How Reliable is your Source?

in #psychology8 years ago

Like any normal child I used to engage in magical thinking. We had this local newspaper called Dracula that came out once a week.

I can still remember the excitement I would get on Tuesday evenings knowing that the new edition of Dracula would be in my hands next day after-school.

As the title might suggest, the newspaper presented articles about paranormal phenomena - all things UFOs, ghosts, fortune-teller services, and the weekly vampire column.

Wouldn't it be odd that in a small country like Romania, there were at least a few weekly 'encounters' of vampires and dead people sending messages to their living relatives? It's like they were on a tight schedule...

It didn't matter. I was absorbed. Not only I, but also the many other credulous believers who would stand in line at the newspaper kiosk every Wednesday.

To my defense, I was a kid. I knew little. The rest of the 'group' consisted mostly of grown-ups. Why were they there?! What sort of twisted-logic was playing inside their heads?

I think it was in 6th or 7th grade when I gradually started adopting other interests; more social ones. My devotion to Dracula slowly, but surely, faded away. I'm not sure if this newspaper is still in print. I wouldn't be surprised if it is...


My point?

I kept saying it in my blogs (here and my personal blog) and I'll keep saying it. Human nature is faulty by design. We are not inborn creatures of reason.

We are creatures of habit by default. Were it not for evolution and our habitual nature, we might not have been here.

But the rules of the game have changed since the early days of the human species. We are no longer living in a habitat with high risk of getting eaten by a predatory animal. Our primary instincts are no longer at high stake. Most of us do not benefit from the mental biases and heuristics that have gradually been assigned to us by evolution. We should strive to rise above this nature of ours. But it seems that most of us do not.

We come to life with these prepackaged biases. We have to self-educate in rational thinking.

Thinking, as ridiculously as it may sound, is not a given. We think we are good thinkers. But thinking is a skill. And like any skill, it is developed by deliberate practice.

I'm not sure of the purpose of Dracula newspaper. But it made its point - its cashflow point if I may. It successfully exploited my brain that was primed toward fearfulness and the most negative, paranormal and outstanding phenomena. It was catchy.

In our distant past, such traits (priming towards negativity and the outstanding) were life-saving.

Always being on the lookout for danger - that was a must. Nowadays, it is not. But we do not know that. We respond to these 'stimuli' by giving them our attention and what's inside our pockets - both being scarce resources.

Entities behind newspapers of such, the media at large (no exceptions), and even your friends might, at least once, try to exploit this vulnerability of yours. I really hope I made my point with my story.


In your To-Do List

Whenever you find yourself in a situation like mine, whenever you are being presented evidence that might sound out of the ordinary, to guard yourself against deception ask these two questions:

  • Is my friend telling me this just because he doesn't know better?
  • Is my friend trying to deceive me on purposes?

Any answer that results from such questions does not necessarily imply immediate response. You do not have to engage in counter-arguments or trying to tell the person/entity they are wrong. Instead of being offensive, keep it to yourself. Gradually digest it, turn the claim on all of its sides, investigate it with various sources, and build your own argument.

This will add up to your repertoire of good thinking skills. And this is the first step in dealing with the baloney we are 24/7 being bombarded with.


To stay in touch, follow @cristi

Credits for Image: thedailyenglishshow.com.

#psychology #practical #deception


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Great article! I agree with your two points to consider, on why people may be telling us something.

I believe everyone is trying to influence our thinking - friends, family, teachers, religions, advertisers, scientists, pseudo-scientists, politicians, news people, etc. They are often trying to get us to commit to spending time and/or money so it is important to decide how to spend our limited resources. We have to use critical thinking to decide for ourselves how we think about ideas presented to us, before we act on them.

I agree. There's nothing wrong with friends, family or others to try to agree with their flow of thinking. What I'm having trouble is with deception. And yes, developing your critical thinking is an effective in your baloney detection arsenal.

@cristi
This is absolutely weird. I popped down to TJ today for lunch with a client.
I ordered a Coca Cola and on the bottle was...
Comparte un CocaCola con Cristi

I came online to have a good laugh about it and find you're talking about ditching magical thinking.

lol :D well, you know...coincidences happen every day! but I'm glad I was part of yours today. sorry for breaking th e bubble of magical thinking :) You know, I may actually have a follow-up post on that.

:D I wanted to ask for it, but I though you drank it as you bought it! Didnt know there are coke bottles with Cristi on them lol . thanks for sharing!

Your question at the end "Is my friend telling me this just because he doesn't know better?" is something most people should be asking. The amount of hearsay and ignorance passed around among circles of people is high. People hate to admit they don't know something, and are woefully uneducated in a variety of areas. This leads to them easily being deceived and misled and oftentimes spreading the wrong information to others.

by default we are self-centered, as you may know. to consider what others may think is an effort and few people engage in it. and yes, the sentence 'I don't know' has very little usage among people. I think it's mostly used by uneducated folks as you said...but anyway, becoming a good thinker is no easy endeavor :)

In particle physics, we have the opposite tendency: over-citing.... And this is not good as well, in my humble opinion.

it's not. neither are good. but I think over-citing is better than under-citing. you have the risk of sounding unintelligeable and non-opinionated but it's least likely you may be accused of plagiarism.

The problem of too many citations is:

  • no one on reads them,
  • I would not like to see my work part of a series of 80 citations of papers the authors have clearly not read (and do not care). This is not very rewarding, isn't it?

I was not thinking about plagiarism but rather about citing relevant sources.

I, myself also follow the citations. Especially which i think will have some good data in my research. But alas, the citation cited another citation... and it goes on and on..

Also sometimes, people are citing papers because others are citing papers that are citing papers... for a reason that was not even in the initial paper.

Along those lines, I have once heard during a conference a speaker using as a starting point a given results of a scientist A. This scientist A was in the room and said that this was not his result... Very funny (but not for the speaker I guess).

@lemouth, even if may seem harder to believe, that scenario often takes place - it may or it may not be intentional distortion of reality.

@cristi: I agree!

I agree with that :) but for one reason, I am someone who likes to see citations because I usually follow them and see if the version of the interpreter matches my version of interpreting the citation.

When one needs to review a paper with >150 citations... I am not sure anyone will follow all of them :)

well, no. but they may follow whatever they find more of their interest

except when the reader does not have the courage to read them all (which actually happens most of the time).

really enjoyed this. Followed and thank you

thanks @clevercross. followed you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34