Surviving in the jungle called NYC

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

It was just another regular day, day like every other, or at least I thought so. I was walking towards my gym on Lexington avenue, on burning sun, sweating like crazy. I was thinking about my next big step, moving into my own place, in Manhattan. And as I had million thoughts racing through my head, I received brother's message "Hey, are you here?". I thought to myself, what interesting thing has he found this time?

New chapter of my young life

Allow me to tell you my story. A little over a year ago I received a letter that I wasn't accepted for a college that I wanted. A+ student, hard working girl, focused, driven and eager to succeed. Why did I fail? Of all people, why me? I always thought to myself I would be such a great doctor, since I have diabetes for more than 18 years, I thought I would be the best person to treat diabetic people. But no, that obviously wasn't the right path for me. There was no other college that would even slightly intrigued me at that point so I decided to have a gap year. Soon after my mum suggested me to go work abroad and get some new experience that will motivate me when I come back. A year later, I truly doubt I will ever go back to Croatia.

Au Pair experience

My journey has begun with me applying for Au Pair program in USA. Since I was an animator for children's birthday celebrations for more than 6 years there was no problem dealing with the application. However because of my diabetes, it took a long time for any host family to contact me, because let's be realistic, no one wants a "sick" nanny to take care of their kids.

Two months later, I got a call. Upstate NY, family with three kids, twins six months and a boy two years old. Yes, a lot of diapers. But that was my only chance.

I packed my bags, put all of my diabetic supplies and I was ready to go. My American adventure was about to start. Or at least that's what I thought. The village where my host family lived had approximately 50 people and 90% of them was older than 70. First three weeks I would walk around the house with babies thinking to myself, is this really what I wanted? I was careful that my host parents don’t notice a minor disapointment, after all they welcomed into their house like I’ve lived here forever.

Working from 7 am to 11 pm with a lunch break, or as I would call it "nap time" because with this type of schedule you can't avoid not to feel exhausted. I had a feeling that I was underpaid for the amount of work I do here. Don't get me wrong I loved being with kids, they were adorable, but I didn't come here to be their second mother, and that's how it looked like.

I would call my mum over Skype when I felt lonely and tired of work. Then one day I decided to say enough. No more poor, sad Hana. I said to myself I came here on a cultural exchange, to get a new experience, to meet new people and to have fun. And that's what I tried to do, little by little.

Every now and then my host family would go to NYC, and my heart would beat a little bit faster, I would get only one day off, but for me that day would always be like heaven.

I would walk on these big avenues looking at massive Skyscrapers and think to myself "one day I'm going to live here". I didn't know how that was supposed to happen, but it did.

Now I'm here, still 20 years old, still Croatian, still single, still struggling with my English, still diabetic, still sometimes confused by the subway, but most importantly much much happier.

How did Croatian “princess” became American construction worker

Often during that year, a thought about terminating this program came to my mind. I decided it’s fair to endure this year as I applied voluntarily and this family counted on me.

A year has finally passed, a time has come for me to move out and go on my own. I was scared like never before. Small amount of money, no home, no family. Only thing I had was my faith. I didn’t even blink and I was already at the train riding towards NYC.

At midnight there she was, my blonde beautiful friend waiting for me at Grand Central. Although every inch of me was scared we both laughed so hard and looked at each other like we have no idea what is happening.

As you can tell, I’m not a quitter. The rebel inside me finally got enough courage, and definitely strength, since I found a job as a construction worker in New Jersey.

Oh man! That job was hard! Tearing down the wall and then building it up again, huh, I don’t even know how I did it. I worked there for two weeks.

It was time for me to head to Miami on a long wished vacation (one of the reasons why I didn’t want to go home is because I bought ticket for Miami two months in advance).

And as I was sunbathing on this beautiful South Beach my mind was running so fast with all the things I have to do now. I’m not a careless 20 year old barbie girl, I’m a young woman fighting to survive in the jungle.

If you are interested how’s my life been changing ever since that trip, leave some kind of feedback.

Thank you for reading my story.

Sort:  

Hey Hana, welcome to Steemit :)

Is there anyway to verify that its you? :) everyone who introduced themselves, passed that phase :)

Hey, thank you! Okay, I will do it in the next post, dedicated to the blue panda :)

you don't need to. I am not that interesting person and you won't make that much sbd.

On the other hand, you can post a picture of steemit post in your social media profile (fb,twitter, instagram anything) and then add the link here :)

@thebluepanda @hanai good idea, a photo with Steemit logo and date would be good. Then, please provide us with the link to yout social media page (twitter?)

already verified guys.

Cool story! I'm a little confused though. Who is the girl in the bathroom and the girl on the train?

VERIFIED

Please stop it. I will verify publicly when I come from work.

Exactly, where? No Steemit logo photo with date

Verified that makeup does in fact do wonders? Or that the two girls really don't look alike? She has already shared photos of herself. Putting up another one to confirm her claim shouldn't be difficult to do.

I don't understand why you commenting in my post. you can find @hanai in steemit.chat.

The girl in the bathroom is me(brinette), and the girl on the train is my friend(blonde).

Oh. Well then who is the girl tearing down the wall with the power tool? I thought that was you.

That is also me. :) make up does wonders, huh?

I'm glad someone is saying something. I hate to play devils advocate but I thought the whales were past upvoting unverified accounts that look suspect. It is so hard to get seen on Steemit for new users so how does a new person just jump on and have whales piling on upvotes on their post when they aren't verified? There are a lot of these situations happening and It is pretty clear these accounts are setup by some of the whales just for them to upvote the posts and collect the funds. 27,000 STEEM / day if I'm correct. These accounts are like Hydras. Once people start flagging two more pop up. I would like to think this is a real account and I will take back what I have said here if this person verifies but there is a 98% chance this is just another fake account.

@hanai Hopefully you are real but you have to understand that most of the females that get on Steemit have been fake. A good way to prove that you are real is to write Steemit and todays date on a piece of paper and hold it in front of you so we can see that you are the same person in the pictures on the post. We all hope that you are real but we have seen so many fake accounts that we air on the side of caution.

You didn't say anything about my story.
I'm sorry that this community is so untrustworthy, I don't know much about this. I would verify right away if I knew.
If I am that 2%, will you support me? :)

VERIFIED

private chat. even better

your private chat is not verification. We would like proper verification for everyone: hanai holding a sing with her user name, Steemit written down and the date. She can post an axtra introduction with it or post this photo on some of her social media accounts and provide us a link.

But still she managed to earn good rewards even in the absence of verification. :) What do you think is the difference? Is this luck?

@logic if you have proof or evidence, please provide them in steemitabuse channel in steemit.chat.

How is it better that she is verified through private chat where no one can see it?

obviously, i am the one to be blamed in this case for being so suspicious. I was contacted directly steemit.chat to clarify the situation. I told everyone in steemitabuse channel that this account is verified.

OMG it was an awesome story. Loved it hanai and it reminded me my early days of struggling in Kuala Lumpur. Keep up writing you are a talented story teller.

Thank you for the NY story. This story reminded me of my brief stay in New York. Maybe someday I will visit this small city in the world again.

It is only the beginning!

It's NY a small city? lol +1

Robyn Eggs Contribution
I am in the midst of a life change as well. It must be in the air - I just wanna start over, fresh, and steemit has been the perfect place to do it. What a relief!! Now we can share our thoughts and adventures, in diary format, and have it be valuable! I have always been interested in people's personal accounts. It is fascinating, being able to look through someone elses eyes. It's like a break from reality, just as good as watching movies, except it's real-world! Now we can get our real-world fix on! Super! Cheers @hanai, and thank you so much for sharing!! Great post! :-)

Robyn, thank you for leaving feedback. I hope your change goes well.

@hanai, Lovely smile on the first pic! Kudos that you did all those tough works in NYC (despite your diabetes) and still manage to look chic. Miami shot is beautiful makes me miss Huahin beach - almost the same except there's much water kiters on the other side. Interesting story.

You're making me blush!
You got to do what you got to do. I thought it wasn't time for me to return home and that was the only job offering. Luckily, only for 2 weeks.
Wow, Thailand. Sounds cool. Thank you for the support.

Thanks for sharing your story!

I hope to visit new york someday.

Have you heard the song, "my head is a jungle"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49