Steem Dollars price rise – but unable to sell at that price! And what's going on with Blocktrades?

in #sbd6 years ago

The value of Steem dollars rose considerably overnight – but selling at anything like that value was impossible!

Steem dollars price.jpg

Am I getting something wrong here? Has there been some sort of technical fault? Or are Steem Dollars much less liquid than they might appear?

I'm a bit of a HODLer, but now and again I like to sell some of my hard-earned Steem Dollars (SBD), and having invested some Sterling in SBD a few weeks ago when the SBD price was low, I decided to sell some of it once the SBD price started to rise.

Steem dollars price surge

So this morning I was delighted to see a big surge in the SBD price. But a shock was in store. Firstly, I was unable to access Blocktrades on my browser.

I had to use my more up-to-date tablet computer to access Blocktrades – and once there, I was surprised to see that I was being offered fewer LTC for my SBD than weeks earlier, when the SBD price was much lower!

SBD to LTC price.jpg

The top image is a screengrab from Coinmarketcap showing 1 LTC worth around 36 SBD this morning, with the image below showing the Blocktrades exchange price at the same time: it has 1 LTC worth 72.735 SBD!
Apologies for the shocking quality of the lower image – it was taken from my tablet computer, and I haven't yet worked out how to do a screen grab on it.

I initially wondered if my calculations were wrong. I accessed Coinmarketcap's calculator and compared the SBD price with Litecoin, Bitcoin and Ether. Nope – it seemed clear that Blocktrades was just offering a pretty raw deal – which is unusual. I've used Blocktrades several times, and usually I'm happy with the exchange rate.

I understand that they have to take a commission, but 50%? I wondered if something had gone wrong with their software.

Has Blocktrades been hacked?

Or – more worryingly – has Blocktrades been hacked? When I accessed them on my tablet computer from my Steemit wallet, I got through to an "unregistered" address, and I was invited to sign in using my password.

Hopefully that's just a computer glitch, but I'm not taking any chances!

I went onto Discord and noted that @sirjaxxy had also made a comment about the exchange price on Blocktrades. But no one had answered, presumably because it was still the middle of the night in much of the world.

On Discord, @gray00 suggested that I exchange some SBD for STEEM and then trade out on Binance, which sounded like a great idea, especially as the STEEM price was considerably lower than the SBD price.

Coinmarketcap's calculator gave a price of 0.711 SBD for 1 STEEM.

STEEM coinmarketcap.jpg

The price of STEEM according to Coinmarketcap was just $2.41 this morning, when Steem Dollars were being valued at $3.16.

However when I tried to trade 10 SBD on Steemit's internal market, the price being offered was in the region of 1.36 SBD for 1 STEEM. I offered my 10 SBD for 0.711 – but there were no takers.

Market.jpg

I wondered if the problem was with Coinmarketcap. I looked up other exchanges. Digitalcoin had SBD at $3.12 and STEEM at $2.41.

SBD Digitalcoin.jpg

STEEM Digitalcoin.jpg

Worldcoinindex had SBD at $3.15.

SBD Worldcoinindex.jpg

But the trade price offered by Blocktrades and the steemit internal market stubbornly stayed much lower.

The SBD market price is falling now, so it looks like I've lost my opportunity to trade in my investment once again. The broader question is: how liquid are STEEM and Steem Dollars if there are only a couple of ways to sell them? No matter how high the value of STEEM and Steem dollars climbs, if their sale is controlled by just one or two outlets, their value is potentially much lower.

Or am I missing something?

Are there alternative ways to trade STEEM and SBD?

I now have to rush off, as an electrician is about to call at the flat I rent out. Meanwhile, I just hope this is something I don't fully understand, and not some dire problem in the Steemit network!

Any comments/help would be gratefully received, and I'll answer them when I get back!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

This post gives a good explanation of what happened https://steemit.com/sbd/@themarkymark/sbd-is-not-mooning. The short answer is that HitBtc, a small exchange that does NOT even deal in SBD or Steem, had SBD listed at $20. That artificially drove the price up on sites that include HitBtc in their averages, like CoinMarketCap.

I do, however, think you make a valid point on the liquidity of SBD and Steem. I have also been concerned of late with the large and seemingly growing spread between SBD and Steem. As a content creator who gets "paid" in SBD, not Steem, this spread is very troubling. SBD is meant to be on par with Steem and more liquid than Steem yet that seems to be just the opposite. So why are we not being "paid" in Steem?

Thanks for the explanation @sirjaxxy! $20 - I wonder why an exchange would do such a thing - seems very dodgy. Coinmarketcap was listing the price at around $3.20 for several hours, and most of the other exchanges had the same price, though there were a couple of exchanges listing the lower price.
I did see the Markymark post yesterday, but because I'm not familiar with trading jargon, he lost me with the term "mooning". I still have no idea what that means! And I'm still concerned about @blockchain asking for my password. I will look for a good time to convert my SBD into STEEM and trade out that way.

Hmmmnn I can't figure it out if I'm honest. It didn't ping on my blockfolio so I'm guessing a blip in the matrix maybe. Or a pump on some random small exchange which boosted the price for a short time but only on that exchange possibly. It's a mystery @natubat ;-)

Maybe... the SBD price was high for a few hours overnight and the previous night too. Something weird going on. It's all a learning curve for me anyway (I must look into Blockfolio).

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
BTCBitcoin7626.700$1.6%1.59%
LTCLitecoin121.969$1.91%1.14%
SBDSteem Dollars1.744$-0.6%-0.68%
STEEMSteem2.351$0.53%-1.77%

Thanks for this, but I think @sirjaxxy's explanation hits the nail on the head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89