Central Park MUSHROOM HUNT with Gary Lincoff - YES, you can EAT 'em too, if you DARE...!

in #science7 years ago (edited)

While people generally consider New York City to be very expensive (and it is!), there are many charming little "city secrets" that will cost you next to nothing, but can potentially offer much greater satisfaction. For example, did you know that a dedicated group of New Yorkers forage for edible mushrooms around Central Park and other parks in the area as well?

This past Sunday, I joined in on one of these "Mushroom Hunts" hosted by Gary Lincoff and the New York Mycological Society (NYMS). Gary Lincoff is a "legend" of mushroom foraging, and in mushroom circles, he's renowned as one of the foremost mycologists in the world, with a history of mushroom hunting spanning nearly 50 years!

gl-pic1.png
(Gary was kind enough to invite a bunch of us to his home afterwards, where we also had the pleasure of meeting his gracious wife Irene as well)

Mycology (the scientific study of fungi) is truly among one the most remarkable, and probably least appreciated fields of study on the planet. I've always been sort of fascinated by mushrooms, but my interest in them really exploded early last year when I began to understand how amazing mushrooms are, along with all their possible uses.

From some being delicious to eat, to others being poisonous as all hell, to tasting like bacon, to tasting like lobster, to supporting other plant life, to cleaning up the environment (including oil spills!), to being the largest known single living organism on the planet, to mycelium bricks to build homes, to cures and treatments that have yet to be considered by most people, mushrooms offer endless possibilities.

And although mushrooms could have dominated our environment long ago, they chose a path of integration as the better option. Instead of a “survival of the fittest” model, mushrooms often adhere to a “survival of the most symbiotic” model in order to perpetuate their existence. That's certainly another huge lesson we humans can also learn from mushrooms. I can't even contemplate how much more we might learn from mushrooms as people become increasingly fascinated and "enchanted" by their innate beauty, symmetry, and latent possibility.

gl-book.png

Gary, along with his signature sun hat, has traveled across the globe seeking out new and interesting mushrooms. He's been featured in several shroom-related movies and has also recently released an updated version of his book, "The Complete Mushroom Hunter, Revised: Illustrated Guide to Foraging, Harvesting, and Enjoying Wild Mushrooms".

Here's a great video interview with Gary Lincoff and the Western Pennsylvania Mushroom Club:

Gary and the NYMS also document all the mushrooms and lichens in the area. If they're really lucky, they may even come across a new species! In Central Park alone, there are currently over 500 known species of mushrooms and 25 known species of lichens. Lichens are especially interesting as well. They are composite organisms that arise from algae or cyanobacteria living in a symbiotic relationship. They can be found growing on bark, leaves, mosses, rock, walls, and even on other lichens!

Lichens are also a terrific gauge of air quality, and often cannot grow well (if at all) in heavily polluted areas. In fact, if you're thinking of moving to a new place, you might want to ask your realtor what lichens also inhabit the area. If you can't find any, you may want to consider moving elsewhere! Just look how beautiful these lichens are when magnified at over 400x:


(image courtesy of Nova Patch at https://twitter.com/novapatch and http://www.inaturalist.org/people/novapatch)
novapatch1.png

Baby Chicken of the Woods mushroom found early on during the hunt, also delicious to eat:

And how about this amazing mushroom that looks like it came right out of "Alice in Wonderland"! It's the edible Calvatia Gigantea, commonly known as the "giant puffball":

puffball.png

Here, Gary is holding a giant "black-staining polypore", otherwise known as Meripilus sumstinei, a species of fungus in the family Meripilaceae. This was a picture captured from last year's hunt. While Gary warned us it would be very chewy unless they are very small and young, a bunch of us still took some home to give it a try. I fried them up with a bit of salt, herbs, and butter. It was a bit scary at first seeing all the "black ink" gooing out of the mushrooms. However, it quickly subsided and a few minutes later they were done. I must also say they were quite delicious, although 15 minutes later I was still chewing, and chewing, and chewing!

bs-polypore.png

DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME... LEAVE IT TO THE EXPERTS!

Now just be aware, even though many mushrooms are edible, mushroom foraging can be very dangerous for non experts. Even Gary sometimes has trouble identifying certain mushrooms without analyzing its structure under a microscope. However, with his decades of experience, he's also aware of when he's relatively certain and when he's not. While most mushrooms in Central Park are edible, there are a few poisonous ones. And although most of the inedible ones are likely to leave you with little more than some nasty cramps for a few hours, there are some that can leave you much worse off, as in liver and kidney failure two weeks later without any warning whatsoever. You also have to make sure you cook them really well, and make sure there are no other molds or fungi growing on them, or bugs that have burrowed their way in.

If you're interested in learning more, and you live in the New York area, I highly recommend you join Gary and NYMS on one of their foraging events in parks across all 5 bouroughs. For more information, visit Gary's facebook page, his website, or the New York Mycological Society's Events page.

FINALLY...

I'm also hoping that one day Gary will join us on STEEMIT as well! He's literally a walking encyclopedia and database of mycological wisdom, and his thoughts and insights would be an invaluable addition to the community. He also mentioned many mycology-related projects he would love to undertake, however he could not secure enough interest from publishers to pursue them!

I believe STEEMIT could change all that, and once again enable and empower an entirely new way of funding accelerated scientific research into one of the most fascinating fields that most know very little about.

cpw-100st-rambles1.png
(one of the lovely stream-lined trails you may find wandering around Central Park)

One last thing... Last night, I was very pleased to discover @dber on STEEMIT! Apparently, there is a small but growing community of "shroom" enthusiasts already here, and @dber is one of those that I highly recommend you follow if you are interested in learning more about these fascinating "life forms"!

Link: @dber, The Amatuer Mycologist#3: How To Identify A Mushroom - A Workshop
Link: MycoKeys Morphing Mushroom Identifier (great tool to help identify mushrooms)


What do you think of mushrooms? Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

As always, I appreciate your upvote, your follow and all your comments!

Sort:  

So cool! This makes me really want to rejoin the NYC Mycological Society - I regretted never being able to go on a hunt with Gary.

Even having developed a decent amount of knowledge regarding macro-identification - and a good working knowledge of a dozen or so choice edibles - I still feel inherently uncomfortable eating my finds - even when I am 99.9% sure of their identity. Hell, even when I would go on Facebook and Gary or other NYCMS members would confirm my ID.

But, when you're hunting with an actual expert - whether a general expert mycologist like Gary, or a local "expert" who has spent their lives in a local region and knows their local edibles like the back of their hand, the experience of foraging and eating your catch is WONDERFUL.

I've only done the latter a couple of times, once in the forests an hour outside St. Petersburg where my wife, her uncle and I traipsed through the coniferous forest like druids plucking the most perfect chanterelles from every nook and cranny while testing every bolete for possible edulis. Then just diving in and eating a big meal of fresh mushrooms without concern.

I highly recommend going for a hunt with someone you know you can trust.

I didn't want to get into it too deeply into the post, because it's already probably a bit overwhelming! I figure I can defer to some of your great posts for even more details about each individual mushroom and genus. But what's interesting is that there are certain types of mushrooms that are relatively easy to identify, such as the Chicken of the Woods and black-staining polypore, that really don't have any "copycats" (I'm just blanking on the better term) like with the death caps that you recently posted about. So yeah, definitely stay away from any of those white cap mushrooms. Supposedly, even the "good" ones aren't as tasty as other types of mushrooms, which makes it even less "worth the risk".

Of course, you also want to be careful of worms, as this article discusses, though last year I did see Gary pick one off the ground and taste it raw. Of course, he knows what he's doing, and I wouldn't dare try that myself! lol

BTW, once again I'm really glad I came across you. Perhaps we'll meet up one of these days and see what we can uncover together in Central Park! In fact, Gary said he's gonna try returning this weekend or the next, because it seemed many mushrooms were flushing a bit late this year.

"Copycats" works just fine - and absolutely there are some mushrooms that are pretty safe options to begin hunting for eating purposes - and if I ever eat anything, it usually falls into one of those limited varieties. (Which, actually aren't even that limited)

Gary nibbling on a raw mushroom - even a very dangerous one - would be fine as long as he spit it out - at least as far as mycotoxins are concerned. Of course, putting anything just laying around central park in you mouth is a whole other concern...

It's great that we've connected - and it seems like there's a growing interest in mycology on steemit and it's nice to help speed that transition along. I would love to go for a real hunt with NYCMS - I'm going to be workign next Saturday unfortunately, but I might could go on Sunday. Let me know if they set out again.

Seems like they tend to go on Sundays. I've generally been so busy myself though, it's been tough to go out nearly as much as I'd like, so I know perfectly well where you're coming from! I don't think he spit it out, but again he knows what he's doing, and I suppose he's also built up a tolerance over the years. Either way, that little bit wouldn't really hurt you anyone (short of being one of the nasty variety).

Ironically, I actually read somewhere that the white mushrooms you buy in the grocery store are actually higher in hydrazine than most! While a few raw ones won't hurt you, if you plan to eat a bunch of them, it's probably better to cook 'em up for a few minutes at least. Hydrazine is pretty volatile, and will quickly evaporate out once you stir-fry 'em up!

Maybe it was this article: A few reasons to cook the mushrooms you eat

That looks lovely, I want to come!!! I am definitely one of those people that rides the line of safety when it comes to wild mushrooms..Ive eaten plenty that I've found with 'considerable' research online...but as you've all noted, that is far from a sure bet.

Also, I usually do this thing where when I find a mushroom I'm interested it, I'll hold it near my throat, rub it on my lips for a moment, and if I feel good about it, I'll take a little tiny piece and tuck it under my lip for while to pay attention to how it feels.

I'm not dead yet :P but check back tomorrow

that sounds like a good plan, especially if you focus on those that don't have any highly toxic copycats (as you may have seen we were talking about in some of the comments). And it's good to check too the way you are (test on the lips first, etc), to see if there are any immediate reactions.

But of course, the biggest problem (hence, stay away from some of those white cap confusing ones), is that they don't give you any warning whatsoever, until 2 weeks later when you keel over from a hepatic cycle and need a liver transplant. Basically, your liver keeps trying to take out the toxins, but the same toxins get reabsorbed in the intestines, and the liver tries again, over, and over again, til it konks out). Kind of terrifying, actually!

Yeah, I definitely stay away from white ones...I've read too many stories about destroying angels. And I don't ever eat very much of anything I don't know, this practice does get supplemented with lots of research online and asking friends.

Nice story! I should have known that two weeks ago when I was there :)

thank you @surfermarly, well there's always next time your here! :)

I thought you were on vacation Marly?!?!?!

I was!!! Just got back home and started to publish my 1,000 holiday pictures - LOL. Happy steemy weekend!

My french grandma loved foraging for wild mushrooms and she would pick up baskets of delicious varieties like : chanterelles, girolle, morilles (morel) . It was an immediate joy and pleasure of eating them sauteed with butter, wine and garlic.

MERCI Alex for this informative post which brought back very pleasant and vivid memories of my youth!

Thank you for sharing that lovely story, mom, and I'm so happy this post was able to stir up some pleasant memories for you from your childhood! 😊

I'm also thrilled that you're starting to get the "hang" of STEEMIT a little bit too! 😁

Terrific, that looks like a really interesting time in cpw. Might check that out next time Gary has one nearby! Thanks for the info, very curious to learn some more about mushrooms now!

thank you @domo, it really was. it's definitely worth learning more about, the hunt and mushrooms in general. fascinating subject! :)

Excellent post. I love to go mushrooming myself and I was lucky that eventhough it was very dry this summer we could find two mushrooms already ;) I am waiting for the harvest time :D There are some mushrooms which are very easy to identify with no sililar looking poinsonous kinds so I think also beginners can go on a hunt if they know their view mushrooms well. I never took a course but I always double check with a book and the internet with new mushrooms and I leave the ones I can not identify. There is also a lot of misinformation about mushrooms. For example with amanita muscaria. It is an excellent warming mushroom for winter that also gifts to you an openinng of the heart chakra and fantastic dreams.

thanks @yoganarchista! I will also refer people back to your terrifically psychedelic "shroomy" drawing as well! Also check out my response to @dber above about eating mushrooms.

You're absolutely right, there are some that are pretty easy to identify with really known "imposters". But didn't want to get into that too much in the article. If people are interested, they'll do the extra work on their on to (hopefully) get their safely.

Also true about muscaria, though it's still mixed opinion if it's "worth the trouble" over other mushrooms (unless you just happen to run into a field full of them)! You've probably seen it already, but here's a great article on how to safely eat the fly agaric, aka Amanita muscaria.

Wow, mushroom hunting actually looks like a fun afternoon. Thanks for sharing this @alexpmorris , you seem like a fungi :P

Sorry, but I had to make my mark here with some terribly cheesy myco humor.

HAHAHA very funny you with your sense of humor! lol Here's a mushroom for ya! :D

(Amanita muscaria)

Wow-that was informative. where we live, there are sooo many lichens...guess our mountain air is good!

Yeah @benzomatic, that sounds like you probably have some really clean and fresh mountain air up there! awesome for you, and thanks for posting! :)

Mushrooms scare the hell out of me! :D
But tasting like lobster? Yum. I might have to get some!

Yeah, Lion's mane (Hericium erinaceus) is also a really beautiful mushroom too! I've also seen it at some groceries stores once in a while, and there are even grow kits you can by over the internet as well, so you don't have to go hunting 'em down just to try 'em out!

Interesting! Reminds me of something from Star Trek. Tribbles, maybe? Haha :D

omg I thought the exact same thing when I first saw them too, Tribbles!!! ROFL

At least now we know what Tribbles taste like! haha

Great article! We really enjoy foraging for mushrooms too! I resteemed it!

thank you @wholesomeroots! glad you liked it, yeah it's really cool, even better if you can grow them too, but that's sometimes a bit trickier! thanks also for the resteem! :)

We are attempting to grow several varieties with some success!

that's great to hear! which ones you growing?

Several oyster varieties, shiitake, lion's mane still need to be plugged, and king stropharia so far.

that's awesome, all excellent and delicious mushrooms, yummy! :)

lol, Guess what! We have a common acquaintance it seems! @doubledeeyt is my son! We were talking and realized I had already resteemed and been talking to you in this post and he had been talking to you on discord when you mentioned mushrooms. He was going to have me follow you and I already did, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52