giant shipworm (Kuphus polythalamia), which, despite its name, is not actually a worm, but a bivalve – a kind of aquatic mollusc enclosed in its shell, and a decidedly mysterious breed at that.- Source from Sciencealert

Image Source 

The animal, which grows up to about 90 centimetres (roughly 3 feet)  in length, lives upside down in its shell, most of which is submerged  beneath mud in shallow bays in the Philippines. Its head and mouth are located at the base of the shell, deep within  the mud – and were it not for the tell-tale tip of the shell indicating  where these planted molluscs were holed up, the giant shipworm might  have successfully eluded scientists for another couple of centuries.



I leave you with this find and rethink my breathing techniques instead :) Yuuuk!!!

"Observe  your own body. It breathes. You breathe when you are asleep, when you  are no longer conscious of your own ideas of self-identity. Who, then, is breathing? The collection of  information that you mistakenly think is you is not the main protagonist  in this drama called the breath. In fact, you are not breathing; breath  is naturally happening to you. You can purposely end your own life, but  you cannot purposely keep your own life going. The expression, “My  life”, is actually an oxymoron, a result of ignorance and mistaken  assumption. You don’t posses life; life expresses itself through you.  Your body is a flower that life lets bloom - a phenomenon created by  life.” Ilchi Lee
 

Yours 

Mammasitta 

  

My visit to the Natural History Museum in Vienna is still in my mind



Sort:  

I was just about to have dinner!

Make it a breakfast instead :)

@mammasitta I regret clicking and scrolling down
YUCK!!!
nightmares huhuhu

Hahha !!! Go go go 😜

@mammasitta - it reminds me of the sea lamprey

source

was watching this last night on the tv show River Monsters
eek~~~

OMG More nightmares for me tonight BUT i find those alien like animals really fascinating . Do you have a link?

Very interesting. I will like to research further to determine how it gets nutrients and oxygen. And what are the tentacles at it's base?

Yes please do so because I had to stop researching, wanting to throw up. Let me know what you find out .

[: Oh look, time to add more to my irrational fear of bodies of water.

Oh dear , I felt just the same way, tried to overcome and face my fear in writing this article. It didn't help 🙀

I couldn't even really look at the photos when I wrote the summery of all articles circulating but was very interested in that alien like "umbilical cord "

This first thing I thought when I saw it was, "Is that a geoduck?" The hard shell it creates indicated otherwise though, and I see it's a very different creature. I was right in guessing it was a mollusk though!

whatever it is , its the nightmare of my next dreams :)

Wikipedia :

Bivalvia, in previous centuries referred to as the Lamellibranchiata and Pelecypoda, is a class of marine and freshwater molluscs that have laterally compressed bodies enclosed by a shell consisting of two hinged parts. Bivalves as a group have no head and they lack some usual molluscan organs like the radula and the odontophore. They include the clams, oysters, cockles, mussels, scallops, and numerous other families that live in saltwater, as well as a number of families that live in freshwater. The majority are filter feeders.

"Gooeyducks" as the name is pronounced are considered a delicacy. Haunt THEIR dreams!

Not doing raw seafood. The deep-fried breaded slices might be worth a shot though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54