(IJCH) The Human Eye and Vision - Dusting Off Old Brain Cells (or How I Still Love Teaching!) Props to @zen-art!

in #science6 years ago

(IJCH) The Human Eye and Vision - Dusting Off Old Brain Cells (or How I Still Love Teaching!) Props to @zen-art!

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

business-handshake.jpg
Source (Base Source)

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

I just read this excellent article by @zen-art called:

"How do we see colors - physics explained"


Source

Here's the article link:

https://steemit.com/science/@zen-art/how-do-we-see-colors-physics-explained#@jaichai/re-zen-art-how-do-we-see-colors-physics-explained-20180623t011133869z

The article prompted me to submit this comment to @zen-art:

Source

(To @zen-art)

Your article activated some brain cells that I haven't used for decades.

Since "the old tongue loves to wag", please indulge me.

I have 5 minutes and feel like rambling...

(Starting stopwatch now.)

I used to be an Aviation Medicine and Aerospace Physiology technician in the military.

In charge of Flight Medicine for my unit, my duties included eye exams, vision tests and refractions for the pilots and aircrew of my unit.

Source

BTW, performing eye exams in those days, especially in an operational setting, really sucks!

Usually, all I had available was an ancient opthalmoscope, soon-to-be-expired tetracaine (anesthetic eye drops) and a clumsy schiotz tonometer - a device placed directly on a numbed eyeball to measure IOP - intraocular pressure.

Source

Needless to say, IOP measurements via a tonometer in the field or onboard ship often resulted in painful corneal abrasions that weren't felt until the tetracaine wore off.

Anyway, if I remember correctly...

Color Blindness

Source

Partial or total inability to perceive color (color deficiency and color blindness, respectively) is due to photopigment abnormalities in the cone cells (one of two kinds of photoreceptor cells in mammalian retinas).

It is normally due to heredity, but can be caused by trauma and exposure to caustic chemicals.

Genetically based color deficiency and color blindness is much more common in males since it's manifestation is recessive in nature (meaning: if one dominant gene is present, the condition does not manifest) and carried on the X chromosome.

The other type of photoreceptor cell in the retina is called the rod cell.

Source

Although rod cells are much more sensitive to light, they are incapable of distinguishing color. Consequently, rod cells are employed in dimly lit to almost dark settings (dusk, twilight, dawn).

To remember which cell did what, I was taught in the military this phrase:

"For the lucky ones, the rods come out at night."

Neat facts:

Similar to various types of insects, dogs and cats may have ultraviolet vision.

Source

Source

The majority of snake species (especially those in the constrictor category) can see in the infrared spectrum.

Source

(Stopwatch beeping, 5 minute time limit is up.)

Whew!

I should stop here with this Anatomy and Physiology lecture, no?

Thanks for letting me dust off some old brain cells.

Damn! I miss my teacher, instructor, "absent-minded professor" days!

Source

By JaiChai

Thanks for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

400.jpg
Source

If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.

"I appreciate all your support!"

Namaste, Jaichai

Sort:  

Highly instructive, I enjoyed it thoroughly,
including your mini autobiography !!!

Thanks for the kind words.

Namaste, JaiChai

Congratulations @jaichai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hihihi, In a way, I made you do this :) And I am so happy I inspired you. Do more of these educational posts, steemit needs more educators and I do suggest you join us over in the discord Steemit Education https://discord.gg/abrk9Pe

I am glad to be among the luck people that will read this fact about colour blindness in your blog. Thanks a lot

Thank you very much for visiting, commenting and of course, your kind words.

Namaste, jaiChai

You are welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44