Baloney Detection - Part 1 [Video]

in #science8 years ago

I started doing the video version for one of my series on pseudoscience here on steemit. Some people enjoy digesting content in video versus the written format. Here's the first one, a video transcript for How Reliable is Your Source.

If I don't ask for too much, what do you think? Which one (format) you like better?


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi

#science #psychology #practical


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Hello @cristi

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

If you wish to support this initiative, join the Robinhood Whale voting trail on Streemian. Every vote counts!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

hey, thank you! glad to see you active RHW

careful. If you say the wrong thing about

  • psuedoscience
  • anarchy
  • environmentalism
  • religion
    or even depict a less than respectful attitude.
    you are pushing your limits...You increase your danger of being flagged.

How ironic is that on a platform that tries extremely hard to sell itself as "censorship free."?? Not being snarky. Just asking a real question that has been bothering me about Steemit lately. The Alt Right in general loves to complain about "political correctness" but then they go out of their way to do their own form political correctness. So, let's just call this "Conspiracy Theorist Political Correctness." Ask for a source? They say you are buying into a "media conspiracy." Don't buy into an extremely horseshit "false flag" comment and ask for facts that do not involve innuedo, and you get called a libtard. How about labelling somebody a "social justice warrior and just flagging their posts out of spite? I sometimes wonder if Steemit wants to be a truly revolutionary social media site, or if its just a fantasy land for the Alt-Right and the Anarcho-Capitalist communities here. This site could be so much better than that. Since I am being so wordy, and I am trying to be careful by saying I care about the discussion of ideas, and am reacting to the warnings you are raising. They concern me and I have thought about them myself.

In my opinion Steemit has two structural flaws.

  • Bots
  • Flags

And both of those in the hands of a politically vindictive whale is a bad thing.

yup.
or even a psychotic minnow..both scenarios have happened.

I started watching the videos. They look very interesting. Thank you.

hope you enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53