Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #12 Report w/Original PhotossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Citizen science is a great way to involve children and adults in discovery and contribute to scientific research and conservation. Project FeederWatch through Cornell University is a great way to get involved in citizen science. You can learn more at the Project FeederWatch website.

I typically watch birds on Saturday and Sunday. This is my report from my eastern Nebraska feeder site for 28-29 January 2017.


Created Using MS PowerPoint and Images from Project FeederWatch

January 2017

The 2016-2017 season goes through 7 April 2017.

Bird Watching Notes

Saturday

Saturday morning dawned with colorful clouds.


Original Photo

As far as bird watching Saturday was muted because I was not the only one watching the bird feeders.

Cooper's Hawk

As I found out, a Coopers Hawk was also watching my bird feeders. I went down to the basement to take this picture.


Original Photo

More photographs of the Cooper's Hawk I spied are here.


Image Source

Downy Woodpecker


Original Photo


Image Source

Sunday

Sunday was a very active day at the bird feeders. The squirrels even came out too.


Original Photo

More squirrel photographs can be found here.

Northern Flicker

This is the first Northern Flicker I have observed for 2017.


Original Photo


Image Source

Bird Counts

Counts for Current Period

My bird counts for the two-day period 28 - 29 January 2017.


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

Summary of Counts this Season


Snapshot from Project FeederWatch Bird Count Summary

CORRECTION: (15-Feb-2017) I got a ruling from Cornell University regarding the identification of the hawk. I did not know whether it was a Sharp-Shinned Hawk or a Cooper's Hawk. It is hard for a layman to determine the difference. Cornell University has positively identified the hawk as a Cooper's Hawk. I will be updating all my previous count records to reflect this.

Previous Project FeederWatch Post

Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #11

Use of Original Photos

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photographs.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What a great sunrise! Did it rain later that day? I'm always curious whether the "red sky at morning, sailors take warning" holds true for folks. I have found it generally works, but like so much weather folklore, not always.

Nice to see a sharp-shinned hawk -- and how convenient for it to sit by a window! I know they scare the little birds off the feeder, but it is nice seeing a bird of prey up close like that. Do you find many feathers around your yard?

Yes, the day of the red sunrise did rain/snow. None of the snow accumulated.

I have found feathers in my yard before from a kill. But I have not found any feathers this year.

I have been told that there are a nesting pair of Bald Eagles in the area too. I have not been able to identify them flying about yet. So in addition to the coyotes that have moved in, there is another predator bird about.

Steem on,
Mike

Good luck in seeing your eagles! All that effort back in the 1970s and 80s to get DDT out of their foodchain has really paid off! I don't think eagles are nearly as fearful of people and towns as folks all thought.

And if you have predators, then you have some good wildlife habitat! Happy birding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43