Sort:  

I'm a little disappointed with the fact that users, even the whales, just went and upvoted stuff like that without proof. A little disappointed with the community, honestly.

I think the incentives of upvoting need some fixing to prevent stuff like this. We just had a similar case with the msg mgs whatever givings account.

And the user cashed in his/her 10k that he/she earned with plagiarized content.

Upvotes should be given to good content, not content that is going to make the upvoter money. That's one criticism I have of Steemit.

I'm extremely disappointed in what is going on. I really had thought we had gotten past this as a community but to me it is borderline fraud. The whales are knowingly upvoting this stuff because I feel it is being created by them and it is a way to keep getting paid out everyday and bleed the system dry. Yesterday there was one that was way worse than this that made $1,200. It was the top post on the trending page and people were telling "her" to verify. She wouldn't do it and kept stalling. Then "she" contacted me in the chat room and gave me a bullshit story about how "she" was the brother and did the post to surprise her.....etc. But non of that is the problem. It is the fact that the whales upvoted her right away and got the post to that level shows me it is just pure fraud. It is so tough to get a post seen on here and then are we seriously going to believe that a whole POD of whales found this diamond in the rough? First post no verification. What a joke. They are making these accounts to strip away all the payouts everyday. Oh yeah. And the money has already been withdrawn from that post. They must have been a quick learner with Crypto. Here is the link.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@hanai/surviving-in-the-jungle-called-nyc

I left over the weekend to unplug in the country side... this morning steemit seems to have a decidedly different tone...

anyway, i was guilty of upvoting the article. motocross excites me and i jumped the gun. have since removed the vote

This!

Thank you for bringing this to the attention of the Steemit community! I've seen that it is common to try to be first with a vote or comment in hopes of receiving a curator award. This has led to people voting on poor content and even plagiarized content like that story.

The number one rule for #IntroduceYourself is to make sure new people post a picture of themselves holding a Steemit sign with today's date on it. It only takes a second to do, and ensures the quality and authenticity of Steemit.

Of course @ned was the first to upvote that post.

Why is it a scam post?

All I saw was motorcycles and babes.

It's really sad that there are scammers lurking about. Wouldn't it be nice just to post honestly and help each other.
Sure we can blame the "whales" but they were not the perpetrators of the crime. I checked the link and the post has rightfully been voted into oblivion!
In any case I'm glad that you pointed it out and I'll move about with more caution. Thanks for the heads up!
@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Unless the whales are the ones creating the fake accounts.

The mystery deepens! Let's hope not. These guys do a great job and have quite a responsibility.

Thank you for doing an awesome job of finding scammers here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50