WARNING, potential scam: "Mogul - Build Your Invisible Empire"

in #scam7 years ago

My scam detector went wild when I happened so see this announcement: Steemit-Based Reality Game Announced: $10 million prize pool

10 million dollar prize pool? Ok... Where is that money coming from? No explanation.

Some guy is promising it while boasting how he has helped a lot of people make huge sums of money. So classic online get-rich-quick scammer style.

I've been teaching for years and I have several hundred successful students. Many have made more than six figures in just a few months. One star student even did $2 million in sales ONE DAY from the game I taught him.

Yes you really can make money by playing a game. If a newbie 71 year old grandma can do it, so can you.

On the high end, one "player" bought a $5 million Las Vegas penthouse from his game play.

Now come on, who can take this seriously?!

Then I check the comments. It all starts to make sense when I see old "friend" @michaelx aka @murderistic aka Michal Taggart in there, publicly announcing that he has been working with this guy.

@michaelx was involved in Banx, which somebody, who has been a long time in cryptoscene, might still remember. It was a pure ponzi scam but managed to be in top10 at coinmarketcap.com for a while.

I've written a couple of times about it:
The case of Banx & C-CEX
Banx was definitely a scam

And then I decided to google Matt Trainer. Interesting stuff pops up. Apparently he is a serial scammer, involved in different online and multilevel marketing schemes. He is even convicted to jail for some kind of mail fraud.

Conclusion

First and foremost: Don't give any money to people like Matt Trainer or Michael Taggart. You can be pretty sure that it won't be a good investment.

Be skeptical. If something sounds too good to be true, it usually isn't true. Especially when somebody is promising an easy way to make a lot of money.

Don't upvote scammers. Seriously, it sucks to see the Steem community giving them any profits.

Sort:  

I wouldn't give money to these guys. Had high hopes for Murderistic/Michael-x in BitShares and then again here, but those ideas never seem to go anywhere. At the very least, he has very questionable judgment in picking the people he partners with on these things. No, thank you.

I can't understand why most people can't see past these classic scams. One would imagine that eventually people get some skin in the game...

If it looks too good to be true, it always is hehe. Except for SteemIt, sort of :p

Well, in Steemit you have to work your ass off first, i know this the hard way.

Yeah but it usually pays more than Facebook on the first post, so it's not a scam ;)

The "my grandma made $7100 this month and so can you" ones are such obvious scams lol.

People fall for the same shit. over. and over. and over again

I work my arse off ....I don't know what you mean. Nothing comes easy

Same reason why people vote for presidents like Turd.

yeap

Exactly. With a $10m pool prize? With what money.. monopoly? It's a joke!

Loading...

I appreciate your take on it. I thought it sounded interesting, so I went as far as resteeming it. My support of it was strongly influenced by @stan's comment in that post. I'm going to keep an eye on it, but I'll do so with caution and your thoughts in mind. I'm certainly not going to give them any money.

With all of you powers combined
I summon captain Abit!

It looks like @abit has upvoted it. Perhaps to counter the whale downvotes as part of the continuing Whale no voting experiment?

i think it was automatic. the post has been now nuked to oblivion

Agreed, that's what I meant :) An auto vote that counters the whale votes. Looks like it's almost down to zero $ now.

I sent a few flags Matt Trainer's way last night.

I wrote an in-depth post about how strange the stuff in his companies docs is: https://steemit.com/scam/@thekyle/potential-scam-mogul-your-invisible-empire-in-depth-look

A bunch of us were just talking about this today. A then a wild @clevercreator showed up (silly joke) -- but seriously, I am in the process of investigating because I do not want to see such a great community taken advantage of.

I was watching a video the other day, the gist of what I'm trying to say being, "A lie takes both people to work" so don't pitty someone, everyone who has a unreal perception of themselves can be manipulated, it's all smoke and mirrors, you want something, sure we can do it, we can own the world and make it better :) we sure will :D we only do good :) .. anyways words are used for both creation and destruction, and some people create their own destruction. I'm not sure what to think

Thanks for the warning. I saw this also, and even my newbie radar went wild. Steemit may be new to me, but I've seen enough con games like this one to pick up on them pretty quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82