I'm being threatened by @michaelx. He says he'll sue me if I spread rumors of him being a scammer. I have done no such thing.

in #abuse8 years ago (edited)

I was off line a bit tonight and to my surprise when I came back, I had some PM's on steemit.chat from @michaelx saying he'll sue me.

The basis of his claim is a discussion that happened on a channel earlier today:
Imgur

And this is the PM discussion (for better readibility open this one in a new tab by clicking here:
Imgur

What I have said were observations I have seen others make, I only mentioned them further. It's true that I didn't fact check to get direct confirmation of the facts but I didn't claim it directly either. I said others have downvoted him for knowing he's a scammer from past history.

The post in discussion here is this one: https://steemit.com/steemit/@michaelx/help-us-launch-the-first-steemit-marketing-initiative-that-pays-you-to-refer
This post has been brought to it's knees by some of the platform's heavy whales including @ned.
Imgur
Was I wrong not to mention that?
Should I shut up about it and back down after being threatened with being sued?

EDIT (1h before payout):

Since the post didn't reach its payout I wanted to do an edit and clearly state a few things.
I am noticing that the discussion around this situation is kind of escalating and potentially getting fueled by this post also. What I wanted to mention as clear statements from me is the following:

  • I have never (emphasize on never) said that @michaelx is a scammer. I only mentioned what others have said. If the message has been understood that I was saying that, I'm sorry, that was never meant to be, that was not my intention.
  • I would never have claims about someone being a scammer, or liar, without personal research into that, and evidence to sustain that. This is something I would recommend to everyone. I have not researched this therefore I cannot claim such things.
  • I will not delete the content of this post as it is futile. The entire content (except the images I think) are on the blockchain anyways so they won't get deleted.
  • Michael has said that I should retract what I have said. I believe I have freedom of speech and if I want to say something about an observation I've made, I have the right to do so. I am not directly accusing him of it, I am merely saying something I noticed others say.
  • I don't find this entire conversation constructive, neither for me nor for the Steemit community so I won't comment it any further nor respond to any other comments. What I had to say is in this post. This is my official position regarding the entire thing. Take it as it is.
  • As a person, I can express my empathy to the situation he's going through at the moment. It's not a pleasant experience to be in, I surely wouldn't want to be in his shoes. This is why I don't want to fuel it further.
Sort:  

I just wrote a little piece myself. But ofcourse it's flagged already.
https://steemit.com/scam/@r4fken/warning-the-steemit-brand-is-losing-value-as-we-speak

I read what you posted man. The thing is I don't have proof he's a scammer and I never mentioned it directly. I only said what others have said...
I personally don't like the method he's approaching there but haven't stepped in to upvote or downvote or comment on it.
I merely made an observation on the chat and I'm being threatened with a suit.

Bottom line is that I don't want to invest anymore time into this. We should just move on to building something more constructive. I only posted this so everyone knows about it if they happen to go through the same thing.

don't have proof.

culpable.

The community has decided so don't sweat it, just back off. It was strange though that a new person joined through them. I gave the person a link to read about Steem and the discussion arose that they bought the ebook (so there's that).

This is all I'm doing about this. I don't intend to invest any further effort, I wanted to bring this up here in case others have received the same treatment and were too afraid to speak.

too late you are involved and now a witness and party.

Loading...

Upvote because the truth needs to be addressed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52