You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #12 Report w/Original Photos

in #science8 years ago

What a great sunrise! Did it rain later that day? I'm always curious whether the "red sky at morning, sailors take warning" holds true for folks. I have found it generally works, but like so much weather folklore, not always.

Nice to see a sharp-shinned hawk -- and how convenient for it to sit by a window! I know they scare the little birds off the feeder, but it is nice seeing a bird of prey up close like that. Do you find many feathers around your yard?

Sort:  

Yes, the day of the red sunrise did rain/snow. None of the snow accumulated.

I have found feathers in my yard before from a kill. But I have not found any feathers this year.

I have been told that there are a nesting pair of Bald Eagles in the area too. I have not been able to identify them flying about yet. So in addition to the coyotes that have moved in, there is another predator bird about.

Steem on,
Mike

Good luck in seeing your eagles! All that effort back in the 1970s and 80s to get DDT out of their foodchain has really paid off! I don't think eagles are nearly as fearful of people and towns as folks all thought.

And if you have predators, then you have some good wildlife habitat! Happy birding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42