You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Central Park MUSHROOM HUNT with Gary Lincoff - YES, you can EAT 'em too, if you DARE...!

in #science7 years ago

Excellent post. I love to go mushrooming myself and I was lucky that eventhough it was very dry this summer we could find two mushrooms already ;) I am waiting for the harvest time :D There are some mushrooms which are very easy to identify with no sililar looking poinsonous kinds so I think also beginners can go on a hunt if they know their view mushrooms well. I never took a course but I always double check with a book and the internet with new mushrooms and I leave the ones I can not identify. There is also a lot of misinformation about mushrooms. For example with amanita muscaria. It is an excellent warming mushroom for winter that also gifts to you an openinng of the heart chakra and fantastic dreams.

Sort:  

thanks @yoganarchista! I will also refer people back to your terrifically psychedelic "shroomy" drawing as well! Also check out my response to @dber above about eating mushrooms.

You're absolutely right, there are some that are pretty easy to identify with really known "imposters". But didn't want to get into that too much in the article. If people are interested, they'll do the extra work on their on to (hopefully) get their safely.

Also true about muscaria, though it's still mixed opinion if it's "worth the trouble" over other mushrooms (unless you just happen to run into a field full of them)! You've probably seen it already, but here's a great article on how to safely eat the fly agaric, aka Amanita muscaria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41