Ever wondered what pursuing a career in science is like? The perks and disadvantages of being a natural science researcher.

in #science7 years ago (edited)


"Did I make the right career choice?" Is a question many of us ask ourselves at some point in our lives. Sometimes we wonder what it would be like to have the lifestyle of someone with a certain job that sounds interesting. 

My involvement with science started very early, fostered by my parents who studied Biology themselves and by my grandfather, a Renaissance man with an insatiable curiosity for understanding how things work, from a diesel engine to photosynthesis in plants. The story of how I developed a love for science since my childhood days might be interesting to some, but that will be the subject of another post.

So far, I have spent almost half of my life deeply immersed in science theory and practice. Despite it having some considerable downsides, I mostly like it and find it very inspiring, even though sometimes it can be really unnerving.

Ever wondered what pursuing a career in science is like? I must note that my experience is on the field of basic research, as the work conditions of people working on applied science or closer to the industry might be quite different. Here are some of the biggest perks and disadvantages of working as a natural scientist:     

The Good:


Travelling for free or very cheap, sometimes to unexpected destinations, due to conferences, meetings, collaborations or other special events.

Skiing in the Austrian Alps during one of our lab retreats.

Visiting the lost city of Petra, in Jordan, as a day trip activity during a Symposium. Can you spot me in the group?

Opportunity to live in some of the most interesting cities in the world, filling your life with exciting discoveries and adventure.

That's how I ended up in my dream city, Berlin! This was taken during a speaker's dinner after an international conference on novel strategies to fight cancer.

Stimulating intellectual environment: Being constantly challenged with new and interesting knowledge, as well as having to come up with strategies and hypotheses to solve problems, keeps things exciting and your brain in top shape!

Meeting interesting people with very diverse backgrounds from all over the world; opportunity to learn a lot about other cultures and mindsets, broaden your taste and knowledge and becoming more open-minded.

Flexible schedule and lack of a dress-code. As long as you get the work done in time and form, usually nobody really cares about your looks or work schedule.

And the not so good...


Low wages compared to the amount of work you actually do. Also, short contracts that make for job instability and an often nomadic lifestyle, having to relocate frequently in order to find a job position that suits you.

Endless frustration. You will work long hours for unpredictable returns; sometimes things don't work no matter how much effort and time you put into them and it all just feels like a HUGE waste of time.

Really awkward people with antisocial tendencies which makes for some really uncomfortable interactions. Also, some people just cannot shut up about science and there is no way to make them talk about other subjects.

Blurry or sometimes nonexistent work-life delimitation. Also, depending on your boss, things like working during weekends and holidays can be either appreciated, encouraged or even expected. This is without any extra monetary compensation, of course.

In the end, I believe that there is no such thing as the "perfect" job. One of the lessons that I have learned throughout the years is that everything in life is a trade-off; every decision you make, no matter how ideal and beneficial for your life it seems, will unavoidably close the door to other possibilities. The key is making sure —in as much as you can—  that the overall balance is positive for you, that the sacrifices are worth the end result.

In short, no job is all fun and games all the time; you just have to find the one that has the right balance for you. Also, I think it is very important to try and get first hand experience in the field you are interested in by volunteering and doing internships —that way you will get a taste of what the job is really like, and could make a more informed decision about it being right for you or not. The grass is always greener on the other side, but when you find yourself there, you might find that it feels very different than you expected!

This is a really interesting topic, so I would love to know about your personal experiences. 

For those who work in science: What has your experience been like so far, was it the right choice for you? Do you agree with the perks and disadvantages that I listed (or have others to add to the list)?

For everyone: What do you think would be your ideal job? Have you had the opportunity to experience it, and if you did, did it live up to your expectations?


Cheers, have a stellar rest of the week...

Irime
 

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this. I really feel you especially now while I am having some of my busiest days ever working 14 hours per day and nearly sleeping in the office :P.

It's not as rosy as some sci-fi movies makes it look to put it that way :P But at the end, I am both happy and proud about what I do, and contributing to the progress I want to see in the world. Which is enough to get me up in the mornings at least. :)

@fredrikaa Exactly! When you have a sense of purpose and can see the tangible results of your efforts, all the hard work involved becomes less of a burden.

However, even though the everyday work is really a lot more tedious and grinding than Hollywood films make it up to be, it also has its moments of indulgence and glamour, right? ;-)

Good to see you around!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post!

If you accept this, you'll be nominated and the members of the OCD team will vote on whether we'll feature your post in our next compilation post.

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


I'm mostly curating in #science and am always glad to see quality posts like yours peeking out between the garbage and plagiarism!

Of course I accept, and thank you for your curation efforts, @suesa!

My cousin is getting her PhD in Pharmacology at UPenn. She debates about working corporate or staying in academia all the time. I debate about going back into academia and leaving corporate. The grass is always greener on the other side. I work long hours as well but get to travel the world. However, in sales, i'm forced to network, drink, and mingle (i'm introverted). Often times this is with people I would normally never mingle with.

My cousin does all this testing on genetics through mice. Unstressed mice vs. stressed mice. Apparently a stressed male mouse that mates and has offspring, the offspring are more likely to be less susceptible to stress compared to normal male mouse who mates. Basically if the male mouse mates while severely stressed, his children handle stress better. Obviously this isn't exactly applicable to humans but that is the goal of her study, to somehow correlate it.

I'm a big history buff and love that picture in Jordan. It reminds me of Indiana Jones and the last crusade.

That mouse study sounds amazing! I would really like to know about the outcome once the trial is finished (although I know first hand how much time that can take!). Truly interesting and really relevant for all of us.

About the grass being greener, it always comes as a trade-off: Academia offers more freedom on the way you conduct your work, but the salary is much less than those offered in industry; there's also the matter of job instability.

(By the way, I really relate to what you wrote about mingling; I am an introvert as well and during conferences that last more than a couple of days I really need to push myself to try to "network" and connect with people, but I still take as many opportunities as I can to get some alone time instead of tagging along with the group 24/7. And after the whole ordeal is finished I always feel like I need to "detox" from too much social interaction for at least one day)

Visiting Petra was such an amazing experience, and surely, I also got that feeling of "must watch Indiana Jones now" haha!

Yes. The mingling and sales part of having to be outgoing is surprising to many who don't understand introverts. People at work think i'm a social butterfly but they don't realize outside of work, I rarely go out (i exhaust myself from work so I mostly just stay home). Even when I hang out with my friends, people think i'm very closed, reserved and standoff-ish but if you catch me at a conference or traveling for work, i'm one of the friendliest people you'll meet. Two sides of a coin.

My cousin is wrapping up her PhD this year I believe. This was her last article on her research below. She mentioned that human research would take lifetimes to study and that's why they use mice (their brains mature significantly faster than humans).

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/316362040_Strained_in_Planning_Your_Mouse_Background_Using_the_HPA_Stress_Axis_as_a_Biological_Readout_for_Backcrossing_Strategies

Will keep you posted!

Yeah, there are ups and downs in every science profession, I imagine. I have a cousin who works in Alaska, tagging salmon and studying them year after year. She encountered a bear one time, and unfortunately, she had to shoot the bear as a self-defense measure. She felt terrible afterward, and I imagine it still affects her in some ways. Cheers to you for your efforts to make the world a better place.

Oh, that's an awful thing to deal with, indeed, but I am glad she was physically unharmed. It takes a lot of dedication and courage to be a natural scientist going out into the wilderness to carry out field work like that.

Thank you for your comment! And cheers back ;-)

Agreed. The perfect job does not exist. Fortunately for us, the notion of a lifelong career is fading with time, and in its place, it seems that individuals are choosing themselves and deciding to become consultants, or only join teams/projects that align with their interests. Every role will have its unique pros/cons, we just have to make sure the scale is leaning in favor of pros. Nice write up!

@maven360 Thank you! What you say is something that I have been giving a lot of thought lately: I have been wondering about ways to spin my knowledge and experience in Science to craft some sort of job that I feel more satisfied with (have found that laboratory work is not for me). Still searching, but now we have more options than ever, that's for sure.

Very clear pros/cons list, thanks for sharing! It sounds like there are a few similarities with software engineers. I have a good friend who's a marine biologist, and I do envy her days doing field work, but the lack of certainty and constant begging for grant money sound like a bummer.

@therovingreader It certainly is. All the administrative/politics side of it can be a real pain (maybe the topic for another post). I'm sure that being a marine biologist is not really like having a perpetual beach holiday, but surely they get to see some awesome wonders of nature!

LOVED IT, thanks for sharing hows the life for a science person.

I am an IT person though.

Nominated your post for whaleshare minnow support contest. You can check it here : https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@akrid/3vokxd-whaleshares-minnow-support-contest-nominate-and-win

@thatindianlady Thank you so much for such nice feedback and for the nomination! I will take a look for sure :-)

My pleasure. :)

Scientist walked by, stay in steemit cause of low pay lol
no regrets for science~

I know! But hey, I have to supplement my low scientific income with something other than free seminar coffee, right? ;-)

A weak man is just by accident. A strong but non-violent man is unjust by accident.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Completely unrelated to the topic of my article, but an interesting thought nevertheless.

This is definitely the lifestyle I want- it's a big part of why I'm going to school for geology.

@mountainwashere Great to know other fellow Steemians with scientific inclinations!

I must make the disclaimer, though, that all the free traveling that I have been fortunate to experience has come due to joining institutions and research teams with big budgets (plus studying in a country that invests a lot in Science). There's no way I would have been able to afford all that myself!

I'm sure that as a geologist you would get to travel to all sorts of amazing places.

Definitely! I already have been to some really cool places, and I'm just a student.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48