Getting to The Root of The Problem - official contest entry

in #savedtrees7 years ago

The Old Dog was at it again!

Another contest, easy, as always, to enter:

.
Tree Tuesday, Getting to The Root of The Problem
https://steemit.com/savedtrees/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-tree-tuesday-getting-to-the-root-of-the-problem-with-5-sbd-in-prizes

So, in that spirit

TreeIMG_20180105_1514501.jpg

I took a few shots, here in Loutraki, Greece

Tree3IMG_20180105_1517324.jpg

of trees that had been built (or paved) around.

Tree2IMG_20180105_1519361.jpg

Do you like?

Tree4IMG_20180105_1514052.jpg

January in Greece

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg
.
.
.
all photos courtesy of my Blackberry Priv
.
.
.
ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  

Great pictures, I was surprised to see that all the pictures done in Loutraki, Greece, it seems people there protecting their environment. This is the best what human can do to live in harmony with nature, as it takes many years for the trees to reach this size and beauty. I also have had a look in your previous posts and became envious to see that you live in such beautiful area where you can enjoy sun, warmth and spectacular sunset at a coast. As an artist I have a lot of sea motives, the scene is everyday unique.

How long has it been since you left Kazakhstan?

WOW, respect! I have not expected you to go back in August this year to find that I am from KZ. I left Kazakhstan in 2002 when I met my husband, that was the time shortly after USSR fell apart, I have not been there since but when I chat to my friends and see the pictures I can't recognize it.

I was just wondering from where a lady from Kazakhstan might have gotten her familiarity with the sea :-)

Since we live at North sea coast for last few years I can imagine the life without open water and famous russian artist Ivan Aivazovski played his role too.

It seem people of greece are so nice , enviornmental friendly @onceuponatime

@omceuponatime i have made a post on you .if u dont mind have a loot at it .. there is no other way to tell you for that

I should start doing more contests.. just the music ones so far, but I'd love an excuse to focus on some other things as well :)

Anytime you need an excuse just tell them "@onceuponatime made me do it". I can handle the heat :-)

haha will do! lol

The last second shot was so awesome can't even describe it :)

Here, I'll help you out with some of the adjectives I just happen to have laying around:

beautiful, fabulous, incredible, lovely, distinctive, majestic, great, stupendous, splendorous, unique, gorgeous, attractive, tantalizing, mesmerizing, pretty, stunning, captivating..........

Feel free to use any you like :-)

Looks like the Greeks appreciate their trees, judging by the way they are left alone to grow through walls and architecture... and I really appreciate that. You don't see it so much, here in the US, although when I was in college the Safeway grocery store I went to was built in a square around a 200-year old oak tree they'd let stand.

Your January looks a lot more welcoming than ours...

I'm thinking that shade is pretty important here :-)
(so it might be a concession to practicality more than tree huggingness)

Good point. Shade matters a lot in Mediterranean climates.

Excellent entry for the contest ..This place is looking very beautiful..specially the weather

My tree don't like anyone build something around..

I like a tree that can look after itself!

Quite impressive pictures my friend. I love the nature photography and learning new photography skills.

Great pics of beautiful Greece , @oncuponatime. :) Trees are precious. Not only because their presence is constructive and a positive addition to humans and to the universe, but simply because they are ALIVE. It is a very good initiative to build structures and architecture around the trees by incorporating the trees into the architectural landscape. .. The designs become innovative, unique and beautiful and trees need not be cut ! However I have one question. Should a little space not be left around the trees in the pavements for roots to breathe ? ... In Delhi the concrete pavement cover has made the tree roots so weak that they cannot withstand strong winds anymore. The just fall and get uprooted.

I remember that when I lived in the Kulu Valley of Himichal Pradesh some of the trees were considered quite sacred.

As to your question about space around trees for the roots to breathe, I'm afraid that I don't know the answer. But I think trees breathe through their leaves, not roots. As long as the roots have the moisture and nutrients in the soil beneath the pavement that they require, i suppose that they will be allright.

Yes , In India many trees are considered sacred. :) ... In fact, every second or third thing in India is God Sacred !! ;) ... It is good and it is bad. India is incomprehensible :) :D
And I yes, you are correct, @onceuponatime. Yes trees do breathe through their leaves . :) ...
I hope concrete pavements and roads do not weaken the roots. Just something I read somewhere :)

This make me remember your post

Maybe if I start cultivating a British accent I could get on television too!

My known trees! Οf course and I like it!!! Nice entry for this contest:) Reestem so I do not forget to post too!! I have some nice photos with trees.

It's been more than 5 years I haven't been to Loutraki .. Thanks for reminding me of this stunning place and its calmness ..
And of course, thanks for sharing this contest I am most definitely taking part!
Best wishes from Crete :)

Mission accomplished!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66146.36
ETH 3281.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70