You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Dollars price rise – but unable to sell at that price! And what's going on with Blocktrades?

in #sbd6 years ago

This post gives a good explanation of what happened https://steemit.com/sbd/@themarkymark/sbd-is-not-mooning. The short answer is that HitBtc, a small exchange that does NOT even deal in SBD or Steem, had SBD listed at $20. That artificially drove the price up on sites that include HitBtc in their averages, like CoinMarketCap.

I do, however, think you make a valid point on the liquidity of SBD and Steem. I have also been concerned of late with the large and seemingly growing spread between SBD and Steem. As a content creator who gets "paid" in SBD, not Steem, this spread is very troubling. SBD is meant to be on par with Steem and more liquid than Steem yet that seems to be just the opposite. So why are we not being "paid" in Steem?

Sort:  

Thanks for the explanation @sirjaxxy! $20 - I wonder why an exchange would do such a thing - seems very dodgy. Coinmarketcap was listing the price at around $3.20 for several hours, and most of the other exchanges had the same price, though there were a couple of exchanges listing the lower price.
I did see the Markymark post yesterday, but because I'm not familiar with trading jargon, he lost me with the term "mooning". I still have no idea what that means! And I'm still concerned about @blockchain asking for my password. I will look for a good time to convert my SBD into STEEM and trade out that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63009.69
ETH 3029.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75