You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NSAIDs Like Ibuprofen May Significantly Increase Your Chance Of A Heart Attack

in #science7 years ago

@justtryme90 That's quite an expose!

I don't take crap I mean .. pharma meds
herbs and water do the trick
even my doctor says that - take a lot of water + rest ;)

IMHO pharma meds always have side effect/s don't they? They heal whichever aching part of your body and kill the filters - the organs suffer all the time or one organ - mostly the kidney.
Way back a long time ago - they just used plants - now they call those who administer homeopathy quack the herbal doctors -too but actually there are still many places specially in Asia - that don't take crap I mean pharma meds and they're just fine - specially in China.

Sort:  

It is important to keep all things in perspective still I think.

IMHO pharma meds always have side effect/s don't they?

Everything has side effects, even something as simple as table salt.

Way back a long time ago - they just used plants - now they call those who administer homeopathy quack the herbal doctors -too but actually there are still many places specially in Asia - that don't take crap I mean pharma meds and they're just fine - specially in China.

Do you know what western medicine calls herbal remedies that work? Medicine.

Herbal remedies often have toxicity issues just like anything else (they aren't studied as much so less is known about them), One caveat to this for those who live in the US when you purchase an herbal supplement, there is no guarantee that you are even getting what you think you are (they are not regulated, nor required to include what they claim as an ingredient, and not shockingly many supplements do not have what you are paying for at all).

I will be honest and state that this study is not sufficient for me to stop using Ibuprofen, as I certainly don't take it with any sort of regularity. Were I a chronic user of Ibuprofen I may have a conversation with my doctor about potential alternatives, but really taking care of ones health is complicated.

I wouldn't trust my health to herbal medicine, if I had done that I would be dead long ago. :)

I am a scientist after all, I trust the answers derived through the scientific method and rigorous analytical testing. I also support continued testing to further reinforce whether what we think is okay, truly is.

@justtryme90 I respect your choice don't get me wrong
and yes not everything that claims or are tagged "herbal" do cure disease some are really quacks - am referring to mostly fresh pick herbs (organic, too) and certified homeopathic meds. I don't know about the US but the EU is very strict with allowing any homeopathic meds to be sold unless well studied.

I respect yours as well. :)

AFIK The US plays it a little loosey goosey with anything that can be labeled a supplement. The EU is more strict in this regard.

Thank you for reading and engaging in discussion.

@justtryme90 I always read your stuff though sometimes I don't comment
I hope your health progress - it's possible :D

EDIT:Thank you - !

Salt is one of the leading causes of congestive heart failure exacerbation haha. The vast majority of my patients coming in with acute CHF exacerbation ate a lot of salt that week haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55