Was the Lunar Landing Fake? The Earth is FLAT?

in #science8 years ago

Now and then I run by a conspiracy theory, and either I laugh it off or try to investigate it a little to see where it's coming from and what's the reason behind it.

In recent years I have noticed how much we have taken things for granted. How we have fallen to programming by the media, that I started to question things more than usual. No I am not falling for every hoax or crazy theory, but when some questions do come up, especially when it's related to science, I like to explore it more now than before. As I get older I have time do so more often now I guess.

There is an increasing trend of questioning some of the most basic of scientific theories like gravity. Or a number of other scientific facts, is it because we lack trust in our governments that we start to question what we are taught in schools or colleges?

I'll present you with these videos I recently watched on YouTube and would like to hear what you think:

This one here is funny:

Sort:  
Loading...

The earth must be flat: Shaquille O'Neal says so

What other proof do you need?

😈

Shaq is the ultimate authority on science, you make a good point.

The Hall of Famer and TNT analyst says he drives from Florida to California on a regular basis and that "it's flat to me."

Did we go to the moon? Absolutely, we left evidence behind that was testable. We were there. There is no doubt what so ever. Is the earth a sphere? Yes absolutely, the laws of physics and its own behavior confirm that it is. Beyond this, we are in space, satellites work, the ISS orbits the planet (I've seen it WITH MY OWN EYES and a telescope as it went overhead). These wouldn't be possible with a differently shaped planet... plus the variance in forces of a non uniform shape would be so easily detectable. People don't propose the earth is a sphere, its not a hypothesis, it's a confirmed scientific fact.

People that propagate the false hypothesis (yeah that's right, flat earth isn't a theory, because it isn't supported by REAL data) either want attention, are easily deceived, or are obsessed with finding out that they are being lied to.

I am getting kinda bored talking about this so damn often on Steemit.

Anyone can say bullshit. A title of "scientific" does not prevent it from doing so. Discussion, observation of facts or common sense? And yet, I seem to have traveled around the earth without seeing the edge! I'll ask that to my travel agent!

the earth is not flat! its an octahexatrianglesquare. the moon is not real! its a cheese hologram projected by the lizard people!! the troof is out der!

lets try and have two sides to the conversation I know where you come from now. :D

of course the earth is flat.

care to provide us with some scientific evidence? or at least evidence of some sort? :D

It is ridiculous and saddening that these ideas are even being discussed at such a large scale. Thanks Internet!

Do not say that, everything is open for discussion. I'd rather discuss this than religious stuff.

But debating whether or not the world is round? COME ON PEOPLE!

What's next? I think gravity is not real. Let's test it. You jump off of the Empire State Building and see what happens. I'll wait at the bottom for your answer ;)

That was not the idea of this discussion, it's more geared towards the fact that people no longer trust their governments to the point of questioning the basics of science. I want to hear their point of view not just the government is always lying. Who knows maybe there is scientific evidence we missed after all.

Not trying to come off as rude. I didn't actually watch the videos.

I suspect a large part of the issue is poor education and the inability to think critically. All of the conspiracy theories you mention in the post can be tested by almost anyone.

Some of the people in those videos are actual scientists or people who worked for NASA. I know dismissing it is easy based on what we know. But what do we really know, in fact most of the scientific theory that's coming up now looks more like science fiction. Some are so complicated and hard to understand, do not be surprised if some of what we already learned as proven science is someday revisited and labeled a myth.

I've read that flat earthers actually do not believe in gravity. So... yeah.

But how can it be flat when it's hollow?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79