It's Official: I just paid with Steem Dollar at the Marisqueira Jacob in Mosteiros, Sao Miguel, Azores, Portugal - And so can you!

in #sbd-accepted7 years ago

Untitled10_003.jpg

Bom dia!


Today is my day. And yours, too. Together we made it happen. The first bar in the Azores which accepts Steem Dollar:

The Marisqueira Jacob aka @barjacob in Mosteiros!


Below: The Bifana (1.7 Steem Dollar at press time).


IMG_20170712_194923.jpg

@jeffreys-show and @shla-rafia partying the success of the day.

IMG_20170712_204106.jpg

@barjacob and @shla-rafia celebrating the day.



IMG_20170712_211732.jpg


IMG_20170712_211749.jpg

What should I say?

Yeeeeehaaaaaa!



I am so happy everyone. My work is a step further. Because of difficulties with the sign-up process I made an account with @steemconnect and @timcliff pointed me there.



This is the first step of bringing the island of Sao Miguel to adopt Steem Dollar. I will make a network while travelling the 9 islands and want at least one business per village to use the new currency.


We are here:



Untitled11_001.jpg


A bit closer:



Untitled11_002.jpg

Mosteiros



IMG_20170622_193622.jpg


IMG_20170622_203331.jpg

Shal-rafia: Jacob, I would like to pay in Steem Dollar please!


Jacob uses Coingecko to calculate the amount of Steem Dollar I have to pay. It's EUR 3.10,- which makes Steem Dollar (SBD) 3.427,-.



IMG_20170712_221016.jpg


IMG_20170712_221035.jpg

Time to pay!



Untitled11_004.jpg


IMG_20170712_224905.jpg

Thank you for reading and your support. Have a good day!

Users of Mosteiros: @didosabino, @jeffreys-show, @islandjohn.

Thank you too for your trust and enthusiasm!

Shla-rafia - More than blogging - 2017



Sort:  

Hello @shla-rafia
This story made it to the ღ #steempearls of @tabea . Check it out at https://steemit.com/steempearls/@tabea/steempearls-19

I think it is awesome!

Very cool! Shops were you can pay with crypto currencies are so nice and innovative! Keep on rocking and have a nice day mart :-)

or better: have a nice evening, shlaf gut und hau weiterhin dein zeug raus! :D

mach ich. nur scheiss 21 votes fuer den geilen scheiss.. die leute hier sind so beh.. :D

Thanks simon, your rock!

That's amazing ! the beginning of a long journey towards making SBD a payment method everywhere :)

Trendo, I fucking love you for your commenting, thanks big time!

Haha you've made my day ! Keep posting awesome content :)

Fucking nobody upvotes this, lame!

I wish my vote was worth a 100$ instead of 0,01$ so I could give you a nice vote :)

Why are there not hunderds of votes , this is trending material, I could get a rage ifˋ I wouldn't give a fuck haha, will keep pushing

I'm sure you'll hit the jackpot soon mate !

I am reaching out to sweetssj now. I am confident that she likes what I do. Hope some witnesses come around also, jeez :)

This is sooo awesome! Really good initiative from @barjacob . Nice job @barjacob and @shla-rafia
This posting will be mentioned in my next #steempearls article and got a 100% upvote by me and my following :) Thank you! Great community! ★

That's good. I feel much better suddenly. Thank you.

This is some real good shit! To the new fukn world! full power!

This is amazing! We need more places like this.

Where do you live if I may ask?

In Ontario Canada.

This is fabulous news! Thanks for sharing, and thank you for explaining how the process worked. Good luck getting the island Steemed up! Oh, and I houses myself at your first map - that was really funny 😂😂. Thanks for the morning chuckle.

Hi, do you think that I should celebrate although this didn't get the upvote amount (trending) I think it deserves because it's important? I am working for everyone, so everyone should vote for me, no?

I wish, @shla-rafia, but it seems we have to get noticed and I'm not sure how that can happen. I think you posted something extremely important, which is why I not only resteeemed it, but incorporated it into my next post . Unfortunately, as for your post, I'm not sure that many people read mine.

I am very thankful that you write about it. It becomes difficult to follow people once you follow too many. It is, I have the feeling, a lot of invisible groups who know and support each other. They get to the point where they cannot follow any more people and then the people must create their own group, network. You already have reputable reputation and in no time you will get enough followers because you are talkative and do stuff.

I suspect you are right about people creating their own networks, beyond the country trails (I see Australia has a good one going, and there must be others out there). I have not figured out yet how not to miss a post from someone I'm interested in, because our feeds get filled with resteems. I've picked up a lot of interesting new people to follow from those resteems, but it has been at the expense of losing the people I was originally following. I don't like setting up parallel systems and would like it if the user interface allowed me to filter "Following - original posts" and "Following - resteems" from my Feed. Have no idea whether that's been suggested, worked on, rejected or what!

In any case, thank you for the kind words. I started out last year with good intentions, flopped, came back by upvoting, commenting and resteeming, got over my lack of skills with handling images (ongoing theme) and just got back into it. I'm here for the long term so am not aiming for the $1000 posts. I like getting feedback from real people and connecting with them over things we're both interested in. That to me is genuine, different value that Steemit offers.

Whoops - hit "post" before saying "you're welcome". It's a pleasure!

I can put only a certain amount of users on auto-upvote and even then it doesn't benefit the people a lot because of my low SP. I guess u have to make a real big thing to catch attention, whatever that may be.

Hmmm...I don't know how to catch attention here. I do know that the number one thing that turns me off is someone spamming someone else's post with "here, read mine", closely followed by the begging for follows. No, wait - it's the lying about upvoting and following.

I didn't realise there was an auto-upvote feature on Steemit. I've just been working on growing my SP by trying to post at least one article per weekday, then taking a break on weekends.

The hardest thing for me on this platform is keeping track of people I'm following, like you, so I can catch their articles early enough to be able to upvote them while I still can. My feed is full of resteems from other people's feeds, which sometimes introduces me to new and interesting people, but it means I miss good content from people I'm trying to actively follow.

Oh well, I suppose this is what happens when we're on a beta platform. Still a few things to work out!

Maybe print some of my fliers and place them . I pay 1SBD for each flyer but you have to make pics. This will give you publicity. But not more than 20 because I don't have so much money.

Hmmm, I don't think South Africa is ready yet. I hope I'm wrong!

You don't have to make an appointment with the president of South Africa. All it takes is hanging up a flyer or two in a local small cafe or bar. Think global, act local.

One step closer to mass adoption!

Amazing... wow its hard to even pay with bitcion in the UK :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33