#SteemTubeExperiment Star Trek and Isaac Asimov, How Science Fiction Inspires Innovation

in #science8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers,

I'm a huge Science Fiction fan. But how much does SciFi influence and inspire innovation? In this video I share some thoughts on Star Trek, Isaac Asimov and more great stories that deeply influenced my life.

My question to you

What are the Science Fiction stories and books that influenced you the most and why?

The #SteemTubeExperiment

I'm a best-selling author, internet creator and I manage a community of hundreds of YouTube superstars.
Federico Pistono on Steemit
This is the third post of the series "The SteemTubeExperiment: bringing YouTube superstar creators to Steem".

  • I will post a selection of my YouTube videos on Steem (#SteemTubeExperiment), recording the results and feedback
  • I will document the process and challenges I find as a creator on Steem
  • If my experience on Steemit is positive, I will tell other superstar YouTubers about it

Where to find me:

Sort:  

To your question - the most important author for me is Stanislaw Lem, he wrote a lot of truly great books. "The Invincible" for example, contains a realistic scenario of evolution of self-replicating machines.
And the "Summ of technology", of course, which is more philosophical and fundamental.

Also "Dune" by Frank Herbert (I don't like the movie tho), because it shows how bad the lost of a balance could be.

"Rendezvous with Rama" novel by Arthur C. Clarke, because of that full dive into the cold alien atmosphere of hi-tech, that looks closer to our civilisation nowadays.

And Strugatsky brothers are really good, the favourite book is "Hard to Be a God" (movie is surprisingly good too), that shows how religion and other instruments of control are able to destroy the emerging scientific disciplines and enlightenment. (as we can see it around gene modification today)

"Foundation" cycle by Isaac Asimov - well, it touches a lot of problems!
"The Drowned World" by James Ballard is also contains some topical for our future on this planet themes - such as global warming, for example.

Well, nothing new in this list - oldies, but goodies:)

Great list. Would you add Hitchhiker's Guide to Galaxy?

Why not:) Actually, there is a lot to add in this list, this ones is just the top of the iceberg.

As I already said, it is a lot to add in this list.
For me this particular books was the first that pop up in my head after reading the question in @federicopistono article, but they are not the only one.
Which Silverberg's book you considered the best then? He is a very productive author, a lot to choose from:)

Well, I always recommend to start with this: It's his most famous short story and one of the BEST short stories every written.

http://escapepod.org/2012/11/08/ep369-passengers/

To answer your question.

Spirited away. That movie was just something else, I can't even explain but you have to experience it yourself if you haven't watched it yet. Hope you like anime.

Btw great thing you are doing with SteemTube!

I am very much into Star Wars and my passion for it grows more and more every time the film industry uses something that was first seen in the star wars movies, such as the trilogy format that was first introduced by Star Wars and later adopted by Matrix, Back to the Future and Indiana Jones. Also the iconic, strong female character Leia and the analogy to Katniss Everdeen, Trinity and Imperator Furiosa. Or the Humanoid Robots like C-3PO and R2D2 whose concept was adopted in Futurama, Star Trek and The Hitchhiker's guide to the Galaxy.

I'm a major sci-fi fan too, but I find they don't really influence me, or stay with me long after. Some of my favourite sci-fi are films too - visuals are very impactful in creating landscapes which are not natural to us. With that said, some of my favorites are 2001: A Space Odyssey, Ubik and Blade Runner.

Good production value on the video by the way, great quality, and well lit. :) Keep it going, I'm rooting for #SteemTubeExperiment.

Excellent video!! To answer your question - What are the Science Fiction stories and books that influenced you the most and why?

  • Moon (Movie) - Because the story was a unique take on lonliness, and without CGI the movie was extremely immersive
  • Blade Runner - Because as time goes on, high level AI is becoming a more and more possible. Flying cars though, whatever lol
  • Slaughterhouse Five - Kurt Vonnegut Book - Because it's the best book ever written, of course!

So it goes..

hey! From your post I think you'll enjoy reading this. I don't shamless plug but i hope you like it :)

https://steemit.com/books/@razvanelulmarin/sci-fi-book-hunting-in-post-communism-romania-my-story

@federicopistono I would love a future without money, and I think we will eventually get there. I see basic income as a stepping stone towards that goal. A replicator and hollow deck would be awesome.

Everyone should also check out

Fiction is the new and old trend, that's where storys and moves is born.

Personally I think Neil Stephenson's work is fantastic. I started with Snow Crash but Cryptonomicon was a mind changer. He's always investigating the latest technology advancements and coupling it with imagination. Latest work has taking a little time to engage. image

"Hard to be a God" (Russian: Трудно быть богом, Trudno byt' bogom) is a 1964 science fiction novel by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky, incredibly atmospheric thing, re-read from time to time
"Deathworld 2" (1964, initially titled The Ethical Engineer) by Harry Harrison ,while reading had the feeling that my thoughts and the thoughts of the author coincide in the view on many things.
"Nineteen Eighty-Four", often published as "1984", is a dystopian novel by English author George Orwell ,
"Orphans of the Sky" is a science fiction novel by Robert A. Heinlein - A lot of things to think about

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64