I Am Not the Only One Watching My Bird Feeders (Original Photos in Sequence)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

On Friday I went to fill up my bird feeders. As I was walking toward my feeders I startled a Cooper's Hawk sitting in my Magnolia tree next to the house.

During the day on Saturday I looked out to see if there were any birds at my feeders. Surprisingly there were no birds to be seen. I wondered if the hawk was in my Magnolia tree again. I went down to the basement and looked out the window to see the hawk sitting there in the tree. I grabbed my camera and took a few snapshots.

Photographs taken 28 January 2017 in eastern Nebraska.

Cooper's Hawk


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/5.6; 1/320 sec; ISO 320; 200mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm

CORRECTION: (15-Feb-2017) I got a ruling from Cornell University regarding the identification of the hawk. I did not know whether it was a Sharp-Shinned Hawk or a Cooper's Hawk. It is hard for a layman to determine the difference. Cornell University has positively identified the hawk as a Cooper's Hawk.

Use of Photographs

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photograph.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

So your bird cafe turned into a depot for hawk food...

That's one way of looking at it :)

Everyone is trying to survive... the hawk is no different.

To the best of my knowledge I have not seen any evidence of the hawk getting any of the birds at my feeders in the last week.

Animals always seem to go where the food is. For the past several years there has been an explosion in the rabbit population. Last year a coyote was spotted in the area for the first time. This year there are two known coyotes in the area and the rabbit population is way down.

Steem on,
Mike

Yes, you're right; it's just nature doing its thing. I've seen the same thing in my neck of the woods: wild rabbits move in and then come the coyotes (and foxes.)

Those are some wonderful photos though I do feel bad for all the hungry little tweeter birds that are hungry.

Some birds did show up at my feeders but not nearly as many as I have seen in the past.
Toward evening, I did see a few more birds at my feeders but they were very nervous. I think I would be too after seeing the hawk's talons.

Steem on,
Mike

We have the same situation here in NJ. I was wondering if a hawk could also put the smackdown on one of the half dozen squirrels that monopolize our bird feeders?

The squirrels here are intimidated by the hawk. However, the squirrels still eat at the feeders when the hawk is around. I think squirrels are more fearful of eagles.

The coyotes in the area are having an effect on the wildlife. They have cut down on the rabbit population. And I used to have three squirrels raiding my feeders, now I only have one squirrel raiding my feeders. It could be that squirrel is the fastest squirrel in the area. But if it keeps fattening up on peanuts and birds seed, it may not be the fastest squirrel for long :)

Steem on,
Mike

very cool pics!

Thank you!

I have not cleaned that window for taking pictures through it in quite a while. But the photographs did come out well. You are never sure when the opportunity will arrive again, so I took the chance of shooting through a dirty window.

Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45