Ever wondered what 48 hours of total darkness isolation would do to you?

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Well it turns out, that it makes you hallucinate BIG TIME! The hallucinations were not only visually either, auditory and touch sensory was affected by the total darkness.

This was covered by BBC. Three participants were put into sound proof, total dark, and unchanging rooms. Its safe to say that they were extremely weirded out by the experience. After they emerged from the rooms the three participants were put through a rigorous series of task that they had to perform.

I found this very amusing. I have been interested in the affects of isolation on the human mind for quite sometime. Not only the negative effects, but beneficial uses of controlled isolation, to kind of clean out the mind, and get to know yourself a little better. Without all of the external distractions in our daily lives.

Enjoy!

Part 1 of 3 - Entering in.


Part 2 of 3 - Coming out.

Part 3 of 3 - Final thoughts.
.

Do you have anything to add to this? Or you can just tell me your thoughts about this.
Thank you for taking the time to read, and engage with me.
If you choose to resteem, let me know and I will resteem back. Thanks!

Checkout my last couple of post! :)

Follow me @intrepidthinker

I always have to try and spread the love, give my peoples a follow too.
@matt-a(sweet music you've never heard of\computer genius)
@robrigo(another computer genius\ the guy who introduced me to Steemit)
@kotturinn(cool Russian girl\always making some good food)
@modernnomad(a good friend of mine\newcomer to Steemit)
@aprilwyatt(@modernnomad's woman\newcomer)

Sort:  

Nice post, Jessie! Man, I would never want to experience this. Although it would be interesting life experience, my god, it sounds absolutely tortuous.

Imagine if you took it to the next level and was restrained completely, not allowed food or water. No movement of hands, fingers, eyelids, etc. Yeah, I gotta stop thinking about this hahaha

All I gotta say about this is uhh . . .

NO THANKS.

Thanks! Imagining anything further than that would probably have some long lasting consequence. Haha like you said i would only do it for the experience.

They should try this with more mindful and conscience aware individuals like monks aboriginal shaman , artists, or even an already blind man .....Defintley alot you could throw at this study

It would definitely be a different ball game if they did. There is a lot to learn about how the mind works when it comes to isolation. Your mind starts doing all kinds of strange things when put under pressure.

Congratulations @intrepidthinker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks for letting me know @steemitboard! This boosted my spirits a little!

Here, have a $1.02 worth of Steem spirit boost while you're at it, cuz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49