Blogging on Steemit, how SBD funded a real world jewelry business.

in #sbd6 years ago

Steemit has afforded me a jewelry business. I have invested my SBD into sterling silver, and a membership to the local crafters’ market. Today I am in Eugene for the Saturday Market, it is a local hand crafters’ market where all of the arts and crafts are made by the sellers.



Alt
Source



Two weeks ago I took the majority of my SBD and through VirWox put in into my Paypal, which I then used to purchase jewelry making supplies online through the Rio Grande company. I also used a portion of my earnings to build a display.

Now I have made my way to Eugene, I have crafted stacks of jewelry and put together my display. Now I am getting enough caffeine in my veins to properly move through the day. I am also taking the time to share this post with all of you people of steemit.



Alt
Source



Last saturday the 9th of June was my first day back at market as a member, and with a display. In previous years I have shared a company with my sister and brother. We are a family of jewelers. Our mother taught us to be silversmiths. She showed us that our abilities and skills are sufficient to create value, and that the work for pay standard which has been proclaimed as the status quo is not the only way to generate value in our society.



Alt
Source

Throughout time jewelry and adornments have been largely unnecessary, although they are shiny and pretty and nice, they don’t really serve to increase harvest, prevent disease, or aid in educating the youth. Jewelry is largely for the look of it, and nothing more. This aspect of my craft has been a challenge for me. I want to feel like I create real world value, as far as useful and beneficial uses go. But, alas, I am no potter, I am no shelves maker, I am no shoe maker.



Alt
Source



I like to think that the people who buy my work find value in it. That they create memories wearing my craft, or give my earrings as gifts. I like to think about the enjoyment brought to the people who enjoy seeing the sparkles and shines on their beings. I like to think that what I do is more than just a means of feeding myself. I like to believe that the people of the future will find my craft in some excavation and question the values of the artist who created the piece.



Alt
Source



Art is a luxury, it’s largely unimportant in the larger world we live in. I enjoy art, but I don’t afford it. This is one of my challenges, I wouldn’t spend my own money on buying art like the art I create. I just can’t justify spending money on items which are somewhat frivolous. Still today I will take my craft to market, put my creativity on display and hope to be rewarded for the work I have done, hope to be rewarded for the skills I have built, and put myself out there in a very real way in an attempt to earn a little security, which is scarce in Trump’s america.



Thanks for reading this far!


If you enjoyed this post you may like one of the other blogs I have written.
You can find them here, or here, or here.



I am a member of these Discord channels which support community and connections on Steemit.
PALnet
SteemUSA
Steem Star Network



enter image description here



enter image description here



Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

This is great! It's nice to see what you have done with the funds.

Yesterday I sold enough jewelry to cover the price of all of the silver I bought with my SBD.

I still have the majority of the silver left for crafting with.

Thanks Steemians for paving the way to a brighter future for me.

Hello @tawasi! I've created a new Steemit t-shirt and I hope that you will love it as I was working on it for a whole day! You can get it here:
https://teespring.com/steem-to-the-moon
front (7).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94