The Steemit brand is losing value as we speak!

in #scam8 years ago (edited)

As a response to the recent "launch" of Steem Cash I just have to write down a few thoughts. I realise these will probably get downvoted for no other reason than people disagreeing with me. But I can't keep quiet.

Scammer

It all started with me calling a SCAM ALERT two days ago:
https://steemit.com/scam/@r4fken/warning-scammer-on-steemit-steem-cash-is-the-latest-project-of-a-known-con-man

No need to say, this caused some angry replies.

What do we discover on Steemit today? This:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@michaelx/help-us-launch-the-first-steemit-marketing-initiative-that-pays-you-to-refer

If you took the effort to read the excessively long text, you now have an idea of what concept we're dealing with here. I'll just skip to the point:

Why is this bad?

It undermines the brand "Steemit" and "Steem" by associating it with an amateurish moneygrabbing scheme at best. See, I didn't even call it a scam!

The fact that a bunch of devs and long-term stakeholders (whales) are upvoting and even publicly defending these guys, makes the entire management team look like nothing more than short-term moneygrabbers who don't care about the brand Steemit in the long term.

For those not convinced by my earlier posts about this horrible enterprise, I hope I've given enough motivation to do your own research. Try it out! Be an "affiliate"! Tell us what happens inside the moneygrabbing machine!

Other things to note:

  1. The scheme pays out via paypal instead of Steem or Steemdollars. Lack of trust in your own platform?
  2. The main organisers are @marklyford, @michaelx and a few alt accounts used for voting.
  3. The main supporters are @dan, @stan and @xeroc. Our man @ned downvoted this post...
  4. Read the announcement post and be honest: does this sound like we want Steemit to sound? As a brand?

Feedback welcome, as always. Especially @ned and @dan would have my full attention.

Sort:  

I mentioned to you last time already that you should be careful how to deal with people. I downvoted this because the post's sole purpose is to start another whitch hunt, which hurts the community way more than anything else and doesn't help resolve any discrepancies ..

Why not put your time into something constructive?

I don't think you are acting fairly. @michaelx has been way more aggressive and childish in the last few days. Why you are upvoting him instead of downvoting if you really care how individuals deal with other people?

He has even threatened with legal actions: https://steemit.com/abuse/@anduweb/i-m-being-threatened-by-michaelx-he-says-he-ll-sue-me-if-i-spread-rumors-of-him-being-a-scammer

I really can't understand how you can tolerate that kind of behavior and but still downvote @r4fken.

I sure did @samupaha : https://steemit.com/abuse/@anduweb/i-m-being-threatened-by-michaelx-he-says-he-ll-sue-me-if-i-spread-rumors-of-him-being-a-scammer#@michaelx/re-anduweb-i-m-being-threatened-by-michaelx-he-says-he-ll-sue-me-if-i-spread-rumors-of-him-being-a-scammer-20160805t105005093z

Read why.

You seem to have a problem with everything I do or say, yet no problem with your friends telling people they will rape them, assault them, or otherwise.

Also, that conversation qualifies as assault in US law, and I am within every right to press charges.

@xeroc you are 100% right in downvoting.

Steemit should protect its brand from crap like this. But good for you, censoring your little world.

This was all new to me. I read the original article from @michaelx and your response to it but I don't see your reasoning behind being so against it. Is it because you don't like marketing? What is it about @michaelx ' s idea that is so "scammy" / wrong to you?

As @xeroc mentioned, you have to be really careful when you make accusations against people. You need to back up your words with evidence or substance for readers to understand why you are calling something a "scam."

Agree. Danka.

Downvoting my reply to your comment? How low can you go. Even the worst trashy pulp magazines are obligated to let their victims publish a reply.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion, just as everyone is entitled to vote. If you are aggressive for no reason simply because I asked a question, then I will surely downvote you.

Yeah, I'm officially done. If one rich guy can decide whether a post can be shown or not, then fuck it. You deserve no better than to go down in the burning ship you set on fire yourself. I hope your money burns with it, so you can experience the trolling that normal people have to put up with.

More evidence and less emotion would be helpful here. I'm also passionate about protecting the brand because I think there's a cool thing being started here. To me, the way you're approaching this situation doesn't seem like an adult having an adult conversation. Someone asked you a specific question and you replied with censorship, emotional outbursts (from my perspective), etc. I think your case would be better served via reasoned dialogue. If you've moved on already, then I guess that's fine, and you won't have to worry about the brand anymore.

Ouch. I didn't attack you at all, I just asked for clarification and gave an opinion on how to be careful with your words. But then you respond with:

I hope your money burns...

Downvoting for unneeded aggression and ill-will =(

Can you give as explanations about that?
https://steemit.com/steemit-abuse/@sirwinchester/re-warning-scammer-with-reputation-score-7-user-moonflower-is-fake-yet-a-7

.....blackmailing is worst than scamming in my agenda !!!

You should stop making enemies around, even if what you are saying it's true, just one time is enough, expose your point of view and that's it. Also the fact that you are a notorious blackmailer who tried to extort money from another member won't do any good.

Just do your business and don't interfere with the business of others more than once.

My advice, post a few articles that has nothing to do with scams so we can forget a bit about you.

A notorious blackmailer?
Another member?
Fuck off

Nice @r4fken
Shot you an Upvote :)

@r4fken You know without a shadow of a doubt I am upvoting you on this one brotha. Not only because you have the balls and courage to speak your mind knowing good and well that the steemit evangelists will attack you but because you are also doing research, detective work and putting in "your" time and effort to protect the community. Keep up the good work @r4fken or should I say Batman?

Haha, Thanks, that's much appreciated! But yeah, unfortunately you're right: it takes only one resentful whale to completely ruin a post by downvoting. Yes, @xeroc that's you. You sad little wannabe Hitler.

My idea of this whole thing is that you @r4fken were trying to keep the house clean because of reasons best known to you but others think you went too hard. Okay. We all love this community and want it to grow so ENOUGH. There should be an unbiased umpire in the house to sort issues of this nature out. Let all be friends again. Everyone will benefit in the long run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52